We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive”
Review of Canico Restaurant

Canico Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 154 Restaurants in Alvor
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nobody could better the location,but you certainly pay for it.Service was brilliant but the food was only average.Had better food for less money in other restaurants

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bwarneresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    194
    113
    66
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Delicious fish from the barbecue”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I've had lunch in the bar area below before, but this was my first visit to the upstairs restaurant - a much more upmarket experience. Quite pricey in comparison to the other beach restaurants, but worth it in terms of the quality of food and cooking.

There is not much detail on the menu or on the wine list, so you have to put your trust in the waiting staff to some extent , but luckily it all worked out fine for us. No hidden surprises when we got the bill. An enormous platter of fresh fish was brought for us to choose from; similarly a large plate of sample desserts, so you knew exactly what you would be getting.

It is a delight to sit and watch the changing colours of the sea and the surrounding rocks as the sun goes down. The interior of the restaurant is also charming and atmospheric, but the tables are quite close together, and I imagine service might be a bit pushed when they are busy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trafalgar50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, but...”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We enjoyed our meal, however we felt ripped off with the wine, we asked for a recommendation and were shown the wine list, we saw the price, however when the bill came it was twice as much, so whilst the food was good, and the service excellent, we would not go again, nor would we recommend for that reason.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PamJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and fine cuisine!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Came here after many recommendations and we could soon appreciate why. As several contributors have stated the views alone are magnificent and we had a table right at the front. The service for the duration of our meal was faultless.Both helpful and attentive.We had drinks whilst we mused over the menu and chose a spread of nibbles.We were then shown a fresh fish platter and chose red snapper to be between the four of us. The fish was done to perfection and the accompanying veg scrumptious and fresh. We had a second bottle of wine before desserts and then sat for a half hour to relax and inhale the views. Absolutely memorable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, OK food, poor service”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stopped here are a visit to the beach, ordered burgers and fries, drink and icecream, they were yummy but took ages for us to get the attention of staff to take the order. Busy and we were squashed on a table near a vending machine which meant we were distrubed several times during the meal

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfanatic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canico Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Canico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing