We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best indian meal we have had in the Algarve” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kashmir Indian Restaurant

Kashmir Indian Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 147 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant opened in March 2012. We offer great meals at prices to suit all pockets. Our terrace is open from spring time, and our ground floor is heated in the winter and air conditioned during the summer. We are a friendly restaurant offering delicious meals. Find more information on our web.
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The best indian meal we have had in the Algarve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went here after a quick search on "tripadvisor" and we weren't disappointed! We like Indian food, but because of our experience of other restaurants we would normally choose to cook it at home. However, after a day on the beach we fancied an Indian and didn't fancy cooking so we gave it a go. The food was fantastic and tasted like it was cooked fresh not reheated like other restaurants! The people were friendly and great with children. We will visit again, and recommend to others.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank init4thetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Kashmir Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. You correct with the idea that much of the food is prepared on the day,
The Kashmir is open at mid-day as well as the evenings, and mid-day is when a great deal of the preparation is done.

David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    37
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best curry house in Alvor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have been here quite a few times now and the food is great quality and so tasty and lots of it. We have visited the other two Curry houses in Alvor which are good but Kashmir beats them all. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Just had another great meal there, my husband says its the food of the gods and I agree!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeautifulBriards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Kashmir Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and the comparison with other places. The owners ( manager and the chef) always try there best. Have good year,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Dont belive the hipe this resturant is only average as far as Indian resturants go had tika masella (think thats spelt right) and kroma for mrs. it was not as creamy as it should be or have got anywhere in the past.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thpmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Kashmir Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. If you have the opportunity to visit us again, please make sure that the staff know your requirements and they will do their best.

David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovey meal here and I am a curry freak !! Had the owners daughter sat with us during meal who is very cute, felt a little like sitting in there front room but was made to feel welcome and the food was lovely!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Kashmir Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your review Jon J. You are not the first to comment on the friendly atmosphere. The mangers wife is the chef and takes great pride in giving their visitors just what they request, and her husband will give any help that you may want. Thanks again.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant in Alvor.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Got a tip off from a lady who worked in the Sports Cafe.
She wasn't wrong either, the food was excellent, the owner made us feel very welcome (9 golfers !) and the restaurant was very clean and tidy. It's a family run restaurant with the father being the main host, his wife and another chef preparing the food and their adorable daughter being a little star !
Would recommend this restaurant to any curry lover in Alvor, just up the hill from the Sports Cafe and turn left at the junction, the Restaurant is on your right. (I ordered the Phall ! ! !)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Kashmir Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review Craig. This is the start of our second year, and we hope to see you again if you are back in Alvor.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kashmir Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kashmir Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing