We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant - i'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vilamor Apartments Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
wicklow, ireland
1 review
“Excellant - i'll be back!”
Reviewed September 22, 2009

i stayed in the Villamor Appartments with my partner for a week at the start of September. we are a young couiple. Having read some of the reviews on this website prior to my hoilday i was apprehensive to say the least. Upon arriving, all my worries were but to bed. while the appartments could do with modernising, they were clean and had everything a person would need during a holiday. the complex itself has a lovely pool and a lovely snack bar. the complex was very quiet during our stay and we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. the complex is about a ten minute walk from alvor village or a five minute taxi or bus trip. there are bus stops right outside the complex. having stayed in this complex, i am surprised about some of the bad reviews it has received. the staff were really nice, helpful and friendly. i loved alvor village and my partner and i will be back to stay in the villamor appartments.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryWicklow_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    16
    0
    4
See reviews for
46
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dungarven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

I booked this holiday with budget travel for myself and 2 kids. When we arrived my son cried for the first 2 days to go home because the aprtment was so dirty. The bedroom and the bed were like something from a horror film. The first thing to hit you when you walked in the door was the smell. Absolutely nothing has been done to these apartments for around 40 years. The bed was the worst, if you lay on it the smell would make you sick and it was hard as concrete. I wouldnt put a dog in the other beds. The fridge couldnt be used as it was so dirty and the shelves were all broken inside which meant everything had to be bought from the bar/restaurant which was more like a working mans cafe. Water and soft drinks were way overpriced which meant the holiday cost three times more than it should have as we had to pay three times the price for everything we drank and ate as the apartment wasn't clean enough to store food or eat in there.
I asked to be moved out of the Vilamor but the best Budget travel would do was offer us another apartment (not in Alvor) for 500 euros extra but only for the second week. I declined their offer.
We had no choice but to endure the 2 weeks in the Vilamor apartments.
When booking the holiday i asked firstly were the apartments clean, near the beach and supermarkets. They are not near the beach or any supermarkets and are definitely not clean.
Worst holiday we ever had. Such a pity as we have been to Alvor before and we love it but definitely this holiday would put you off visiting Alvor ever again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joeDungarven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2009

This is was our second time staying in vilamor and its still as enjoyable as ever. Although I would agree that the apartments could do with updating, but how much time would you spend in doors when you have fantastic weather, fantastic pool and fantastic bar?We always found the staff kind and helpful especially the manager, Joe. The family's staying there were all very friendly and the children mixed well and always played by the pool during the day and had fun at night playing pool and on the playstation.Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I agree with most of the bloggers...the noise in the apartments in unreal. The beds are ancient and squeak very loudly when you barely move in them - the bed linen was like something out of the fifties...never saw this before ..as most apts give crisp plain white bed linen. I wouldn't use the bath towels to mop the floor let alone to dry myself with. Very outdated in general and NO cushions on the sun loungers ..either they got rid of them over time or they didn't bother buying them in the first place which is weird!! The bar stays open till 5am/6am if theres a crowd drinking there the Manager doesn't shut shop at all...so the noise was unreal all over the complex. Seems a lot of people book directly with the Manager and looks like Budget gets a few apts from the guy. Seems like Budgets standards are very bad from what I can see and will definitely not be booking with them again if this is what standard is. As my holiday was by no means cheap ...The Manager was very friendly - but then learned it was extreme noisieness really!
Very disappointed overall...as there was a very large construction site right next door to the hotel which was very noisey and extremely dusty and which we were not informed about. The apts are v far from the beach and from the town - we asked for somewhere central!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondieKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Just back from a stay at Vilamor Apartments with my Wife and Children. We loved the Apartments and Alvor overall, very friendly atmosphere and the apartments are a good size, Clean and comfortable and staff were always on hand and helpful with any problems with fab. Balconies in the Two beds. My two kids really enjoyed it as there is a nice Baby pool and regular pool. Booked the apartment privately and had a lovely time overall ! Will return.

Paul, Dublin

  • Liked — The relaxed and informal atmosphere.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Booked apartment privately and had no problems whatsoever and all was ready on our arrival. Well kept apartment with excellent sunny private balconies to both front and rear, the back especially having views over the lovely Alvor countryside. Nicely landscaped garden with no problem getting a sun bed. Didn't try the bar or restaurant but it seemed to be quite busy. Preferred to head down into Alvor for its many restaurants. Also a nice stroll to to the beach which we enjoyed to walk the full length of. Would hope to stay again next year as we found it to be in an excellent position, maybe we were lucky that we did not stay on the road side as that did seem a little bit noisy. All in all had a great holiday and just love Alvor, missing the sun already.

  • Liked — Large sunny balconies
  • Disliked — Had to ask for linen to be changed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnandandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Myself, husband and 6 month old baby stayed in the Vilamor apts in September and found the premises to be family friendly.

The apartment interiors are a little dated but they are cleaned on a daily basis and the whole complex is spotless. There are only approx 20 apts in the complex so it is really suited to families. There is also a washing machine in each apartment which is handy if you are staying for more than 1 week. I agree with the other reviewers with the noise - you will easily hear chairs moving in the above and next door apts and high heels on the floor etc...

There is a bar on the premises, also serving food, which is quite lively at night - full of irish wouldnt you know ! But we would take the baby into the bar for a nightcap before returning to our apt with no problems at all.

The apts are situated approx 10-15 minute walk from the centre of alvor and also the beach so we had to get taxis into the town each night - €4 euro each way.

Alvor itself is outstanding and the restaurants, pubs etc.. are great and also family friendly. We will be returning next year again

  • Liked — family friendliness
  • Disliked — steps down to the pool - bit awkward with the buggy !!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank babyavalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.9 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilamor Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilamor Apartments Hotel

Property: Vilamor Apartments Hotel
Address: Edificio Vilamor Urbanizacao Mar e Serra, Alvor, Portimao 8500-783, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilamor Apartments Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Vilamor Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilamor Apartments Alvor
Vilamor Apartments Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing