We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down - needs updating!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vilamor Apartments Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny
1 review
“Run down - needs updating!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I agree with most of the bloggers...the noise in the apartments in unreal. The beds are ancient and squeak very loudly when you barely move in them - the bed linen was like something out of the fifties...never saw this before ..as most apts give crisp plain white bed linen. I wouldn't use the bath towels to mop the floor let alone to dry myself with. Very outdated in general and NO cushions on the sun loungers ..either they got rid of them over time or they didn't bother buying them in the first place which is weird!! The bar stays open till 5am/6am if theres a crowd drinking there the Manager doesn't shut shop at all...so the noise was unreal all over the complex. Seems a lot of people book directly with the Manager and looks like Budget gets a few apts from the guy. Seems like Budgets standards are very bad from what I can see and will definitely not be booking with them again if this is what standard is. As my holiday was by no means cheap ...The Manager was very friendly - but then learned it was extreme noisieness really!
Very disappointed overall...as there was a very large construction site right next door to the hotel which was very noisey and extremely dusty and which we were not informed about. The apts are v far from the beach and from the town - we asked for somewhere central!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondieKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    16
    0
    4
See reviews for
46
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Just back from a stay at Vilamor Apartments with my Wife and Children. We loved the Apartments and Alvor overall, very friendly atmosphere and the apartments are a good size, Clean and comfortable and staff were always on hand and helpful with any problems with fab. Balconies in the Two beds. My two kids really enjoyed it as there is a nice Baby pool and regular pool. Booked the apartment privately and had a lovely time overall ! Will return.

Paul, Dublin

  • Liked — The relaxed and informal atmosphere.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Booked apartment privately and had no problems whatsoever and all was ready on our arrival. Well kept apartment with excellent sunny private balconies to both front and rear, the back especially having views over the lovely Alvor countryside. Nicely landscaped garden with no problem getting a sun bed. Didn't try the bar or restaurant but it seemed to be quite busy. Preferred to head down into Alvor for its many restaurants. Also a nice stroll to to the beach which we enjoyed to walk the full length of. Would hope to stay again next year as we found it to be in an excellent position, maybe we were lucky that we did not stay on the road side as that did seem a little bit noisy. All in all had a great holiday and just love Alvor, missing the sun already.

  • Liked — Large sunny balconies
  • Disliked — Had to ask for linen to be changed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnandandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Myself, husband and 6 month old baby stayed in the Vilamor apts in September and found the premises to be family friendly.

The apartment interiors are a little dated but they are cleaned on a daily basis and the whole complex is spotless. There are only approx 20 apts in the complex so it is really suited to families. There is also a washing machine in each apartment which is handy if you are staying for more than 1 week. I agree with the other reviewers with the noise - you will easily hear chairs moving in the above and next door apts and high heels on the floor etc...

There is a bar on the premises, also serving food, which is quite lively at night - full of irish wouldnt you know ! But we would take the baby into the bar for a nightcap before returning to our apt with no problems at all.

The apts are situated approx 10-15 minute walk from the centre of alvor and also the beach so we had to get taxis into the town each night - €4 euro each way.

Alvor itself is outstanding and the restaurants, pubs etc.. are great and also family friendly. We will be returning next year again

  • Liked — family friendliness
  • Disliked — steps down to the pool - bit awkward with the buggy !!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank babyavalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Its obvious that these apartments were once very nice but that no effort or money has been spent to keep them in good condition. The decor, furniture and equipment have all seen better days.

The worst problem however is the noise. In our first week there were 5 or 6 rough dublin families (who we discovered stay there for the same 2 weeks every year). Their behaviour by the pool was appalling and the parties went on until 3 or 4 am every night. The management had no interest in dealing with the problem and there was no security or any other staff after the bar closed at around 1 am.

The second week was a little better as most of the rough element went home. However the road noise, barking dogs and a cockrel (who crowed at dawn everday) meant we still got very little sleep

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallaght dublin
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2008

arrived on a sun and straight away made to feel at home. mostly irish and what a great crowd there for the 2 weeks we staye. the wife and son had a ball. great pool and great apts. not a 4 star but does'nt pretend to be.

  • Liked — friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank paddyTallaghtDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Just back from 2 weeks at Vilamor apartments. Mostly families there & mostly Irish. I would say that it is child friendly but not particularly baby friendly as noisy & loads of steps. Had a good holiday, great weather but i really think money needs to be injected into the apartments themselves to bring them up to a decent standard.

I think this is a fair judgment:

Pros:
- Friendly, cheerful staff.
- Good atmosphere especially in bar
- Lovely grounds, very pretty plants & trees - kept very well.
- Grounds fenced in with a locked gate so safe for kids to play. The kids aged 5 - 13 approx played chasing together there every night & really seemed to be enjoying themselves.
- Lovely, decent sized pool, especially children's area.
-Pool View from all apartments
- Food in restaurant nice, although menu limited. They allow you to bring your meals to your own balcony/ terrace which was great for us with a sleeping baby.
- Had a washing machine & microwave which was handy.

Cons:
- Inside of apartments run down, need new furniture plus kitchens & bathrooms should be updated/ replaced.
- Noise from busy road outside was very loud, double glazed windows badly needed. (i stayed in apt.14, think the noise does depend on where apartment located).
- Cleaners came infrequent & did very little. In & out in minutes. We had to constantly empty our own bins & request towels. Never did as much cleaning on a holiday.
- Not Buggy friendly, a lot of steps. Even steps into our ground floor apartment!!
- Terrace/ balcony wall very low at places, so unsafe for small children. Our son is crawling, so the terrace was a disaster.
- No air-conditioning. I was wrongly led to believe that there was air con in all apts but this is not true & it is actually in very few. You can hire fans from reception.
- Sun beds hard, no cushions even available to rent & no umbrellas at pool. Also not enough sunbeds for everyone.
- Bar & restaurant very small, would be better if they were slightly separated or if the area was bigger. Also, no entertainment at all.
- Two bed roomed apartments are duplex style & steps very steep and dangerous for the infirm.
- No lift.
- Have a TV but pretty useless as only 2 Portugues channels - not that i care about tv while on holidays but hubby did.
- I would have preferred if we were nearer Alvor & the beach, only about a 12 minute walk to town each way & 15 to beach, uphill on way back but got annoying after a while & although Taxi's are cheap, it does add an extra expenses to your holiday.

Verdict: i wouldn't go back unless i heard that they had been updated & had double glazed windows to keep out the noise. I would also wait until my son is older - maybe 4 or 5.Although there were plenty of families that we met who go back there year after year, they all know each other, so it does suit some people as they love it.

  • Liked — Staff friendly, lovely grounds & pool area.
  • Disliked — Apartments need updating, road noise, cleaners didn't do enough.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Edel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.9 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilamor Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilamor Apartments Hotel

Property: Vilamor Apartments Hotel
Address: Edificio Vilamor Urbanizacao Mar e Serra, Alvor, Portimao 8500-783, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilamor Apartments Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Vilamor Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilamor Apartments Alvor
Vilamor Apartments Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing