We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Luna Alvor Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luna Alvor Village
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have to say the hotel was a very nice, modern hotel. Our suite was very clean, big balcony and a good size. The breakfast had a great selection and if you ordered food from the bar it was very nice and very reasonable. The hotel is located near a few restaurants which were nice and very reasonable. The location was very close to the supermarket which was very handy to stock up on supplies as we had lunch in the apartment a couple of days. The location in relation to the town was a bit of a walk, walking with kids was approximately 20 minutes but if adults were walking on their own I think you would be there in 10/15 minutes. A taxi ride cost approximately €3/€5 depending what part of Alvor you were going to. We got a taxi nearly every night as you were there within minutes. The beach was further away but it was a stunning beach! The double bed was very comfortable but the pull out bed was very uncomfortable for the children, you could feel the springs through the mattress which was a shame. The kitchen was fully equipped. The cleaners cleaned the apartment everyday so it was very clean. The pool was a nice size but if you want a lounger you would need to go down early and put your towels down on the beds, I normally don't agree with this but everyone else was doing it so we figured if you can't beat them join them. The staff were very nice too.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room as the other rooms look out onto the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niamh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 508 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

My first stay in Alvor and it definately won't be the last. Hotel was lovely but as previous reviews have stated there are a couple of minor issues that need sorting. Rooms are very good, spacious and well stocked kitchen area.The sunbeds seemed to be a bug bear for a lot of people but we were really quite relaxed about it and if there were none (which was rare) we just sat on the grassed area which was lovely. This is not your typical high rise hotel with lots of entertainment, it is smaller and quieter and I felt has a lovely atmosphere. It was a welcome change to have peace and quiet during the day with no music and no-one trying to persuade you to do ACTIVITIES!! The reception staff are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast staff are not as friendly but are very busy so perhaps that is why. We met a lot of lovely people at the hotel which was also a welcome change. Alvor itself is super with a lovely old feel to it and lots of nice of nice restaurants and again really nice and family friendly. Only a 15 minute walk at the most. I would not recommend the hotel for anyone looking for lots of entertainment and to eat in during the evening as the hotel does not cater for this. The hotel could at least be improved in the evening with a friendly barman ot two as some nights it would have been nice to come back and have a night cap. Overall a brilliant stay.

Room Tip: A pool view is much better, it is actually like overlooking a great big garden with the addition of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETJ190762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We loved the room, cleaned and the Kitchen very well equiped.
The mattresses should be better but ok to sleep.
The breakfeast must be revised, short variety of fruit and a lot of canned fruit, for a 4 star should be better. The service was slow and sometimes employess were unpleasent, especially the blonde lady ... must be more carefull with the words
overall is to repeat!

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlpcarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel very modern and apartments very spacious and clean. Well equipped with dishwasher, large fridge and freezer, coffee machine and all other utensils. Reception staff very friendly, always willing to answer any questions you have. Lovely decking area to sit and have drinks with access to pool. Walk into Alvor takes about 20 mins or the hotel provide a shuttle bus into town. Only draw back of hotel is that it doesn't serve food in the evening. Otherwise a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tillycat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our second visit to the Luna Alvor Village and it still has many of the attractions we liked on the first vsist and also some of the problems (+ a few more). First the good, the rooms are excellent (well equiped), the reception staff good, hotel is peacful in the evening (no evening entertainment). It's in a great position to walk into town and has an excellent supermarket round the cornerLunch was good, Tuna salad excellent. No the not so good, sunbeds are all reserved by 8:30 despite signs saying the hotel doesn't allow this, When you did get a sunbed many were in need of replacment (they didn't adjust very well). The biggest issue was breakfast, it was bedlam. We normally arrived around 9:30, there were never any tables cleared, the fruit juice glasses had always run out, as had the plates. By the end of the holiday we got the impression they didn't have sufficient plates and glasses. A shame because it's nearly a very very good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks. The hotel is nice and the staff are friendly. The breakfast was comprehensive. However the place was full of children running around. Every sound from other apartments could be clearly heard. There is free Wifi in the lobby, but if you want internet in your room it is very expensive for a poor connection.

Room Tip: Don't choose a pool view. It costs extra and will only increase your exposure to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just come back from a 2 week holiday at the Luna Alvor village suites. Firstly the positives the hotel is spotless as are the rooms we had room service everyday with clean towels daily and bed linen changed frequently, excellent air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen, large balcony with table&chairs and very good shower. The staff are friendly&helpful, good breakfast and nice seating areas around the bar and outside on the decking. The negatives and a very frustrating issue with this hotel is the lack of sun loungers around the pool area. During our stay by 8 o clock in the mornings there was towels on every lounger so obviously if you wanted to get a lounger you needed to be up early to beat the rush which is the last thing you want to be doing when your on a relaxing holiday! So like everyone else we joined in with putting towels on loungers, but came down one morning to find reception had taken our towels which they then proceeded to tell us that if loungers were idle for 20-30 minutes the towels would be removed this was fine with us if this was the policy but over the next week no towels were removed so it was a short lived policy and this inconsistency was very frustrating over the two weeks. The hotel really needs to sort out this problem as we paid alot of money to stay at luna alvor you should not have to "reserve" loungers or lie on the ant infested grass when it could be easily solved by allocating 2 loungers per room our by simply buying more loungers as there is plenty of space for more. Also the WIFI can be temperamental at times it worked better up at the front of the hotel near reception. Overall a lovely clean hotel but they need to invest in more sun loungers to justify the price you pay to stay there!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor with a lovely pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CBARR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
1.1 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
1.0 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
3.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Alvor Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Alvor Village

Address: Rua da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-034, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#3 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range: $73 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Alvor Village 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Luna Alvor Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvor Village Hotel Alvor
Village Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing