We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, quiet location.”
Review of Luna Alvor Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Alvor Village
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked here expecting it to be quiet - and it certainly is. Do not book if you want any entertainment as there really isn't any, which was perfect for us but could be disappointing to others. We arrived at 4am after a 3 hour delay so were very tired and a little grumpy, we received a very miserable welcome from an elderly gentleman who was the official receptionist, we were too tired to bother with his rudeness at the time, but did encounter him at other times and found him to be mostly rude so we didn't take it personally! The studio was large , bright and airy, however the paintwork was quite chipped in places, which we found surprising being so early in the season. The walk to Alvor is only 10/15 mins and the beach a little further, the hotel do provide a free taxi to the beach during the weekdays. Our main issue was the lack of sunbeds and parasols, and most of them were of poor quality, it is true that there is a large grassed area to lay on, but if you are paying for a hotel with a pool then it is expected that there are enough sunbeds for the amount of rooms! Overall we had a nice holiday and maybe would go again if we wanted to return to the Alvor area in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank strus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Manager at Luna Alvor Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear strus,
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at Luna Alvor Village. We are glad that you had an overall good experience with us and will take your comments in consideration to improve our services and facilities.
Regarding the entertainment, at the Hotel we do not have any. However, just next to Luna Alvor Village there is a resort that also belongs to Luna Hotels & Resorts, which is Luna Clube Brisamar and where you can find an entertaiment programme during summer time. As for the sunbeds and parasols, there will be new ones available soon. For now we can only apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Looking forward to welcome you back again, Kind Regards, Rui Duarte, Manager at Luna Alvor Village (ruiduarte@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 509 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great Hotel in a quiet location, within 10 minutes walk into town where there are plenty of nice restaurants and bars.
Alvor harbour is lovely with brilliant views as is the walks along the boardwalk
Great Pool but would benefit from more Sunbeds

Room Tip: Pool view is best as the sun is off the balcony on an evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevinTracyDton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Manager at Luna Alvor Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear KevinTracyDton,
Thank you for your nice comments on Luna Alvor Village. It is great to know you had a relaxing holiday with us. Regarding the sunbeds and parasols, we will have new ones available soon, so hope to welcome you again to show you our improvements. Kind Regards, Rui Duarte, Manager at Luna Alvor Village (ruiduarte@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Arrived 5 June 13. Very impressive entrance and atrium. Staff very helpful and most are friendly too. The 'studios' are huge and very well equipped for four people. It was lovely on the cooler days to have somewhere comfortable to sit and read a book or watch BBC1. On warmer days the balcony was large enough for you to sunbathe on as there were very few loungers by the pool. Also there were towels on the loungers from 8 a.m., a practice we didn't like. The breakfast had quite a lot to choose from but you had to go earlier to ensure there was a vacant table. We had a bad experience at lunch when having to wait an hour for toasties or sandwiches for five people. No explanation or apology given for the delay. So we went to the nearby supermarket to stock up and made our own lunch after that. Cost of drinks in the bar was the same as in town, a plus point as most hotels usually charge much more. We enjoyed finishing off the evenings in the bar. Being seniors it took us about 15 minutes to walk into town but on hotter days 20 - 25 minutes to walk back up the hill.
I realise that most hotels are trying to economise but felt that the towels and bed linen could have been changed more frequently. The local rating of the hotel is 4 star but we agreed it merits 3+. My husband and I would return as our overall feeling about the hotel was it was good value and had a lot going for it.

Room Tip: Choose a pool view to get the sun in the morning. It also provides a pleasant view. However, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Manager at Luna Alvor Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Christine G,
Thank you for choosing Luna Alvor Village and for your review. It is wonderful to know you had an overall pleasant experience at the Hotel and are willing to come back. We do apologize for the delay at the bar; we can assure you that the service is usually much faster, and we will check what went wrong so it does not happen again.
Looking forward to welcome you again, so we can show you our improvements. Kind Regards, Rui Duarte, Manager at Luna Alvor Village (ruiduarte@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Arrived on 9/6/13 to a very warm welcome,we were given our keys to what they call a studio but believe me a studio it is not they are huge,every thing you need for self catering & i mean everything,all of the staff are very polite but i find that if you dont make an effort your self you are bound to find them unhelpful,prices are very good and are cheaper than some of the places in Alvor its self,breakfast was tremendous and had all of the things you would have at home but Portugese(you dont go all the way to Portugal to eat English sausage & bacon) there was a problem with sunbeds tho if i dont say so myself but plenty of grassed area to lay on,the walk into Alvor is about 15mins and is a nice walk all downhill and a taxi back is only 3.9 euros,the only disappointment we had was-we were leaving early morning on day of departure and got a packed breakfast which consisted of 2 oranges,2 bottles of water & 1 juice drink,all in all a great place to stay,& would i return,most definitely.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but all the odd numbered rooms have a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leem602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel its self was lovely,very modern and clean.The location wasn't great as there wasn't much close by so a taxi or 20mins walk to town was the only option. The hotel staff were certainly not trained in understanding good customer service. One female member of staff in particular who worked in the dining room at breakfast was very rude one morning when we asked for some hot water as the jug was empty. She snatched the cups out of my hand and filled them with hot water from the bar area. She brought them back and as we were preparing the teas and adding sugar she proceeded to take the milk away..knowing full well we needed it! We couldn't even be bothered to ask again so we went without! Everything seemed to be too much trouble for them. We had a snack from the bar most days and just had to get used to the 45 minute wait just for a salad or a sandwich! The barman who worked in the bar at night told us off one evening for moving chairs! The chairs and tables were set out for couples or groups of 4 and as there were more of us we just moved a few chairs so we could all sit together. He came storming straight over telling us we must put them back when we leave! We were all a bit stunned that he reacted like that,there were only two other people in the bar at the time so the chairs weren't even being used! I don't normally write reviews but I wanted to tell future visitors to this hotel just what to expect from some of the staff and be prepared!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flospot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stopped over here before going to our Pestana apartment. The hotel was well situated and we had a warm welcome from the reception staff.we booked half board and only found out that Dinner was a set of 4 vouchers to be used in a choice of 5 local restaurants which turned out to be 4 as one had gone out of business. This arrangement worked well for us as we did not mind a ten minute walk but we would not have booked if we had none. The room was nice an comfortable with all the facilities you could need. Breakfast was a nice hot and cold buffet but the staff were slow at replacing empty food bowls and the choice never changed each day. Our only other gripe was that there were not enough sun beds to cope with all the guests on a hot day. A nice hotel but there are better ones in the area.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RIDINGAROUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

this was our 2nd visit to alvor village and i can honestly say its the most wonderful hotel i have ever been too , last year we thought we got lucky with our first floor pool view room however on this trip we were upgraded for no reason to the top floor room 302 !!! this had the biggest balcony i have ever seen , this got the sun all day , so as we had a few overcast days we spent a lot of time playing football ( yes football and tennis ) on the balcony !
our room was tided by the maids 8 out of our 10 day stop
still a lack of sun beds but we relaxed on the grass while the child played in the pool so not relly an issue
we had bar snacks by the pool on day burger and chips 3 euro 50 great price however i dont think the chappy behind the bar was too pleased we asked for food but service was fast enough for us
as the hotel is a fair walk from the beach we caught the free hotel bus to the beach this runs 3 times a day
its 5 mins walk to the local supermarket its just like an asda and as you have a fully equpped kitchen in you room incl a dishwasher is fab for making lunches etc i wouldnt reccomemend making an evening meal tho as there are so many gorgeous places to eat in alvor you would miss out
honestly if we visit alvor again in 2014 we will be staying at alvor village again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilacheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.9 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
1.1 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.9 mi away
Pestana Delfim All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Alvor Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Alvor Village

Address: Rua da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#3 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range: $84 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Alvor Village 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Alvor Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvor Village Hotel Alvor
Village Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing