We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Holiday”
Review of Luna Alvor Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Alvor Village
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great Hotel in a quiet location, within 10 minutes walk into town where there are plenty of nice restaurants and bars.
Alvor harbour is lovely with brilliant views as is the walks along the boardwalk
Great Pool but would benefit from more Sunbeds

Room Tip: Pool view is best as the sun is off the balcony on an evening
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevinTracyDton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Manager at Luna Alvor Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear KevinTracyDton,
Thank you for your nice comments on Luna Alvor Village. It is great to know you had a relaxing holiday with us. Regarding the sunbeds and parasols, we will have new ones available soon, so hope to welcome you again to show you our improvements. Kind Regards, Rui Duarte, Manager at Luna Alvor Village (ruiduarte@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Luna Alvor Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 494 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Arrived 5 June 13. Very impressive entrance and atrium. Staff very helpful and most are friendly too. The 'studios' are huge and very well equipped for four people. It was lovely on the cooler days to have somewhere comfortable to sit and read a book or watch BBC1. On warmer days the balcony was large enough for you to sunbathe on as there were very few loungers by the pool. Also there were towels on the loungers from 8 a.m., a practice we didn't like. The breakfast had quite a lot to choose from but you had to go earlier to ensure there was a vacant table. We had a bad experience at lunch when having to wait an hour for toasties or sandwiches for five people. No explanation or apology given for the delay. So we went to the nearby supermarket to stock up and made our own lunch after that. Cost of drinks in the bar was the same as in town, a plus point as most hotels usually charge much more. We enjoyed finishing off the evenings in the bar. Being seniors it took us about 15 minutes to walk into town but on hotter days 20 - 25 minutes to walk back up the hill.
I realise that most hotels are trying to economise but felt that the towels and bed linen could have been changed more frequently. The local rating of the hotel is 4 star but we agreed it merits 3+. My husband and I would return as our overall feeling about the hotel was it was good value and had a lot going for it.

Room Tip: Choose a pool view to get the sun in the morning. It also provides a pleasant view. However, ask for...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Manager at Luna Alvor Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Christine G,
Thank you for choosing Luna Alvor Village and for your review. It is wonderful to know you had an overall pleasant experience at the Hotel and are willing to come back. We do apologize for the delay at the bar; we can assure you that the service is usually much faster, and we will check what went wrong so it does not happen again.
Looking forward to welcome you again, so we can show you our improvements. Kind Regards, Rui Duarte, Manager at Luna Alvor Village (ruiduarte@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Arrived on 9/6/13 to a very warm welcome,we were given our keys to what they call a studio but believe me a studio it is not they are huge,every thing you need for self catering & i mean everything,all of the staff are very polite but i find that if you dont make an effort your self you are bound to find them unhelpful,prices are very good and are cheaper than some of the places in Alvor its self,breakfast was tremendous and had all of the things you would have at home but Portugese(you dont go all the way to Portugal to eat English sausage & bacon) there was a problem with sunbeds tho if i dont say so myself but plenty of grassed area to lay on,the walk into Alvor is about 15mins and is a nice walk all downhill and a taxi back is only 3.9 euros,the only disappointment we had was-we were leaving early morning on day of departure and got a packed breakfast which consisted of 2 oranges,2 bottles of water & 1 juice drink,all in all a great place to stay,& would i return,most definitely.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but all the odd numbered rooms have a pool view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leem602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel its self was lovely,very modern and clean.The location wasn't great as there wasn't much close by so a taxi or 20mins walk to town was the only option. The hotel staff were certainly not trained in understanding good customer service. One female member of staff in particular who worked in the dining room at breakfast was very rude one morning when we asked for some hot water as the jug was empty. She snatched the cups out of my hand and filled them with hot water from the bar area. She brought them back and as we were preparing the teas and adding sugar she proceeded to take the milk away..knowing full well we needed it! We couldn't even be bothered to ask again so we went without! Everything seemed to be too much trouble for them. We had a snack from the bar most days and just had to get used to the 45 minute wait just for a salad or a sandwich! The barman who worked in the bar at night told us off one evening for moving chairs! The chairs and tables were set out for couples or groups of 4 and as there were more of us we just moved a few chairs so we could all sit together. He came storming straight over telling us we must put them back when we leave! We were all a bit stunned that he reacted like that,there were only two other people in the bar at the time so the chairs weren't even being used! I don't normally write reviews but I wanted to tell future visitors to this hotel just what to expect from some of the staff and be prepared!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flospot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stopped over here before going to our Pestana apartment. The hotel was well situated and we had a warm welcome from the reception staff.we booked half board and only found out that Dinner was a set of 4 vouchers to be used in a choice of 5 local restaurants which turned out to be 4 as one had gone out of business. This arrangement worked well for us as we did not mind a ten minute walk but we would not have booked if we had none. The room was nice an comfortable with all the facilities you could need. Breakfast was a nice hot and cold buffet but the staff were slow at replacing empty food bowls and the choice never changed each day. Our only other gripe was that there were not enough sun beds to cope with all the guests on a hot day. A nice hotel but there are better ones in the area.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RIDINGAROUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

this was our 2nd visit to alvor village and i can honestly say its the most wonderful hotel i have ever been too , last year we thought we got lucky with our first floor pool view room however on this trip we were upgraded for no reason to the top floor room 302 !!! this had the biggest balcony i have ever seen , this got the sun all day , so as we had a few overcast days we spent a lot of time playing football ( yes football and tennis ) on the balcony !
our room was tided by the maids 8 out of our 10 day stop
still a lack of sun beds but we relaxed on the grass while the child played in the pool so not relly an issue
we had bar snacks by the pool on day burger and chips 3 euro 50 great price however i dont think the chappy behind the bar was too pleased we asked for food but service was fast enough for us
as the hotel is a fair walk from the beach we caught the free hotel bus to the beach this runs 3 times a day
its 5 mins walk to the local supermarket its just like an asda and as you have a fully equpped kitchen in you room incl a dishwasher is fab for making lunches etc i wouldnt reccomemend making an evening meal tho as there are so many gorgeous places to eat in alvor you would miss out
honestly if we visit alvor again in 2014 we will be staying at alvor village again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilacheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just back from a week in Luna Alvor Village with my hubby and 2 kids. I cannot rate the hotel and Alvor in general enough. Just loved it from start to finish. Only complaint was the weather could have been better for the last few days but nobody to blame for that!!!!

Hotel is very clean as all reviews have stated and the reception staff are indeed so friendly. I also agree with last person that the staff on breakfast could have been friendlier but didnt really bother us as such. The rooms were cleaned every day which was a welcome surprise and we had a lovely view of the pool from our room. Also the AC was very good.

The pool area was lovely and our kids really enjoyed it. There were so many families and it made the whole experience extra special, especially for my 5 year old daughter. Conor and I also met some lovely couples who made our stay extra enjoyable. There was mostly families and couples at the resort which was perfect.

The only negative comments I would have( more advice really) would be that the hotel made no effort whatsoever to make it attractive to eat there for either lunch or dinner. We had lunch there a few times mostly because it was handy after the pool with the kids but food was very poor and took ages to come out, eventhough the place was always empty. All that would be needed would be some music playing to attract people over, some menus on the table and a few more options food wise. Most people would love to eat there rather than go downtown every day. Also at night it took ages to get a drink and nobody even bothered to try and take your order unless you went up to the bar. Just seems silly to me that the hotel wouldnt want to sell more food and beverages when people are there anyway. However I must say none of this took from the experience at all, it was more of an observation than anything.

Alvor itself is just beautiful with no shortage of amazing places to eat. Compared to Ireland it is so cheap and the food is excellent. The staff all speak English and are so welcoming to kids. The town was just a 15 minute walk downhill from the hotel and a very cheap taxi ride back if needed.

We went to zoomarine on our last day as the weather was a little dull and was deffo worth a trip. The kids loved it, especially the dolphin show. It is expensive to pay in so I would advise spending all day there if possible to get your moneys worth.

We will certainly be going back to Alvor and we will definitely stay at Luna Alvor Village again. Fab place.

Room Tip: Pool view as everyone says. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was lovely and spacious
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaxDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
1.1 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
1.0 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
3.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellow Alvor Garden
Yellow Alvor Garden
#15 of 24 in Alvor
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Alvor Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Alvor Village

Address: Rua da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#3 Family Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range: $91 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Alvor Village 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Alvor Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvor Village Hotel Alvor
Village Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing