We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long holiday in the sun”
Review of Luna Alvor Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Alvor Village
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“long holiday in the sun”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just got back from 23 days here. The accommodation is very good big,comfortable and clean. Plenty of utensils for self catering. The bed sheets were changed every 4 days and towels daily. The only gripe I had was the height of the fixed coat hangers. I am only 5' 2'' so had to stand on a chair to get at them.
The staff were very friendly and obliging would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking pool which was great as it had sun in morning and was nice and cool in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    174
    40
    8
    3
See reviews for
138
250
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have just come back from a week at the alvor village and i have to say it was the cleanest hotel i've ever stayed in, The pictures you see in there advertisements are exactly what you get in a studio plus which is what we stayed in.
Walk in to Alvor is 15mins at good pace, more on the way back when your full of lovely food and wine !
The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful, i rang down one day to say we had few ants in bin and within 5 mins the guy from reception was up to sort the problem and laughed and joked with us for few mins after, as did the cleaning ladies who come everyday to clean the room.
Downsides to this hotel;
The week we were there we had a few bad days weather wise and there is nothing to do to pass few hours in the hotel ie pool/air hockey table and the atmosphere in the place in the evenings is ZERO worst ever.... one night we returned about 10pm, there were 2 other couples sitting in bar area reading, tv was on showing a big football match with sound down, i coughed everyone looked at me !!! man with suit on tending to the bar was watching match and was none to happy to have to go behind the bar to get us a drink,when my husband opened a menu to look at wine list and it came apart in his hand i laughed and suit guy glared at me with look that could kill. !! I saw him react to other people like this over the week if in the evenings he was watching tv and they wanted a drink.
Food wise its not great, i got pizza from the snack menu on day and a toastie on another and both were microwave jobs without a doubt, breakfast on the other hand was fab and had everything you need including bacon,sausage egg etc
As per other reviews there are not enough sun loungers or parasols and we were there in may, cant imagine what its like in high summer, if you weren't down by 8.30 you were not lying on a lounger for the day !!
Sadly the cleanliness alone would not bring me back to the alvor village as it too lacking in other areas for me.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have no sun on balcony till about 5 in the evening, rooms over looking pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed for a week in the 2 bedroom end deluxe appt on the 3rd floor. The appt was very clean and spacious. The balcony was huge with a hot tub which we didn't use as we were told it never gets hot. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very efficient and attentive. The walk to the town is a lovely 10 minute walk. There are so many shops and restaurants. We ate out every night and did not have a bad meal at all.

Room Tip: You could not fault the deluxe room at all especially for a group of friends as all the beds were si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliHWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Fabulous apartments, by far the best equipped and most spacious ive ever stayed in, spotless in all areas, staff wonderful very friendly and helpful, modern and contemporary establishment, very peaceful but only a 15 min walk to centre. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmybear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca,huelva
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Beautiful modern apartment,incl.real coffee machine,microwave and dishwasher.Spa bath and great views,huge balcony .T.v. was a bit poor,but who wants to watch T.V.
Great staff really friendly and helpful,good bar prices pool a bit cramped and not really enough sunbeds but maybe thats the time of the year.Definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went here for a short stay in Sept.2012 for a tenth anniversary and what a wonderful hotel.
It took over 3 hours to get there but not the hotels fault.
When we got up in the morning we were greeted with an amazing sight in the hotels restaurant for breakfast what an amazing section of hot and cold food was available the bar prices are reasonable and a cold small beer just after breakfast was cool and refreshing.
The rooms are just like the pictures on the website clean and fresh looking a bit like an Ikea show home with plenty of storage for all your shopping, there is a small supermarket just up the road about a 15 mins walk or a hypermarket a bit further away by car 20 mins both with good selections or fresh bread and food.
The village Alvor is better to walk to as the streets are very tight to drive and park up it is only about 20/30 mins to walk to the village and has a great selection of bars and restaurants to choose from if you like fresh fish then this is the village for you.
We liked it so much where going back this May 2013

Room Tip: if you want a shaded room ask for any room not overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mclaren333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My partner and I first visited Alvor Village Suites in 2009 and have subsequently returned five times. We can't speak highly enough about the hotel - great location - pleasant walk to the lovely old town and beach. Rooms very spacious and modern. All the utensils you require in the kitchen and plenty of good quality crockery. Lovely pool area with plenty of sun beds. Delightful shy Hoopoes looking for insects under the palm trees - what a joy they are!
Great breakfasts with plenty of choice even for the fussiest of eaters and a lovely terrace to sit and enjoy. Looking forawrd to seeing you in May!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a junior suite overlooking the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
1.1 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
1.0 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.9 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
982 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Alvor Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Alvor Village

Property: Luna Alvor Village
Address: Rua da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#3 Family Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Alvor Village 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Alvor Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvor Village Hotel Alvor
Village Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing