We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok 3* - definitely not a 4*....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Alvor Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luna Alvor Village
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok 3* - definitely not a 4*....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I travelled with my partner to this hotel and was expecting great things after the reviews I had read on here. Maybe we were just unlucky. Alvor itself was lovely. We had some excellent and value for money meals in the village and the weather was fantastic. We walked to the beach a few times which only took about ten minutes and was beautiful. One place to recommend food-wise was Al Capones; really fresh and versatile food choices and the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Back to the hotel - we didn't have any of the things promised in the brochure. We had no flat screen tv but an old school tv that displayed purple images - very annoying when watching the football (euro 2012) as all the players were in purple. We had no coffee making facilities or ironing board - I made requests for these items 3 times and never received them, found the female receptionist surly and unhelpful. The jacuzzi bath was excellent however I did not get to enjoy this until the 5th night as it wasnt working and again multiple requests to have it fixed seemed to go over the receptionists head. When the maintenance men finally came to fix it we returned to our apartment to find them watching the football instead. The pictures of the pool on the Internet were quite misleading as the pool was very small and of the dozen beds or so provided over half were broken.
Positive aspects were that the rooms were very clean and breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The hotel was in a good location - close to beach, supermarket and village. I cooked a meal in the apartment and it had all necessary utensils which were clean and had a dishwasher so no washing up to be done. Air con worked well and beds were comfy although you could not join the twins together and they kept separating during the night which is not ideal when you're ion a romantic holiday. Massive fridge ideal for keeping your wine and snacks cool, and the apartment was extremely spacious. We were on the top floor and had a huge balcony complete with hot tub - you had to pay extra to use it but we were more than happy to do this as it was our first holiday together. Surprise, surprise it didn't work either. When I asked the receptionist about this her response was "well at least you haven't paid for it up front".
Never experienced any food at the hotel as it seemed too much trouble for someone just to get you a beer from the bar and the one day I asked if we could order a snack at 3pm I was told that food was not being served. Just found the staff pretty lazy and very unconcerned as to their guests satisfaction - not what I expect from a so-called 4* hotel. The hotel looks nice on the surface but just scrapes a 3* star rating based in places I've stayed elsewhere. I would go back to Alvor as it really is a lovely place for a couple's holiday but would only stay at the Alvor Village if I got it very cheap.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loveturkey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    159
    36
    8
    3
See reviews for
125
231
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel rooms are modern, clean and very well equipped. Staff are all friendly and reception staff are really helpful. The rooms are very spacious, plenty of wardrobe space. Everything you could need was provided, iron, ironing board, all kitchen equipment, dishwasher etc. Free internet in lounge area, plus a pay internet service and screen. Very good choice for breakfast and plenty available. Pool area very good and ample sunbeds. Large balcony and beautiful views. 10 minutes to the centre of Alvor and a pleasant walk. Only draw back is the half board option which we took. The hotel does not provide evening meals and gives guests a ticket to use in four different restaurants, the menu choice in a couple of these is not very good and they tended to treat you like a second rate customer, though one of the restaurants was excellent. Would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the sunshine all afternoon on the balcony and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just returned from a 8 night stay in Alvor Village first time staying here, we have stayed twice before in Pestana Alvor Park. We found the room modern, clean and very spacious. The room had excellent self catering facilities, large balcony and plenty of storage space. We only had lunch once in apartments and found it reasonanbly priced and good quality. Breakfast is also good.
Couple of niggles over all were that there was an area of damp on the wall between the bedroom and living area, this was a bit off putting, not sure why they did not even just cover it with something until they sorted it. Some days it was hard to get a sunbed but we just lay on grass with a towel. Also we had checked if there was a fitness roolm before we booked and were told there was however there is not, my husband just went running instead.
Apartments are just about a 15 min walk to town and not even ten to supermarket, this is a large modern supermarket with lots of choice.
Really had a relaxing stay and would go to these appartments again. Alvor is just beautiful if you want a relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is excellent, the staff are very helpful and friendly. Only 10 minutes to Alvor and a little further to the beach, but the free bus service was great. 3 times a day each way and the driver would make as many trips as was necessary if people were waiting. Breakfast was very good lots of choice and replenished quickly. Apartments are very spacious and spotless. We did not use the pool area except for a swim after being out all day, so I cannot comment on the sunbeds. We were picked up for the airport on the day of our depature before breakfast, so we were provided with a packed lunch, which saved us some money at the airport. We would go back to the hotel and would reommend it as an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool were cool in the afternoon and quiet and not overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days staying at the Alvor Village and it was lovely. From the outside, the building does look like an office building but do not let this put you off. Our Suite was very spaceous and was certainly large enough for two people. The whole place was spotless and our room was cleaned every day. It would have been possible to cook a full meal in the kitchen as there was a full sized oven and a two ringed hob, it was also fully stocked with pots, pans, crockery and utensils but as Alvor was only 10 minutes walking distance away, why bother? There was also a full sized fridge, which came in very useful chilling the local wine and beer.

The breakfast was good and it was possible to have something different to have each morning. It consisted of cereals and other items found in a continental breakfast as well as hot items such as bacon, sausages and eggs. Things were restocked quickly and the only holdup came when waiting for the toast, although the toaster was very quick.

The bar area was very good with sofas as well as tables and chairs and the pool was great, although the some of the sunbeds and umbrellas had seen better days and were looking a bit tatty. There was a large sign beside one of the two entrances to the pool area, stating that the reservation of sunbeds and glass objects were not allowed beside the pool, unfortunately this was not beside the entrance most commonly used to access the pool and so was on the whole was ignored.

Would I recommend the Alvor Village? Definately. Would I return? I would really love to.

Room Tip: The room facing the carpark get the evening sun and some of the rooms overlook a small garden rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Modern quality hotel
Positives –
Excellent rooms, high quality, loads of space
Studio room more than adequate for two adults and two children
Everywhere spotless
Fully equipped for self catering
Staff friendly and helpful
Breakfast good
15 minute walk to the centre of Alvor
10 minutes to supermarket
5 minutes to Restaurants
Negatives -
Not enough sun Loungers, a total of 38 beds around the pool for a 70 apartment hotel is obviously going to create problems (we witnessed a couple of “bed rage” incidents) you need to be at the pool for 08:30 to guarantee a bed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markysparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel ticked all boxes for me , clean ,spacious , dual air con in room, spar bath, tv, extremely large balcony, well maintained swimming pool , bar not overpriced, decent breakfast , free Internet , not far off 5 stars in my opinion - pity it closes Sept-May -have booked the Dom jao for our Easter week instead! pity as I would certainly have gone back there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
1.0 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.9 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Alvor Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Alvor Village

Property: Luna Alvor Village
Address: Rua da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#3 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Alvor Village 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Luna Alvor Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvor Village Hotel Alvor
Village Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing