We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & tradition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Union Geiranger
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

For any traveller to the west coast of Norway, a visit to Geiranger is a must. Given that it takes quite some time to get there (especially if you travel by car), it makes sense to stay over for at least a night.

There are not many hotel alternatives, and our choice for the family of 5 was Hotel Unión. It has long traditions, and the website convinced me with its wonderful photographs.

I must say, that I left the hotel with mixed feelings.

On the one hand, the location and the common areas of the hotel fulfulled expectations. But the standard of the rooms and the food was a bit of a let down.

The rooms we were given, had not been refurbished over the last 20 years, and the bathrooms were in bad need for modernization. Our windows were just above a ventilation outlet, which ouzed what seemed like kitchen fumes.... So the idea of opening the Windows for ventilation was quickly abandoned.

We opted for the half pension with dinner included. The buffet was quite big, but the quality of the food was cafetería level. When food is kept warm over a long period of time on display, it looses its charm. The cold cuts and the cheese were the best options. Breakfast, however, worked better.

The problem is partly that the hotel is very large, with bus loads of tourists in the summer months - with hundreds of guests requiring food at the same time. So it is probably imposible for the kitchen to offer a la carte quality food.

If you crave for gourmet treats during your stay, it may be a better option to dine outside the hotel, but I am unsure as to the options in Geiranger.

Bring your swim suit, because they have a nice new SPA section, with both indoor and outdoor pool.

At check out they charged us twice for the stay, a fact I discovered a few weeks later when reviewing my Visa bill. However, the matter was cleared up very efficiently after sending en e-mail to the admin department of the hotel. So no complaint there.

Summmary:

POSITIVE: View, location, breakfast buffet, Spa and Pool
NEGATIVE: Crowded for dinner, rooms and bathrooms in need of refurbishment

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the fjord side, with a nice view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vikongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 600 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here one night on a cross-Norway tour. Very nice, modern hotel, with attentive staff. Interesting display of old cars. Great view of the fjord. A bit of a walk down hill into town (remember what Mrs. Newton said, If you walk down, you must walk up.) but worth it for the scenery and babbling brook. Dinner and breakfast were above average for our tour.

The hot tub was not hot, a consistent problem through Norway. It was about 80 degrees F, which, if it's snowing a little, feels real cold. I joined a group of German tourists and shared a beer. Still real cold. The steam room is co-ed, but when I went in there was an older Japanese couple au natural. The wife did not speak English or Norwegian, and for some reason thought that the steam room was private. The husband spoke passable English and we shared a good laugh.

Room Tip: Most have a view. Unless you are there in the winter, get a view of the fjord. Pay extra if need b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoCalTraveler91356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A excellent hotel in a grand location. At the head of the Geirnager Fjord this family owned and operated hotel that goes back to the end of the 19th century stands out as a important once in a lifetime experience. The spa is really high quality: and the food is nice as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Britt64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

OK, so this is not a cheap hotel, but I would be willing to pay anything for the view of Geirangerfjord.
We booked 2 x Twin Fjordview rooms with the "Dinner, Bed & Breakfast" package. Our rooms, 524 and 525 were interconnected and (as the name says) they look out over the fjord. It took my breath away.
Room 524 has 2 single beds, 2 lounge chairs, a couch, a coffee table, desk, TV and stocked mini bar. The bathroom is a little dated, but large enough, with a bath/shower and a heated floor.
We opted to have dinner/breakfast included in our room rate (you can also add lunch if you want). When we went to the restaurant for the buffet dinner on our first night, we were shown to our table (right in front of the picture windows, overlooking the fjord) and were told that this would be our table for the remainder of our stay. It was fantastic not to have to wait to be seated at each meal.
The dinner buffet - oh my goodness - there were salads, breads, seafood, meat, pasta, vegetables, cheeses... DESSERTS! If you have a sweet tooth, you'll be well looked after.
The breakfast buffet was equally expansive - breads, cheeses, vegetables, fruits, eggs (cooked in a number of ways), porridge, sausages, bacon, cereals, tea/coffee and many juices. It was wonderful and - due to the consistent spread each day - easy to navigate.
As far as location, whilst the hotel has a great view of the fjord, the walk down to the waterfront is down a steep hill (making the walk back to the hotel especially tough), so many guests drive. While that was fine for us at the end of the tourist season, I am not sure that it would be easy during peak season (with three or more cruise ships unloading passengers in the harbour). There is at least one hotel that is closer to the waterfront, but it was closed when we were there at the end of September.
Whilst I didn't take advantage of all that the hotel had to offer (they have a gymnasium), one of my travelling companions had a massage at the hotel's spa. She loved it and mentioned that the staff were very professional and did a great job.
I would have to say that this is a beautiful hotel and well worth the expense to stay here. If you are going to visit one of the most beautiful UNESCO World Heritage sites, then give yourself the best opportunity to experience it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank InfrequentFlyer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Geiranger is a very charmingand fascinating place, and this is a nice place to stay the night. The reception area is large and inviting. The buffet for dinner had very much to choose from and the food tasted very nice. The breakfast was also very good.
My room was large and had a wonderful view of the fjord. The WIFI was a bit slow, and the bed too soft for my liking. Also the light was a bit dim. But over all the stay was pleasant.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A grand hotel in a grand location. At the head of the Geirnager Fjord this family owned and operated establishment with a rich history that dates back into the end of the 19th century stands out as a great place to visit. With top quality spa and pool facilities, excellent rooms with, on the NW side, fantastic views of the fjord, great food and friendly staff it is hard to find any downside at all. The whole area is breath-taking with the world famous Trollstigen road just 50km or so to the north this would be a great base from which to experience this beautiful part of Norway. There is also a well presented collection of historic cars.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiwiRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great Hotel
Fantastic SPA and outdoor lit up heated pool out there the chilly air.
Very nice Gym
Nice breakfast with nice view of the Fjord and cruise ship.

Some attractions I can recommend in the area:
Go up to the Dalsnibba viewpoint (20-25 min drive) only if it is a clear enough day. (On the way, about 4 km from the hotel there is a nother great view point worth stopping at)
Rent a motor boat from "Active Geiranger" to explore the Fjord. I recommend the fast 25 HP boat. No boating License needed.
Go up to the Eagles road and great view point which is heavenly.
Stroll along the small but nice boardwalk at the port (Recommend sitting down at "chocolate with a view" and having a hot white chocolate drink...)

Enjoy !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BentziAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
0.3 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
349 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
171 reviews
24 mi away
First Hotel Raftevold
First Hotel Raftevold
#1 of 1 in Hornindal
127 reviews
16.9 mi away
Stranda Hotel
Stranda Hotel
#5 of 5 in Stranda
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Geiranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Geiranger

Address: Geiranger Rd, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range: $200 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Union Geiranger 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Union Geiranger - a family-run hotel steeped in tradition and situated in the midst of a world-renowned, stunningly beautiful Norwegian fjord landscape. Owned by the Mjelva family and run by the fourth generation, the Hotel Union is a first-class hotel with every modern facility, and a long and proud history of excellence. For over one hundred years, guests have been coming here to stay - and to experience something very special. The hotel offers the very best of personal service, stylish and comfortable accommodation, and superior cuisine, with delicious dishes based on the finest local ingredients. Geiranger has some of the most outstanding natural beauty in the world, as well as a fascinating cultural history. The Hotel Union Bath & Spa is of international standard and offers wellbeing and relaxation in a unique atmosphere and setting. We know that it is the little things and personal touches that add up to create a truly memorable experience. We take pride in making your special wish come true. For us no wish is too small - and none too great.The hotel has 197 rooms and suites (all rooms at the hotel are non-smoking), a restaurant seating 400 guests and a conference room with seating for 400 persons. Our dance bar "Studebaker`n Show Arena has live music six days a week. The hotel has a large garden with a swimming pool, mini golf and a popular playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Union Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiranger Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing