We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Union Geiranger
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Union Geiranger, Norway while on vacation. The location is excellent with marvelous views of Geiranger Fjord. the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was generous in size, very clean and as mentioned had a great view. Breakfast buffet was well above average. The evening Buffet was over priced. Over all a excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdunnsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    187
    72
    26
    9
See reviews for
114
236
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The first thing you notice is the view - incredible. That's because you are up on the side of a mountain looking down on a fjord. Unfortunately, my room didn't have a view. We had a room at the the window faced a wall...horrible. We were too tired to argue. Unpleasant stuff. Old TV.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel. It is expensive without any good justification.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoshravid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a room overlooking the fjord. I could have sat there all day just gazing out the window. Wonderful. We understand the Queen was "in residence" during our stay. Although she was reported to be on our floor, we didn't see her.

Our room was nice. There's something quaint about this hotel that makes it have a good feeling. We stayed her two nights on our tour. It was very comfortable and cozy. It was a great jump-off stop for touring the fjord and the mountains around us.

My only complaint was that the hotel was a good walk away from the fjord itself, and up a serious incline (to be expected in that area). That made things somewhat difficult for me since I walk with canes or ride a wheel chair. This area was not conducive for our "being on our own" to explore on foot. For able-bodied persons, the proximity to the water is a big, big plus!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueRoesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The first thing you notice is the view - incredible. That's because you are up on the side of a mountain looking down on a fjord. Unfortunately, my room didn't have a view. It overlooked a car park where the restaurant staff had no hesitation dumping a vast quantity of empty bottles in the bin at 11.30pm. What a noise! The room was very dumpy. Amazing considering the price. And for a place where the sun barely sets in summer the curtains were inadequate. But the buffet dinner! What an extravagance. Amazing. Service wasn't so great. For example, I went to the bar and ordered and the girl vanished - just walked away and didn't come back even though there were 7-8 people waiting. Where on earth did she go and why? Also, the tables at breakfast didn't get cleared and there was a massive pile up of crockery. Not a good look.

Room Tip: Try and get something with a view of the fjord as this has to be the main reason you would pay the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

this hotel was not great at all. Noisy and banging doors all night! I stayed for 2 nights which was much too long. This hotel looks nice in reception but the rooms are not so nice.Food is very expencive and there are not many cafes around the village. The hotel is quite a way up the hill from the harbour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipsygreencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My experience with Norwegian hotels generally runs with this kind of review 'nice hotel, well located, unspectacular', however, a visit to the Union Hotel changed all that.

Firstly the location, a 15 minute walk or 5 minute drive from the dockside up the hill will bring you to the front door of the hotel. The height above sea level giving you already lofty views of Norway's most famous World Heritage Sight and fjord.

The reception area is spacious and features a beautiful classic Buick car, more of which later. Check in was quick and the staff beamed with real pride when they received their guests. Formalities completed I headed up to the room up on the top floor. And this was where the magic began, the view was utterly stunning, back down the fjord giving you a sundowner from heaven and a curtain opener that just delivers beauty that no guide book could ever describe.

They are spacious and well equipped with all the facilities you need, plus a bath robe and slippers. Once you've got your bathers on, and bath robe, you can then make your way down to the best part in my view, of this hotel. The Spa.

There is a hammam, two sauna's, a steam room and cold and warm showers, plus a very sizeable pool and an outdoor and indoor jacuzzi. The outdoor being my favourite as it gives you more of that view back down the fjord. It truly is a stunning affair and worthy of the Indian Ocean with knowledgeable staff to direct you towards treatments available.

Once you've had your spa treatments,you'll want to dine and this is again where the Union excels, the food is incredible, worthy of any top class hotel with superb service and classical food. Truly excellent. Breakfast was also superb with loads of selections all with superb quality.

If you have time, take a little visit to the basement and you'll get a greater understanding of the history of this beautiful hotel. The photos and most importantly the cars that bring guests up to the hotel with special request, they are simply stunning, and say an awful lot about the property and how it is run.

The location is great, the service is superb, food is incredible and the rooms are lovely. In my view, Norway's number one property, by a long way...

Room Tip: Be as high as you can and fjord facing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitchurchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is an excellent classic style hotel. The lobby is comfortable and inviting. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The former owner even gave us a tour of his car museum in the basement. The rooms are a decent size, clean and very comfortable. The windows open which makes for an excellent night's sleep without airconditioning The bathroom was a decent size as well.
The buffet breakfast was excellent with a nice selection. The hotel was very busy, but staff had everything well under control.
Its a long walk down hill to the village. The boat tour out into the fjiord is a must do, especially if the weather is good.
This is an excellent place to stay, and I was very pleased that our bus tour had two nights there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNBearYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
1.6 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
148 reviews
14.8 mi away
Grotli Hoyfjellshotell
0.5 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Geiranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Geiranger

Property: Hotel Union Geiranger
Address: Geiranger Rd, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Union Geiranger 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Union Geiranger - a family-run hotel steeped in tradition and situated in the midst of a world-renowned, stunningly beautiful Norwegian fjord landscape. Owned by the Mjelva family and run by the fourth generation, the Hotel Union is a first-class hotel with every modern facility, and a long and proud history of excellence. For over one hundred years, guests have been coming here to stay - and to experience something very special. The hotel offers the very best of personal service, stylish and comfortable accommodation, and superior cuisine, with delicious dishes based on the finest local ingredients. Geiranger has some of the most outstanding natural beauty in the world, as well as a fascinating cultural history. The Hotel Union Bath & Spa is of international standard and offers wellbeing and relaxation in a unique atmosphere and setting. We know that it is the little things and personal touches that add up to create a truly memorable experience. We take pride in making your special wish come true. For us no wish is too small - and none too great.The hotel has 197 rooms and suites (all rooms at the hotel are non-smoking), a restaurant seating 400 guests and a conference room with seating for 400 persons. Our dance bar "Studebaker`n Show Arena has live music six days a week. The hotel has a large garden with a swimming pool, mini golf and a popular playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Union Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiranger Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing