We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
87
177
102
44
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
177
102
44
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfjord viewgreat viewsouvenir shopsan upgradetrafalgar tourbreakfast buffetbooked this hotelflat screen tvsmall villageexcellent locationgrocery storethe rooms were nicenight staytea and coffeenice breakfasthotel is locatedcruise ship
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 422 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2016

So many reviews of this hotel mentioned about the urgent need of renovation so I didn't expect much more than a pricey old hotel. I only booked because of its location. I booked the room with fjord view, though. But the room looked better than expected. The staffs were also very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent. For those who travel without a car, this is the only good choice for you. The complementary breakfast was good. And the view from the room was stunning. The room with the fjord view really worths the pay.

Room Tip: Book the room with the fjord view
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank toeinoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erot_13, Sales Manager at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Hello,
Thank you so much for Your feedback, it is very important for us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, the view from your room, the breakfast, the staff and Your stay With us in Hotel Geiranger.

We hope to see you at Our hotel and in Geiranger again.

Best Regards.
Agnethe Kværne
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

This is a very old and run down place. We stayed in the lower part of the hotel. The only thing I liked about the room was the view over the fjord, which is spectacular. Breakfast buffet is OK, but not nearly as good as in other hotels. Staff is not overly friendly. Parking is hard when you arrive late (on the street). We would not return nor would we recommend this hotel to any of our friends.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
3  Thank valinholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erot_13, Sales Manager at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Hello,
Thank you so much for Your feedback, it is very important for us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay here with us.

We hope to see you at Our hotel and in Geiranger again in the future.

Best Regards.
Agnethe Kværne
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2016

A nice hotel in a good location. Nice rooms and free WI-fi. Good breakfast and friendly staff. Nice views from the room and Geiranger itself is worth the visit. Travelling out into the fjord is best done on the ferry and not the site seeing boat.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
Thank K1w1NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erot_13, Sales Manager at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Hello,
Thank you so much for Your feedback, it is very important for us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, the view from the room, the breakfast, the staff the Wi-Fi and Your stay With us in Hotel Geiranger.

We hope to see you at Our hotel and in Geiranger again.

Best Regards.
Agnethe Kværne
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

We booked 3 rooms last September.
10 months ago.
Within one week of departing for Norway the Geiranger Hotel cancelled our rooms stating it overbooked the Hotel.
Their offer was to find us an inferior hotel in the middle of nowhere 75Km away plus a one hour ferry.
This effectively caused a disaster to our planned itinerary. Utterly unprofessional and unacceptable.
After standing our ground they honoured the booking at the last minute.
2 rooms faced the cliff to the rear and one with balcony facing the fjord with a beautiful view. All on floor 10.
Get a fjord view !
Our rooms had been recently refurbished but very cheaply. Laminate flooring, IKEA furniture and new bathroom but with broken WC flush, broken basin tap and dated shower curtain and pole. One curtain had to be replaced as smelled of mould.
The walls had been painted over old paper and holes and cracks evident.
The decade old LCD tv had a tiny screen with bad picture and sound.
Broken up lighter.
The public areas are decades out of date and the buffet diabolical.
A strong smell of fish pervaded the dining room and surrounding halls despite the Windows being wide open.
The food was dry, tough and generally awful. Some of the sweets were unrecognisable.
This is the worst hotel by far of all that we have stayed in during our trip. The others were very acceptable Thon and Scandics.
The Geiranger is desperately lacking investment and aimed squarely at tour bus groups. It was packed. No incentive.
If you want a much better hotel book the Union just up the hill.
Apart from this particular hotel we have had no problems or cause for criticism anywhere.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
3  Thank MartinHalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erot_13, Daglig leder at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Dear Mr. Halliday,

Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is very important to us, as it helps us to improve.

Please note that we only asked if the book out could be an interesting option and opportunity for you, as the location for the book out is a very popular destination in fjord Norway called Loen, as well as we thought you might be interested in the compensation we offered which was free entrance in the SPA for the whole family in the beautiful and well known Alexandra Hotel in Loen, recognized as the leading hotel in fjord Norway.

We kindly inform you that there is no need to take a one hour ferry from that destination to Geiranger, however, it is an option and on this ferry you get to see the famous Geiranger fjord.

You had booked three standard rooms with us, which are not facing the fjord. We gave you free upgrades, one of the rooms was a superior room facing the Geirangerfjord and the two other rooms were superior rooms facing the mountain. Normally these rooms have an additional cost. We apologize that you were not satisfied with any of the rooms we upgraded you to.

We are kindly informing you that all our renovated rooms have oak parquet, not laminated floors. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with anything in the room or public areas.

We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with anything in our restaurant.

We hope that we will be able to give you another impression on a future occasion.

Wishing you welcome back to us.

With best regards,

Maud Haldorsen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

I was totally dumbstruck with awe as I approached this hotel. Location wise this is one of the best hotels I have stayed so far during my holidays. I had a room on the 3rd floor facing the fjords and the view from the room balcony was something that would keep me glued to watching the fjords, the cruise ship and the tourists walking around the wharf. The room was good even though it was a bit small. We had breakfast which was complimentary and it was very good. The dinner too was very good with a huge spread of fish, meat and salads. The quality of the food served was excellent.
Since the hotel is located in a good location it is a five minute walk to shop around for souvenirs or buy some chocolates. This is a hotel I would love to come back and stay once again.

Room Tip: Take a room which has a view of the fjord.
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishwa180573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erot_13, Sales Manager at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Hello,
Thank you so much for Your feedback, it is very important for us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, the view, the breakfast and Your stay With us in Hotel Geiranger.

We hope to see you at Our hotel and in Geiranger again.

Best Regards.
Agnethe Kværne
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews