We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good thing about this hotel is the location”
Review of Hotel Geiranger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Geiranger
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Sjøholt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only good thing about this hotel is the location”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Entering the hotel it felt like a trip back to the 90's! Wery outdated decor and furnishing, ugly hotelroom that was'nt cleaned properly(dust in the ceilingcorners). Boring dinnerbuffet and breakfast, a bartender that is not a bartender. Some girl that had her second day on work, and had no knowledge of drinks. Next time I go to Geiranger there is no doubt I would stay in Union!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank norwegiantraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    122
    72
    30
    10
See reviews for
50
143
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Mn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

What a gorgeous place to stay. Right on the shore of a beautiful fjord. Wonderful quaint hotel surrounded by Norway's natural glory. Loved every second. Went to Norway to meet family and they took us here and I couldn't thank them enough.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fallsguy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The location can't be beat. It was quite a bit cheaper than the Union Hotel, though not quite as nice, but closer to the fjord. Some of the decor is a bit tired and dated but they are renovating rooms. The dinner buffet was the best we had on our trip! And not a bad deal, for Norway standards. There is Wi-Fi in the lounge, and in the rooms. The entire hotel was very clean, and the staff was friendly. I would recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank suzQ000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at this property for two nights recently. The rooms are pretty basic, but clean and comfortable. We had a room with a balcony on the third floor, which I highly recommend. The walls were a bit thin and we could here some noise from our neighbors. The location is perfect, right in town. It is a short walk to restaurants, shops and the ferry. It was wonderful to sit on the balcony and look at the fjord late into the evening. They provide a breakfast buffet that was varied and satisfying. There was free Wi-Fi in the rooms that worked well. I wouldn't hesitate to return here.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony, you will not be sorry. Those on the other side of the building don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljunkieDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Only booked this hotel as it was the only one available

However, would go back! Very friendly staff, very cheap stay and the very best location

Could walk from the pier (we came with "Hurtigruten) in 5 minutes. For all other hotels you either have to walk for 25+ minutes or ideally have a car

The rooms are so ugly and outdated that it was more hilarious than anything, but no carpets (a big no no in scandinavia) and it was very clean so didnt mind

Ask for them to show you where you can go up to the waterfall where you get to go behind the waterfall. The most amazing experience!

We usually go for 4-5stars when we travel - but we are definitely coming back to this one!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-HJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erot_13, General Manager at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel but are sorry to hear that you did not like our rooms. However, since we are renovating some rooms every year, we are sure you will have a room of your taste when you are coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Beautiful view and beautiful location !!!

We stayed at this hotel while on a tour with Trafalgar. The view of the Geiranger Fjord from our balcony was breathtaking. The rooms were nice and comfortable and included a couch and chair. There was a flat screen TV and Free Wi-Fi which was wonderful.

The breakfast buffet was fabulous. The hotel is family owned and the staff was very friendly and accomodating.

There are also some fun shops to browse near the hotel.

Beautiful, peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erot_13, General Manager at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review. It makes us happy when our guests enjoy their stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice and convenient location. Cosy little room. Scenic view from balcony. Good hearty breakfast which includes local bread, fish-pickles, home made fresh marmalade, bread, cheese and many other things. What else do you want? On top of it, smiling and friendly staff. The dinner was rather reasonably priced (by Norwegian standard) for a three-course meal and was really good, especially the elf-medallions. A place to relax and spend a day or two at least. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sagar_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
0.3 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
523 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Grotli Hoyfjellshotell
0.8 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
20 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fjorden Campinghytter
Fjorden Campinghytter
#7 of 14 in Geiranger
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geiranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geiranger

Property: Hotel Geiranger
Address: Skansekaia, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geiranger 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Geiranger is locaded in the heart of Geiranger. It is a short walk to the fjord sightseeing boat, souvernir shops, restaurants and the new Waterfall hiking path, which opened in 2014. We hope we get the pleasure to welcome you to Our hotel and to Geiranger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing