We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$205
Fully refundable before Wed, May 22
Breakfast included
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Seva L
Tel Aviv, Israel

Absolutely amazing place to stay with one but..

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 23, 2019via mobile
This hotel as absolutely amazing. The location, the food and the stuff. If you are planning your stay in Geiranger, thats the place. Unfortunately for me as wheelchair user was disappointing that there is no wheelchair friendly room. The room we took was amazing, but with a stair to very small bathroom, and the balcony had a stair too to get out. The rest parts of the hotel are fine for going around with wheelchair. Hope the managers will do something in the future to improve their accessibility.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alextravels95, Manager at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Sep 2, 2019
Dear guest,
thank you for leaving us such a great review. We are currently aware that the property is not wheelchair friendly, however this is on the top of our priority list. As we are not allowed to rebuild/add-on or modify the existing building because of temporary building restrictions in Geiranger, we hope to build an expansion to the hotel in the near future that can be better adapted to wheelchairs.

We are however very glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, and hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
1.6 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $199
  • Hotels.com
1.3 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free parking
Uteområde - Store hytter / exclusive
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
2.0 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
$79
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $187
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • Booking.com
2.0 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
6.6 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Geiranger
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveler rating
350
161
19
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
350
161
19
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dyson fan parked our car room had a small balcony hotel is located great view free parking breakfast was included breakfast and dinner coffee maker very nice hotel town buffet views norway fjord road simon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 535 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2019 via mobile

An awesome hotel with great staff and a breakfast buffet that never quits. We sat on our balcony and watched the colors of water change moment by moment. This was a splurge birthday vacation, what a treat.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank volphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alextravels95, Manager at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2019

Dear guest,
thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our property and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is very welcoming from the time we checked in and during our stay. The food at the hotel from breakfast, lunch and dinner were excellent. The hotel provides free laundry service where you can wash, dry and iron your own clothing. The rooms have balconies with a spectacular view of the fijord. The hotel welcomes families with children. Transportation from the hotel to the town and back is provided by the hotel. What I liked also about the hotel that all the staff are very helpful and welcoming. Finally, there is ample of free parking for guests.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 356arifl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alextravels95, Manager at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2019

Dear guest,
thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and restaurant. Hope to see you here again in the future.

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019

The hotel, nested on the banks of the fjord offers rooms with a splendid view on the fjord. Rooms are comfortable and we enjoyed every morning and night the little terrace with this incredible view. The restaurant on the top floor offers the same panorama. The service was perfect, especially the waitresses in the restaurant who made you feel very welcome. Definitely the place to stay in Geirander.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AFV66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alextravels95, Leder  at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Dear guest,
thank you for leaving us such a great review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you here in again in the future!

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Grande Fjord Hotel - what a beautiful place!

The scenery from our room and balcony are of course amazing, looking out over beautiful Geiranger Fjord.
But the hotel itself is also very pretty and every room is designed to maximise the views.

Staff are incredible, very friendly and helpful, and they picked us up from the ferry port (5 minute drive to hotel) and gave us an early check-in as well.

Shoutout to the bar staff who were super helpful organising a Twizy (small electric car) for us, and sharing with us their knowledge of local beers and spirits while we had drinks in the evening looking out over the amazing Fjord.

Breakfast and dinner were both fantastic. Food and drink prices are not cheap, but that’s the same elsewhere in Norway.

Rooms are beautifully appointed and spacious, with coffee machine and fan provided.
There was no bottled water in the room, however, there is always water available near reception, where you can fill up your drink bottle.

Overall we had an amazing stay, shame that we have to leave today.
I would definitely stay again and as a travel agent I will certainly recommend this hotel to my clients.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alextravels95, Leder  at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Dear guest,
thank you so much for leaving us such a great review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our service. We hope to see you here again in the future!

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2019 via mobile

We stayed two nights and the rooms were clean, the porch an exceptional treat, loved the breakfasts and Simon was very friendly. You can rent kayaks very close by as well as have them take you into town if you want to fight the cruise ship crowds. I really like the breakfast selections.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cassie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alextravels95, Leder  at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Dear Guest,
thank you for leaving us such a great review. We love to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and that you liked our breakfast buffet. Simon says hi!

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews