We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$205
Fully refundable before Wed, May 22
Breakfast included
Agoda.com
$205
Fully refundable before Wed, May 22
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
paiksungwoon

the best hotel during a road trip to northwest Norway for 18 days

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 11, 2019
My wife and I have just returned from an amazing road trip to Northwest Norway for 18 days by a rental car. Among the hotels we had stayed, this hotel was the best in every aspect. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The bathtub which was not common even in the superior room at other hotels also very helpful to be relaxed. The staff was all friendly and professional, especially the tall glasses guy who drew simple and nice maps on my intermediate destination. The breakfast buffet was very good quality with a great selection of local and fresh produce. I strongly recommend this hotel to all the future travelers to Geiranger and would like to express my sincere gratitude to all the members in the hotel.
Date of stay: July 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alextravels95, Leder  at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Jul 15, 2019
Dear Whitecloud100,
thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are very glad to hear that you found our property and restaurant fulfilling and hope to see you here again in the future!

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
1.6 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $191
  • Hotels.com
1.3 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $108
  • Hotels.com
1.9 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free parking
Uteområde - Store hytter / exclusive
Agoda.com
No booking fees
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
2.0 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
$79
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $79
0.6 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    $187
  • Priceline
    $205
2.1 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
No booking fees
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.0 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $117
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
4.0 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
$191
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    $191
1.2 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
View more hotels in Geiranger
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveler rating
350
161
19
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
350
161
19
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dyson fan parked our car room had a small balcony hotel is located great view free parking breakfast was included breakfast and dinner coffee maker very nice hotel town buffet views norway fjord road simon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 535 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2019

We like everything here. Among all the properties we stayed during 8 days in Norway, Grand Fjord hotel was the best one. The hotel itself, the room, the food, the location , the staff were all exceptional. There were varieties of breakfast to choose. We stayed on the 4th floor (2 single beds and one extra bed) where we could see such an amazing fjord view . Beds were comfortable. Coffee capsules and milk were available in our room and also in the exercise room. Washing machine also available near the exercise room. The soaps and amenities were great. The location is close to the city center (just 10 minutes drive) where you can buy excellent home made chocolate (Geiranger Sjokolade), home made souvenir and board the cruise. Lots of free parking space in the area.

Room tip: The 4th floor will be the best because you can see the best Fjord view.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaoPaoBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alextravels95, Leder  at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2019

Dear Pao,
thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and restaurant. Hope to see you here again some time!

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2019 via mobile

Best hotel we stayed in during our visit to Norway. Rooms are very clean, spacious & with the most magnificent views over Geirangerfjord! We loved being away from the busyness of the town itself. We spend the afternoon strolling around town & then headed out on a fjord tour. Got back to the hotel & had a magical evening lounging in the bar-area - the barman Szymon was superb! All the staff were extremely helpful & friendly. Will definitely recommend the hotel to anyone that visits Geirangerfjord!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 335danelld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alextravels95, Leder  at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2019

Dear 335danelld,
thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our property. Enjoy the rest of your Norway-trip!

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Grande Fjord Hotel. It was a great choice.

The hotel is located about 2.5 km from the centre of Geiranger village in a very attractive spot at the base of the Eagle Road (Ørnesvingen). Don’t miss a drive up this road for great views of the fjord, which is just as good as taking the 90 minute ferry cruise.

We were a bit put off by the fact that there is a caravan park/camp site in front of the hotel, between the hotel and the fjord, but it turned out to be no problem at all. The campsite and huts are very attractive and there was no noise from the campsite.

Our room and bathroom were spacious enough and comfortable, with a balcony overlooked the fjord (I think all rooms face the water). If not, it’s worth paying extra for the view.

The staff members, mainly young students, were very friendly and helpful. There was an excellent spread at breakfast, and dinner is also available, at a price – either a set menu or a la carte. Excellent views from the restaurant which also has a nice terrace.

There’s good walking in the area. Highly recommend the walk to Storseterfossen from Westeras Gard, which has a restaurant that looks like it’s worth trying.

No hesitation in recommending a stay at Grande Fjord Hotel.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mervyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alextravels95, Leder  at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2019

Dear Lops51,
thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Grande Fjord Hotel, and thank you for your recommendation! We are aware that some of our guests find the camp ground below the hotel a bit odd, however we can assure you that it is a very quiet and peaceful area, nonetheless. The campsite is also a separated business, and has nothing to do with the hotel.

We hope to see you here again some time!

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2019

Although rather pricey, we were able to get a booking a few days out. The room was on the end over looking the fjord with a small balcony. We had a large ( American king size bed) refrigerator, coffee maker, extra clean room. The dinner buffet was again very pricey but excellent in selections, come hungry! Breakfast was included and was superb! Staff were most accommodating and friendly. Had drinks in the bar prior to dinner and highly recommend as well. The hotel is located away from the hustle and bustle of the village which we preferred. Very quiet and serene! My only tiny complaint is that the bottom sheet did not fit properly and I kept tugging at it all night so I would not touch the bare mattress. Expect to pay hefty prices for food and room but hey you are in Geiranger! Would highly recommend!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chichiSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alextravels95, Leder  at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2019

Dear Chichi,
thank you so much for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and restaurant. I will take your complaint about the bed sheet to our cleaning company, as I was not aware of this issue.

Hope to see you again some time!

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2019

Great hotel with lots of atmosphere and an amazing view.

The rooms are not the biggest in the world, but they are nicely laid out. Our room had a small balcony which made the experience even more enjoyable.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Restaurant was great, with a wonderful panorama (remember to book a table so you can get the best view) and both morning and evening buffets were great with lots of different dishes, both international and local cuisine.

Also, due to poor weather in the Djupvatnet, we had to leave the hotel a day early to catch our ferry - the staff was extremely helpful in finding out about road conditions and even refunded the final night even though they were under no obligation to do so!

Great experience and definitely not our last visit to Grande Fjord Hotel!

Room tip: Pay the extra and get a room with a balcony - it is worth every penny.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalle1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alextravels95, Leder  at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2019

Dear Dalle,
thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are super-happy to hear that your experience here was pleasant. You are more than welcome back, any time in the future!

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews