We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Chocolate Heaven

A must do if in Geiranger. Beautiful waffles and hot chocolate drinks. Lovely to sit out if sun... read more

Reviewed September 5, 2018
Sue A
via mobile
Hot chocolate on rainy day!

We are on a tour and did a boat ride in the fjord. After we stayed in port and due to the crowds... read more

Reviewed September 4, 2018
48lisas48
via mobile
Read all 143 reviews
  
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
52
32
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
32
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brown cheese hot chocolate chocolate shop great chocolate chocolate heaven award winning brownie small shop taste buds viking ship rainy day waffles milk cloudberry factory souvenirs chocoholic
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a small shop and cafe on the waterfront; it is interesting to go in and see the variety of chocolate on sale. It is all good quality and of course not cheap as it never is in Norway. The seating area is small and there is small seating area outside. The staff are friendly and efficient. The coffee was OK but if you from the UK, it is not exactly Costa quality and was served in a cracked cup. Neverthess, it is worth a visit especially if you get a seat with a view.

Thank nuneatonjohn2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

A must do if in Geiranger. Beautiful waffles and hot chocolate drinks. Lovely to sit out if sun shining. Not a huge place, so seating at a premium. Well worth waiting for though.

Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

We are on a tour and did a boat ride in the fjord. After we stayed in port and due to the crowds and weather we decided to walk back to the hotel. We came upon this chocolate shop. I tried a piece of the bleu cheese chocolate candy, very good.

We both got a cup of chocolatemania which is all the kinds of chocolate mixed together. It was delicious. Service was excellent!

Thank 48lisas48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Yummie chocolate, not cheap, but good quality is never cheap :-) We bought some chocolate and enjoyed it

Thank Petra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

It's just few pieces of chocolate put into the milk. Not much taste. Overrated. Ice cream is average. Waffle is OK. Hahaahahahahahahaaaha

Thank Ser S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

After waiting a very long time for our hot chocolate drinks, during which we expected the promised "hot chocolate with real chocolate", we were most disappointed. Waiting as long as we did led us to expect the most heavenly, carefully-crafted drink imaginable. this was not the case. My husband's "dark" hot chocolate was weak and watery, as was my milk chocolate drink. Up your game, people! Take your example from Angelina's in Paris (Rue de Rivoli), if you wish to surprise your guests with the best hot chocolate in the world!
The only redeeming feature in this hopelessly understaffed spot during peak tourist season is the quaint and quirky decor.

Thank Musicofnote58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for a hot chocolate. Delicious. Warmed milk which you spoon chocolate into! Chocolate cake and brownies were yummy too. Cosy indoor seating, as well as tables and chairs outside.

Thank GoLiveYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

With its wide selection, this is certainly a heaven for chocolate lovers but it is a great place to pick up souvenirs or just enjoy some hot chocolate or a coffee for anyone.

Thank 344blankas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

When you come down from the glacier skywalk, you need something to warm you up. The chocolate here feeds your sweet tooth and gets your metabolism revved back up. It was delicious and the staff was very nice. Highly recommend the dark chocolate!

Thank Tennek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

(Almost) everything is homemade. The chocolates (with beer or brown cheese etc. ) have won prizes, and you can taste why. Also their homemade ice cream and soft ice are made with goat milk and tastes incredible good

Thank DutchTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews