We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hut with great view over Geiranger”
Review of Hole Hytteutleige

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hole Hytteutleige
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect hut with great view over Geiranger”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

As I travelled through fjord norway by car, I only stayed in this great hut for 2 nights. However this was one of my two favorite accomodations throughout the whole trip. The hut is perfectly equipped and looks very nice and comfortable. You can also relax on the small terrace and enjoy the view over Geiranger without the noise of all the tourists in the center. I can only recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeglikerikekfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We decided to do a Roadtrip from Croydon, England to Geiranger, Norway... I would say that it was so far the best European Roadtrip that we did. We were fortunate to get Cabin 11, the best one as it is situated just beside a running stream which was very therapeutic for sleeping. Outside the cabin is a Breathtaking View of Geiranger. The Staff were great & very friendly. If we were given a chance to come back...I'd choose Hole Camping Park a million times over! Couldn't help but smile thinking about that place!

Room Tip: Book your cabin First in advance before coming, Hole Camping Site is always fully booked due to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

one of the most amazing landscape I ever seen,
atmosphere, privacy, nature, cascades and water.
You could stay 1 or few days, even 1 week.
You will feel free, fresh and happy,
don't hesitate to choose it.
Take ferry or boat for a walk on the fjord,
walk on the step on the hills.
A lot of cascades, rainbows after rain, wonderful and very sportive location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macsory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Me and my wife spent two nights at Hole hytteutleige at the end of july. We vere lucky to get cabin 9, the new one, with a bic balcony and superb panorama over the fjord and surroundig beautiful mountains. The cottage is extremely well cleaned, simply but in a pretty way furnished. It is equipped with everything one needs for a couple of nights stay, clean and functioning shower/WC. It is just a little above the road, but enough, no traffic noice was interfering ones' sleep. On the contrary, the cabins are located between two waterfalls and the stunning wash from the water lulls the traveller to sleep ,
The location near hiking trails is excellent, within 45 minutes one reaches the Storseterfossen Waterfall where you can walk behind the waterfall...and not just the destination, all the way up and down one can enjoy the spectacular views, all this without being a true professional hiker...just a little sweat after breakfast or before lunch, as the weather typically is moist and not too hot for a little exercise. And as a bonus a yummy waffle from the Hole reception fulfills the trip. The personnel at the reception was always happy to help and answer all the questions.
The breakfast is provided in the Hole Hytteutleige, if ordered in advance, but can also be prepared in the cabin. There are two restaurants nearby, the trip to the village itself takes 30 minutes on foot, or five minutes by car on the serpentine road. The small village is picturesque with the fjord and surrounding mountains. It is an astonishing experience to see 1-5 huge cruise ships to drop their anchors and thousands of cruise passangers populating the small village, but just for one day...fortunately they disappear usually in the late afternoon. Another must is to take the trip to Dalsnibba, a mounting on top of the valley. It offers a very good view and is often covered by snow even in the summer. The lake Djupvatnet lies halway up the mountain, one can enjoy the view on the lake with melting ice in July...if you haven't a car with you or are too fearful to drive on the serpentine roads, there are busstours with professional drivers and guides offered in the village. And suggest taking your evening snack at the cabin on the wide balcony enjoying the athmosphere.
We enjoyed our stay in Geiranger and at Hole hytteutleige and recommend it for couples and families, want to thank especially Anna, Anne and Laura for the experience.
But if you are looking for Hilton, this is not for You...

Room Tip: the new ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank finlandese49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed in Hole Hytteutleige's Cabin #16 for two nights, and it was by far our favorite accommodation during the entire trip. It is rustic, but cozy. Furnishings are simple, keeping your focus on your stunning location. There was plenty of hot water for five people to shower in the morning. The cabin is well-positioned to walk to multiple hiking trails, and the Hole Hytteutleige staff cheerfully helped us select hikes that were perfect for our group. The cabin is also high enough up the road to avoid the daytime cruise ship crowds. The view is sublime. The cabin points toward the fjord and every glance from the front porch is breathtaking. We all wished we had spent more time in this incredibly beautiful corner of the world. (You can order fresh bread for breakfast the night before from the reception desk. Delicious!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyPeregrinates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

we stayed in the cabin #4, a very warm and cozy cabin for 4 people (we were 2 couples).

we asked for freshly baked bread for the next morning and we were lucky to have breakfast outside the cabin, from where the view is amazing.

there is TV and also internet access is provided.

as each visitor has to clean the glasses and dishes used, the glasses did not smell that good, but that was the fault of the previous visitor who had obviously eaten fish. :P detergent for the dishes and a sponge is provided in the cupboard so no problem. :)

apart from that detail, our stay was very good. there is a super market 10 minutes away by car and a restaurant 3 minutes away by car.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toutougr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geiranger hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grande Hytteutleige og Camping
0.0 mi away
Fjorden Campinghytter
Fjorden Campinghytter
#7 of 14 in Geiranger
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hole Hytteutleige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hole Hytteutleige

Property: Hole Hytteutleige
Address: Geiranger, Stranda N-6216, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hole Hytteutleige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing