We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely offensive”
Review of Naustkroa

Naustkroa
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Geiranger
Price range: $10 - $31
Description: A well-established restaurant in the middle of Geiranger’s pedestrianised street. Unique outdoor seating by the fjord or inside in the cosy restaurant. We are known for Geiranger’s best pizza and steak burger with cream sauce. We also serve traditional Norwegian dishes such as salmon and meatballs. Open for the summer season 16.5-17.9 2017
Restaurant details
Description: A well-established restaurant in the middle of Geiranger’s pedestrianised street. Unique outdoor seating by the fjord or inside in the cosy restaurant. We are known for Geiranger’s best pizza and steak burger with cream sauce. We also serve traditional Norwegian dishes such as salmon and meatballs. Open for the summer season 16.5-17.9 2017
White Plains, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely offensive”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

If I could give negative -10 I would. After waiting 40 minutes to be served a salad the waitress rudely told me that they are busy (the upstairs was half full) and I could leave. So I did. I went to the Brasserie and it was lovely.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scizin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RagnhildF3, Manager at Naustkroa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
I`m really sorry to hear that you have been left waiting in our restaurant and addressed rudely, it should not happen. I take full responsibility for not having enough staff at work or making sure that they did not forget guest sitting downstairs. Even if we are busy you have the right to be addressed properly and seen. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. This will help us to make sure that it will not happen to other guest, and to you if you would ever consider giving us I second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    48
    17
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We happened into this small, charming cafe while off our ship. The fish soup and salmon salad were excellent and priced right! Would highly recommend this place. Lady next to us had the salmon...wish I would have ordered that. It looked incredible!!!! Staff were courteous and friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RagnhildF3, Manager at Naustkroa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about how you experienced Naustkroa. It is helpful for us to know how we are perceived by our guests. Hope we can have the pleasure to have you as our guest again one day. (You need to come back and try our salmon main course, you know)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very good food”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

loved the food at Naustkroa. the norwegian salmon was delicious and a large portion. the norwegian sausages were excellent and the pizzas tasted amazing. the meals were good value for norwegian prices and the staff were very friendly

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mags_harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good and cheap”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Good food at reasonable prices. Same menu with 2 different prices - one for takeaway, one for indoor eating. Very friendly staff

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank marticlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Naustkroa, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. And Im very glad to hear that you were happy with my staff:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hot dog”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Made me special hot dog, with locally produced sausage, which was not on menu.
Delicious, and not expensive by Norwegian standards.
Friendly staff with good sense of humor.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingHaPpY_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Naustkroa, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, and Im glad to hear that my staff treated you well:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naustkroa also viewed

 
Geiranger, Stranda
 
Geiranger, Stranda
 

Been to Naustkroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing