We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins on the edge of Geiranger fjord”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grande Hytteutleige og Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

After searching for an alternative to expensive hotels in Geiranger, we booked a cabin at Grande Hytteutleige after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The cabins are a short distance from the township - easy to locate if you are driving, but probably walkable in fine weather. They are well appointed, clean and modern with excellent views across the fjord and back towards the sparkling lights of Geiranger at night. We stayed in 'alternative 5' which included a bathroom and kitchen. They are compact, but well exceeded our expectations for camping cabins and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyFamily512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 264 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

It's not only about the nice cottages, good facilities or the friendly staff which make it outstanding. It's the astonishing views of this magical fjord that thrills your spine every moment of the day. From dawn to sunset, every time.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank seby621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Four of us stay at alternative 5, cabin 14 for 2 nights. The view is spectacular! You can see the fjord and the town all at once by simply sit on you deck! The space is a little small but enough for 4 ppl. Well-equipped kitchen and very tidy. The shower place is pretty small though. You can also rent a boat on the site ! Kayaking in Gerianger fjord is the thing you have to experience! We saw three huge ferries when we are kayaking! A 2 hr karaking trip can take you to the seven-sister waterfall and enjoy being literately "inside" of a world heritage. Strongly recommend this camping site!

我們在alternative 5,cabin 14 待了兩天. cabin 14擁有整個camping site最好的風景, 餐廳有270度的窗戶,往左看是蓋倫格市中心,往右看便是蓋倫閣峽灣,千人以上的遊輪天天從木屋前面開過,很特殊的體驗! 營地還可租獨木舟, 在蓋倫閣峽灣划獨木舟是很棒的體驗!
木屋空間有點小,但是以一家四口來說仍是足夠的! 廚房設備齊全, 淋浴間有點小到是真的! 很喜歡每個木屋前的大平台, 早餐在平台上吃看著風景是人生一大樂事! 強力推薦!

Room Tip: Cabin 14 has the best view of all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanPon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in a tent for 4 nights and had a very nice experience. It is possible to buy electricity in tents also. The facilities are clean and very nice, pretty new.
Washing machine and dryer use tokens, 1 for 1,5h, so be careful which program you select. The kitchen is small and can be very crowded in the evenings.
It is possible to rent boats, fishing equipment and kayaks and they are very helpful with all you need to know when you go on the fjord. It's a 20 min walk to Geiranger where the groceries store is.
Unfortunately there was a lot of mud because of the rain and all the cars coming and going.

Room Tip: Come before 4 pm to find a nice place by the water to pitch a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miclex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visited the campsite.

Campsite is okay (though very wet after rain, no drainage?), but the owner wants to make as much as money as possible. In all the 'advises' he gives you, he involves his boat hiring. Quite annoying !

Futhermore there are only 2 showers, 2 toilets and 2 wash-basins (sinks) per gender. That could be a bit more, but apparently there's no space for that in the current building. And investing in more toilet/showerfacilities, well, that's too much asked, of course....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Grande Hytteutleige. We stayed in an alternative 3 cabin (number 8) and we loved it!! We had a long flight and then a long drive before we arrived in Geiranger and it was such a relief when we walked into our comfortable, spotless cabin. It was the perfect size for the two of us. It was always nice and quiet and we felt like we had a lot of privacy. We really enjoyed sitting on the porch and taking in the amazing view. The staff were also very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

When staying in Geiranger you either stay in Geiranger itself or 2,5 kms from Geiranger where Grande Hytteutleige is situated. When travelling by car I would clearly recommend to stay outside Geiranger as the views are much nicer (you see a larger part of the fjord and see Geiranger itself). There is a camping, an hotel and self catering cottages. You wake up in the morning, look outside, and see cruise ships passing by. In the evening you see them leaving and blow their horn in front of your cottage. Pretty impressive even if it is the 10th cruise ship in 3 days.

We booked a cottage (type 5, the more recent ones) next to the Geirangerfjord. The cottage is small but large enough for a family with 2 smaller children (I would prefer not to stay there with 4 adults). The kitchen was well equiped (everything is there, except for a dish washer – no big deal). Quality of the beds was good. Bathroom very small. There is a private terrace outside the cottage. Free wifi available but slow and not always performant.

The reception of Grande was efficient and friendly. Also the staff at their boat/kajak rental took the time to explain the kayak (even if there is not much to explain) and gave some safety warnings as there was quite a lot of “traffic” in the fjord. Overall a great experience. Value for money (to Norwegian standards).

The cottage is excellent for a few days stay and is a good base to visit the region where there are plenty of things to do.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 12. Right next to a playground. Easy to park the car as well (about 10 meters fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank koen75koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geiranger hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
349 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hole Hytteutleige
Hole Hytteutleige
#6 of 14 in Geiranger
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geirangerfjorden Feriesenter
0.6 mi away
Fjorden Campinghytter
Fjorden Campinghytter
#10 of 14 in Geiranger
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hytteutleige og Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hytteutleige og Camping

Address: Grande, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Geiranger
Price Range: $123 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hytteutleige og Camping 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Hytteutleige and Camping lies in a quiet and idyllic location close to the Geirangerfjord, with fantastic views of the mountains and the fjord. Grande Hytteutleige and Camping offers a total of 16 cabins of high standard, from 28 and up to 40 square metres. The cabins are equipped with TV and cable, and we can supply extra beds and children's beds. All cabins with porch furnished with table and chairs. The newest cabins were built in 2009. The camping area for tents, mobile homes and caravans is adjacent to the water's edge. We also have shower and toilet facilities which are open 24 hours a day. Guest moorings are available if you wish to bring your own boat. WLAN are available in all cabins and at the camping site. We also have motorboats, kayaks, boat taxi and guided fishing trips directly from the camping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grande Hytteutleige og Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing