We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic!!!”
Review of Geiranger Fjord

Geiranger Fjord
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Geiranger
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Majestic!!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A place to put on your Bucket list :)

Recommendations:
Take the ferry from Hellefjord to Geiranger
May-June or September-October ( less tourists)
Visit Geiarnger Sjokolade: "Welcome to the worlds first chocolatefactory in a old boathouse. Where you used to store the boat is where we now produce delicious handmade chocolates. We use high quality couverture chocolate that we mix with the flavours of Norway, like the famous browncheese."

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tatjana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,808
    220
    45
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
597 reviews
266 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Scenically the Best of the 5 Ports Visited”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We saw Geiranger on day 5 of a 7 day cruise on Brilliance of the Seas (RC). As my husband wrote in his travel letter, 'THIS is what one comes to Norway for'. Getting in to someplace as small and remote as Geiranger is perhaps one of the only reasons we chose to cruise Norway rather than saving it to discover by 'road trip' after we retire next year. It was beautiful from early-early when the lights from all the little towns glimmer on the hillside to your final views, leaving in the evening. Logistic-wise, this is the only port the cruise boats used tenders, which probably kept SOME of the cruise boat 'schlock' from deporting. It was difficult, unless you walked far out of town, to get away from them. we took a light lunch (from our breakfast buffet offerings) and a bottle of wine and trekked to the far side of the fjord as far as the road went (be certain to take t.p. as there are no toilets other than the crowded ones in town near the dock). We also took the (private) ferry cruise up the fjord and back (recommended, although you should book once you're OFF the cruise ship, as it's cheaper) and finally, the bus up to Dalsnibble and Flydalsjuvet overlooks (again, book immediately on getting to the dock rather than through the prearranged cruise tour). This is NOT a port for 'shop-a-holics' or 'city-sites', but for people who truly appreciate nature at her most grand!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Fantastic cruise from Hellesylt to Geiranger on the Geirangerfjord. One of the most beautiful places I have had the blessing to visit. The cruise with the commentary from the guide was a wonderful way to experience this stunning creation. The boat stopped at Geiranger and we had the opportunity to explore the town for a couple of hours before returning to Hellesylt. I cannot recommend it more highly.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Minnesota_girl55104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius County, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Easter Ever”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Early April, when the entire area is still covered in snow is simply amazing. We drove by car from Oslo til the final stop for the Easter night in the fjord and were simply overwhelmed by the beauty of nature. Easter breakfast in a hut on the shore, fishing and some motor boat cruising in the fjord was simply amazing.
Even though it was already April, it was still could and there were some roads still cover with snow, so be prepared with some alternative routing, what took us at least 300km extra and 2 ferries to get to the fjord, but it is more then worth it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank nerinnho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Norway-001-Geiranger: Is it real?”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Oh My Gosh! It was so beautiful!!!! We came by cruise ship in early July and entered the fjord at around 6am, we woke up at half 5 just to watch the beautiful scenes. We went past the seven sisters and then we saw our first glimpse of paradise! It was magical!!! I just stood there frozen, gaping at the wonderful fjords and mountains around me. We got off the ship and went to find the tourist information centre. They told us to get a bus to see the views in Geiranger so we found a hop-on hop-off bus around the area. We stopped off at a waterfall high in the mountains which would eventually lead back down to the fjord. Apparently, a fjord is very deep more than 70m deep! Our second stop was the highest point of the mountain and we could see when it wasn't so foggy where our massive ship was moored. Then we went to a museum but we didn't go in. We then returned to the bottom of the mountain. On our descending journey, we saw some snow at the top of the mountains so it wasn't that warm. As we left Gerianger, it was the best view I had ever experienced in my life...I would most certaintly visit again - the people there are very friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnCC448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geiranger Fjord also viewed

 

Been to Geiranger Fjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing