We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best hotel in Geiranger!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotell Utsikten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotell Utsikten
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Simply the best hotel in Geiranger!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Initially was a bit sceptical for thus hotel due to location slightly outside town, but didn't have much choice due to low availability in high season. It turned out to a great decision. Few key reasons you should only stay here:
1. character: unlike other hotels in town, this has lot of character which is visible in the building and location. It us nit run of the mill ohitel that hosts hig tour groups. Hence not noisy.
2. Location: doesnt get better than this, views are just amazing, very close to most if the hikes. Great view from lobby while you have your drinks or eve meal.You can just leave car in hotel parking and start your hike from here itself. Plus it is away from town, so you are not troubled by day crowd, at the same time not to far away to go down for a quik meal, just about 3-4 km. Parking can be a but challenging if the hotel is full, but then you can always find a sace. They are not too fussy about parking perfectly in slots.
3. Staff: always very pleasant, eager to help and guide. I couldn't find vacancy through bookings.com. Rang them up and they confirmed room on the phone and email. On the day of arrival requested for veg options, and request was catered for.

You would need a car if you are staying here. Breakfast was ok enough to get you started.
Although one would tend to go for fjord facing room, but considering you will be out soaking some mind blowing scenery all day, garden facing room will be good enough, esp due to low noise.
Just one slight negative- rooms were a tad small in size. But thats not a major issue.

All in all, best place to stay, ticks all key boxes. Don't look for any other options.just go for it!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    50
    30
    14
    4
See reviews for
31
72
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night and had a room with seaview.
The view was something that you just have to see for your self, and can't be described with letters.

The staff was nice and helpful, but the hotel was a old and not "up to date".
The hotel was maybe renovated in the beginning of the 2000, and you can see that this is over 13 years ago.
Anyway the hotel was clean.

We had the dinner in the hotel restaurant. Good food and with the same view this is not a bad choice.

Room Tip: Take the seaview! If you need to have it quite in the morning, take the garden room. The seaveiw r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

But can be noisy. We waited until the last minute to book and the only road available overlooked the road into town, so there was constant traffic. It was very hot with the summer sun coming in, but we wanted the windows closed against the noise. The staff did provide a fan. It's a lovely, old building- our room was pretty dated and very small. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant - we were here on a Saturday and only 1 or 2 couples seemed to be in the dining room. We had a snack in the lounge - still over $ 50 with a beer each. Parking was easy. No elevators, so we had to lug our luggage up from the ground floor in the back to the 2nd floor. Breakfast buffet was very good.

Room Tip: Views from the front are gorgeous, but if you want relative quiet, go to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Geiranger, although highly rated in all guide books for the amazing fjord views, in our opinion is not the nicest place to overnight. The view from Dalsnibba and kayaking on the Geiranger are breathtaking, but the town itself is a pure tourist invention - there is no local population and prices are accordingly high.
The Villa Utskiten was a good choice, both for its location set high up on the hill with a great view of the fjord, but also for price for value in this expensive town. Service was good, breakfast was great, and the rooms were clean. The rooms were a little small and furniture / bathroom were a bit dated.

Room Tip: We had a room with a fjord view and very much enjoyed this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We drove here from Lillehammer area then took the ferry toward a town that eventually put us en route to Bergen, and this area and this hotel were one of the highlights of the trip. Don't stay here if you are afraid of heights, you are more or less on the cliff. The rooms are not that large. Parking is a bit of an affair on the slopey roads and parking lot, the hotel does not offer every service, and the front desk is sort of business-like. But if you goal is spectacular views in a spectacular setting, and the idea of sitting on a balcony and watching the waterfalls and such is your cup of tea, this is the place for you. Geirangerfjord is magical and this place helps you enjoy that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

100+ year old hotel located above Geiranger. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice old black and white photos show the old days of the hotel and the region. Good breakfast. The rooms were very small, however, we had a great view of the Geiranger fjord. No elevator. Overall a bit expensive but with lovely views of the fjord.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the fjord!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quasar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Not a lot I can add to previous reviews, but if you get a room with "The View" then you'll find this hotel worth it. The parking area is not massive but as I had no problems I'm not going to complain about that. The food is excellent, don't miss out on dinner here. OK the tour buses are constantly passing by the windows but hey, the road runs right by the hotel - where are they supposed to go? Location wise this hotel is out of the very touristy Geiranger, which is good and is within walking distance of Flydalsjuvet.
Worth staying here to tick the box for "The View".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drr0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
0.5 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
11.6 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Petrines Guesthouse
Petrines Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Norddal Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
4.6 mi away
Djupvasshytta
Djupvasshytta
#2 of 15 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Utsikten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Utsikten

Property: Hotell Utsikten
Address: 6216 Geiranger, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell Utsikten 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotell Utsikten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing