We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Of Tuscany”
Review of Villa il Poggio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa il Poggio
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sinalunga
Byron Center, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Best Of Tuscany”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This wonderful B&B run by Elizabetta and her daughter should be on a list for must stays while visiting the Tuscany area. Centrally located to many great villages and sites. The Villa itself has fantastic views of the countryside. There are several of the best places to eat in Tuscany within 5 minutes of the villa. Make sure you get an apartment we where there on a cool day and Elizabetta changed our rooms (no heat) to a two bedroom apartment which was wondeful - thanks !!!

Room Tip: Any of the apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ral425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    20
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have been coming to Tuscany for years, usually to different places, however for the last few years we have been staying only at villa il Poggio. It has all one needs for perfect holidays: old, Tuscan house with lots of charm and character, a large pool with classic views of rolling hills and cypress trees, and a great host, Elisabetta, who can prepare light or hearty Tuscan breakfast to your liking (try fresh tomatoes from her garden, what a flavour!) All of this for quite a reasonable rate as for Tuscany. This is probably due to Sinalunga’s image as less charming than other villages nearby. This is only partially true. Yes, the town is uninspiring but villa il Poggio is actually outside of town on a hill with unspoiled views and quiet. You need a car, but Sinalunga itself is not so bad either, there are number of good restaurant in the old town, while a drive to picture-perfect Pienza, Montepulciano or Luciniano takes between 10-20 minutes (and what a drive it is!). In fact Sinalunga seems to have perfect location for exploring Tuscany – half way between Cortona and Sienna (half an hour drive to each), Arezzo and Val d’Orcia are also within easy drive. Thanks to a highway being close by, after an hour you are in Florence. In any case, Villa in Poggio is a place we certainly will be coming back to.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Villa il Poggio, in this inspiring tuscany villa run by a super nice Elisabetta, who made us great breakfast and gave us useful advice to discover the wonders of tuscany!
From this place you can easily visit the nicest places of the region : Montepulciano, Montalcino and of course Siena are perfectly accessible from there. But you can as well stay at the villa and relax by the beuatiful pool with acharming view on the country.

We will surely be back!!

Edouard & Elsa (France)

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elsa2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We were planning to go to Toscana for quite a long time and eventually, when we had a chance, we headed to Villa il Poggio, which turned out a great choice!
Superb villa, a great house with an authentic history became our wonderful retreat for 2 weeks. We enjoyed everything: staying in our room, spending time in a great garden, strolling around
Elisabetta - is a great host, always ready to help and give an advice for those searching for a good food and hidden places to visit.
We definitely plan to come back and stay for a longer period.
Sergei, Sonia and Svetlana
Moscow

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

very old and charming villa. haven't seen such a place before. elisabetta is a friendly and great host! we had a very nice room with a good view (room "verde"). the apartments look very comfortable as well. fantastic pool and garden for recreation. good breakfast, as you get extra-things if you ask (fruits, cheese). otherwise it's a simple italien-breakfast.
a high recommondation!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViennaKaethy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We enjoyed a very nice two weeks at this place, with our family of 2 parents, a boy aged 7, and a girl aged 14. A wonderful spot, close to a not so exciting village.
Elizabetta gave us a very welcoming stay. There is a lovely and clean swimming pool, with a nice view on the surrounding landscape. As there are usually not too many guests, you can have the pool to yourself very often.
It is an excellent spot from where to visit many highlights of Tuscany and Umbria. In the mornings you can get your culture shot, and treat the kids with a swimming pool in the afternoon, turned out to a great concept.
We stayed in the apartment Rosmarino. It is small, but well accomodated. The bedrooms are dark, but this also means that the nights are cool!
Elizabetta also has some great hotel rooms, in an original style, so if you are only planning to stay for a few nights, we would recommend you this choice.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain_Cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

I have mixed views when writing this review and will attempt to write a balanced review. My wife and I stayed at property from 4/8/07 to 11/8/07 drove from Rome ciampino perfect directions by tom tom sat-nav. We stayed in the apartment mansarda which is the cheapest apartment available in the property. On arrival whils't trying to find Elizabetta the owner/cleaner/ garderner well she does everything was met by Wilma the owners German Shepherd barking and protecting her property as she is supposed to. She is a friendly dog but a bit scary running at you barking for the first time. The apartment mansarda was clean and the main room as shown on property website, always dark but that comes with this type of property, keeps the rooms cool without the need for air-conditioning. The aparment has 2 bedrooms, one of them clearly meant for children, lots of old toys,dolls etc in my opinion, very creepy, my wife would not go in the room. Our bedroom had a comfortable bed a little squeeky maybe but O.K there was a hanging rail for clothes, my wife would not use the drawers as she stated that they smelt a bit funny. The bathroom had toilet, bidet, sink and shower, unfortunately the shower had a sliding door to enter, however being a bit on the large size it was a tight squeeze to get in. The + side to this property as shown in the photographs are the ground and swimming pool, this was wonderfull, it was very peaceful with few other people about and those only wanted peace and quiet. Would I go back to the apartment. not to that apartment and as i never saw the other apartments probably not.

  • Liked — pool and views
  • Disliked — small showere and 2nd bedroom
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dfi5926143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinalunga
0.8 mi away
Locanda dell'Amorosa
Locanda dell'Amorosa
#2 of 5 in Sinalunga
400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Apogeo
Hotel Apogeo
#1 of 1 in Bettolle
133 reviews
2.7 mi away
Albergo la Foresteria
Albergo la Foresteria
#1 of 5 in Sinalunga
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santorotto
Hotel Santorotto
#5 of 5 in Sinalunga
59 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Forum
Hotel Forum
#3 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
159 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Bandita Hotel Siena
La Bandita Hotel Siena
#1 of 3 in Bettolle
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggio

Property: Villa il Poggio
Address: Via del Poggio, 316, 53048, Sinalunga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sinalunga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sinalunga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To spend time at Villa Il Poggio, in the heart of Tuscany, is to discover one's very roots. The ties with the past have never been cut. It can be felt in every wall of the villa, which, from its hilltop position, has dominated the surrounding countryside since the thirteenth century. Villa Il Poggio is proud and centuries old like the cypress trees that surround it. You arrive as a guest and leave as a friend, with a strong desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa il Poggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Poggio
Villa Il Poggio Sinalunga, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing