We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable holiday”
Review of Villa Vignacce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Vignacce
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We absolutely loved Villa Vignacce! The apartments are cozy and perfect. The garden is massive and beautiful, I enjoyed sunbathing, reading and going for a stroll. I felt so relaxed after this holiday, I really want to go back!! The people were ever so friendly too, so lovely and helpful. The dishes we had were yummy, we were offered a range of delicious and traditional local foods. The location is marvelous too as it's close to the great Tuscan cities but you still feel like you're far away from everything... it really is paradise on earth for me! I'm definitely going back since I want to enjoy another blissful holiday and Villa Vignacce offers just that.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 74 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

Perhaps our expectations of villa Vignacce were too high. We read many of the reviews on tripadvisor and were hoping for a magical, relaxing stay. Unfortunately the reality was far from this. In fact it was so bad that we cut short our 5 night stay to 4 nights (couldn't stand another night / no refund)
To set the scene we were in tuscany in June -a very hot time of year.
The place is almost impossible to find. The address given to us by he hotel does not exist in google maps and the 'coordinates' provided would have placed us in the middle of the ocean. After driving around for an hour we called villa Vignacce for directions (very frustrating but eventually arrived at the villa).
The Vila itself is very basic and quite frankly needs a good clean (especially the kitchen and everything in it). Also before you book make sure that you are aware that there is no Air conditioning as the villas get extremely hot during the day. This was a big issue for us as there is also a major issue with mosqitos at the villa. On our first night the villa was steaming hot, we opened up the windows to let light and some much needed air in but unfortunately the mosquitos crawled through and around the fly screen and we were eaten alive. I was so upset I went to see the host who begrudgingly gave me some citronella spray. This was fine but not my idea of relaxing or an exceptable solution.
The second major issue was with the shower. 2 temperatures boiling hot and freezing cold (even if you have not touched the temperature dial). Be careful if you have children as the hot water will actually burn your skin.
The third and worst issue by far was the garbage smell. There is obviously an issue at the villa with grabage disposal and if we had any windows open in the villa we would get an overwhelming smell of rotting garbage which would infiltrate the entire villa. It was extremely vial and meant we could never get any air circulation (or ventilation in the bathroom!).
The garbage smell + incredible heat + killer Mosquitos + no aircon meant that our stay was incredibly uncomfortable. In hind sight we should have left after the first night but we kept telling ourselves that it wasn't that bad.  On reflection it was that bad. You have to pay cash upfront (dodgy!) so no opportunity for a refund, so this turned out to be an expensive mistake for us.. Perhaps in the colder months the villas might be more comfortable but our stay was truly awful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnaBananna1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear Mrs Coniglio

It is very sad for us to read your review as our goal is guest satisfaction however sometimes it is not possible as in your case.

Please find below reply to your comments:

1- House coordinates

We have been on Hotel Business for 10 years during all these years we have been never reported about this problem. Thanks to our position at only 5km from A1 and at only 5 min walking from the village of Bettolle make our place very easy to find by everyone.
However in your case it seams that it was difficult for you to find us,so If you wish to send to us an email explaining what was wrong in the directions provided we will be happy to improve them.

2- About Cleaning.

I am very sorry to ear that you found the kitchen not clean. This comment it is surprising as I personally double check all the apartments when cleaning lady have finished.

However if you had report to me about this problem I would of course have called the cleaning lady immediately to re clean the kitchen again.


3- Air conditioning

We do not advertise the house as Air conditioning Villa and it is not needed.

However the week you have been here it has been the hottest week in 50 Years in Tuscany.

4-Mosquito

Mosquito as in most places all over the world they are an issue in summer.

Tuscany as many places in the world face mosquito issue in summer.

We do our best to solve this problem, as you know the apartment where you slept has nets on the windows. It is enough to keep the net down to avoid mosquito problem. However if Mosquito is a big issue for you, probably Tuscany it is not your place for holidays.

5-Shower

I am very sorry to ear that the shower was not working properly and you had problem with hot water. However these things may happens in hotels and we could have fixed immediately if you had reported the problem with the maintenance service that we have at Villa Vignacce.

6-Garbage smell

About the smell this is because you haven´t never clean your garbage. When we have cleaned your apartment after you left we faund many garbage bags inside.
As you know you were renting a self catering apartment it is your responsibility to trash the garbage in the bin out side the villa when the one in the house is full.

7- About Payments.
I do not understand this complain as you never report any problem during your stay, never ask for a refund and you left the apartment without saying good buy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have traveled most of the world but have never been anywhere lovelier than Villa Vignacce. The apartments are amazing and the grounds even more so with every kind of fruit tree and flower....not to mention the 18th century architecture. Best of all is the hospitality of AnnaLicia. Bettolle is a very convenient location for exploring Tuscany and Umbria...although the best part of most days was when we returned to the Villa. We can't say enough good things about our week here!

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Pattinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

The location and the hospitality are amazing friendly,you feel almost immediately at ease,it is a beautiful and romantic place situated in a garden full off beautiful flowers and trees...The family is great in offering the most delicious Tuscan dishes..It is very close to great Tuscan cities as Firenze Siena .Arezzo ,and Cortona,what we liked most! We came there several years and have recommended the place many times to our friends! You just have to experience it yourself !

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annemiekruijgrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed at Le Vignacce with our little 2 year old son and we all fell in love with the place. It is fantastic, quiet, in one of the most beautiful valleys of the entire planet. The owners are lovely people, extremely friendly and accomodating. The facility is just how you would think of a Tuscany villa, recenlty renovated, with beautiful finishes. If you are looking for a place where to spend you Tuscan holidays with your family, this is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amicimiei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

This suprise trip to Italy, a gift for my birthday, as well as the birthday of a dear friend was more wonderful than I could ever dream, and our stay at Villa Vingacce was at the heart of, and the best part of, our whole trip.
Our hostess, Annalicia has made a wonderful, welcoming place to call home while visiting Italy, and though I thoroughly enjoyed travelling about the many nearby towns of Tuscany, It was delightful to come home to the peace and loveliness of Vignacce. Our doors opened into a beautiful cloistered garden, bursting with colourful flowers, and set with tables for enjoying our meals al fresco. We rarely shut our doors, and when the windows of our room were opened as well, we were afforded a lovely breeze and a view of Cortona off in the distance. More than once we were invited to help ourselves to the fresh goods from the gardens; lettuces, herbs and plums were currently available; and we did so quite often, making use of our small but very efficient kitchen to create simple meals at "home". Our most relaxing days centered around the back garden and orchard acreage, where an exquisitly clean swimming pool, fresh towels, and padded deck chairs waited for us, all surrounded, again, by beautifully maintained flowers and trees. It was a perfect place for strolling around and daydreaming, or snoozing in the sun. Annalicia suprised me with a wonderful tiramisu for my birthday, as well as a lovely bouquet of roses from her gardens. She was most helpful in giving us ideas for day trips and restaurants to try, and even brought us eggs, fresh from her chickens for breakfast. The two rooms of our suite were spacious and clean, the furnishings quaint, comfortable and homey. We were tickled by the occational visit of the house dog, Billy, who would amble in our door, then look around for a pat on the head before falling asleep at our feet as we played cards and sipped wine in the evenings.
Villa Vignacce is an easy stroll into the town of Bettoli, where we'd walk for fresh bread and cheese each morning, and there are several small eateries to try; one restaurant in particular, Walter's, just two doors down the street, was especially lovely. A very short drive will bring you to a larger grocery store, should you need it, and the Autostrata (sp?) is just minutes away for day trips to other towns.
All in all, our time with our friends at Villa Vignacce was all that a vacation should be and more-- a lovely retreat for rest and relaxation, a starting point for little adventures, and a most gracious hostess, who greets you daily with a warm heart and sweet smile.
Thank you forever, Annalicia
Love, Sheila

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sb23FountainHills_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Arriving at the Villa by car, we walked into the courtyard where we were greeted by the hostess. The Villa has a authentic Tuscan charm with the courtyard surround by original buildings dating back a number of centuries maintained in good condition. The Villa has a well provided kitchen, delightful living room complete with a fireplace and comfortable bedrooms with an ensuite.

Wandering through the garden to the pool, there were a numerous fruit trees including fig trees which were in season - nothing beats picking and eating fresh figs!

The pool was a good size and made for a relaxing afternoon swimming or reading (and sleeping) on the sun beds.

There are numerous choices for local towns to visit and the hostess was very helpful in providing local advice on the best places to visit and restaurants to dine.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjroger4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sinalunga hotels
5.6 mi away
Podere Pievina
Podere Pievina
#1 of 2 in Farnetella
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apogeo
Hotel Apogeo
#1 of 1 in Bettolle
158 reviews
6.9 mi away
La Paterna di Rigomagno
La Paterna di Rigomagno
#3 of 4 in Rigomagno
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Santorotto
Hotel Santorotto
#5 of 5 in Sinalunga
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relais Montemaggiore
Relais Montemaggiore
#3 of 3 in Bettolle
20 reviews
3.4 mi away
Locanda dell'Amorosa
Locanda dell'Amorosa
#2 of 5 in Sinalunga
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vignacce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vignacce

Address: Localita Vignacce 6, 53048, Sinalunga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sinalunga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sinalunga
Price Range: $89 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Vignacce is a charming villa with swimming pool located close to Sinalunga in Tuscany. Villa Vignacce is divided in 3 charming apartments for 2 up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Villa Vignacce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Vignacce Sinalunga, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing