We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place ever!!!!!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Villa Scopetello
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Scopetello
Award Winning Villa Scopetello Swimming Pool with Pergolas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Villa Scopetello
Award Winning Villa Scopetello
Swimming Pool with Pergolas
Swimming Pool with views to Sinalunga
Swimming pool
Brand New Tennis court done in 2016!
Tennis Court and Football field
Back Patio with large table and Pergola
Back Patio with views to Sinalunga
Back Patio
Hanging chars in the garden with views to the countryside
Back Garden with the 'secret' barrel for cosy snoozes
Back Patio
Main Entrance
Living room upstairs with the large open fireplace
Living room upstairs with dining area. Seats easily everybody and is perfect to celebrate together
Kitchen upstairs
Kitchen upstairs
Kitchen downstairs
Billiards table upstairs
Living room downstairs
We always have lots of toys for our youngest guests and all ages!
Bedroom downstairs
Master Bedroom upstairs
Master Bedroom upstairs
Master Bathroom
Double bedroom upstairs
Bathroom with large walk in shower upstairs
Bathroom downstairs
Bathroom with bath tub and shower combination upstairs
Double bedroom downstairs
Room with two singles upstairs
Double Bedroom downstairs
Double Bedroom upstairs
Elevator which leads from downstairs corridor to upstairs kitchen
Single bedroom
Garden views
View out of the bedroom upstairs
View out of the upstairs living room to Sinalunga
Small terrace at the downstairs kitchen with views to the countryside
path in the garden up to the swimming pool
Our slide and climbing place for the kids
At the back patio seating area
Weddings at Villa Scopetello
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
12 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Sinalunga, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Linda_Bud...
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Best place ever!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My husband and me spent 6 unforgettable nights at Villa Scopetello this September. Unfortunately it seemed to be quite short time, as I would stay here forever! The property is easily accessible by car from the motorway, in the city you can get anything you need and you will be close to any of Tuscany’s charming places. The Villa is very nice, the surrounding is peaceful, and the landscape is gorgeous! Sonja and Michael are the very best hosts ever providing advices, sharing experiences and wine with you. In case you are looking for alternative programs Sonja and Michael are also able to suggest you special places to visit. But also at the Villa there are everything available what you might need during your stay from excellent WiFi to tennis rackets, swimming pool to lovely animals, spices and other ingredients for cooking, DVDs, table games, hammock, aqua fitness equipment and more!

Truly the first place looks even better in reality than on pictures! Wish to return soon!

Sonja, Michael, thanks again we were able to stay at the Villa! Unforgettable experience! ☺

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool and hammock
Liked least: there was none!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariner1n...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Our best Villa holiday yet”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our large family take a villa holiday every two years and this was our fifth so far having visited villas in Spain (2), France and Cyprus to date. However, without question Villa Scopetello provided us with our best holiday yet. The villa is superb and our hosts Sonja and Michael could not do enough to help us. They did a welcome meal, a pizza evening, as well as provided a fantastis 8-course meal for my mother's 70th birthday. The food was outstanding. We were also given some excellent restaurant recommendations by Michael and Sonja. The Villa is immaculate, has a very nice pool and tennis court which were well used throughout and is in a great location to explore Tuscany. Michael is an expert on the Palio horse race and I would recommend anyone thinking of visisting Siena for the great race to use the Villa as a base. In short, you can't get better than this for a villa holiday and that is great credit to the hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa and the hosts
Liked least: Don't eat in Sinalunga but take Michael and Sonja's recommendations
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gypseeker...
California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Most Beautiful Place on Earth”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

Have you ever seen "Under the Tuscan Sun" and dreamed of a lazy afternoon in a Tuscan Villa filled with wine and rolling vistas? Look no further than Villa Scopetello. Sonja and Michael are amazingly accommodating and the villa itself is far more charming than the photos convey. First of all, the villa is huge and can accommodate you your entire extended family or executive group or empty nester group without feeling like you are all on top of each other. The bedrooms and public areas are well positioned to make it feel like you have the place to yourself no matter how many are with you. The view of the town of Sinalunga (a small Tuscan town that makes you really feel like you're in Italy) is unsurpassed, and the sunsets are absolutely gorgeous. We took several strolls around the property and beyond and went mushroom hunting, found porcupine quills, and enjoyed the scent of the neighboring vineyards. It has been nearly a year since our visit and I still dream of it. We will be back. Do not hesitate for even a moment as others will likely snag this amazing opportunity. You will not regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel B
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly amazing place”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Better than I ever imagined. Stunning views, beautiful house, knowledgeable, friendly and extremely helpful hosts. A holiday to remember and to return again. The location is great for local villages, famous for pecorino or great wine. Beautiful scenery wherever you go. The villa made it hard to leave, we had great days by the pool, playing tennis, cooking wonderful meals and just soaking up the atmosphere of this amazing place. Sonja and Michael were great, organising a bus transfer for us from Rome, hire cars and a welcome buffet meant our arrival was easy and stress free. One night we made your own pizzas and Michael cooked them in the pizza oven, which was great fun for children and adults! The highlight was a superb meal they prepared for my mother's birthday. The care and attention they lavished on us made it a truly magical experience and the perfect end to a very special day. Thank you to Sonja and Michael for making this the best holiday we have ever had, and one we would definitely love to experience again!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its just a stunning place for a large family to enjoy being together
Liked least: More loungers required
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan h
Elmira, New York
1 review
“Family memories in beautiful Tuscany!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

It's been over a year since our fantastic family holiday in Tuscany, but when the opportunity came up to review our stay at Villa Scopetello, I had to jump at the chance! So many great memories came flooding back that it is hard to choose just a few, but I'll do my best.

First let me say that I was slightly unsure about traveling abroad with our young family; at the time of our trip our daughter was five and our son just 2 1/2. Not having traveled outside the US with our kids, I was unsure what kind of accommodations we would find in the Villa and would we all be comfortable there. I quickly learned that I had nothing to be concerned about. Sonja and Michael could not have done a single thing to make our stay there more inviting, right down to the stroller, "pack and play" sleeper, and teddy bear they had waiting for our son. It was as if we had come home.

As for the Villa itself, it had a perfect layout for our entire 15 person party with room to spare. Our (four person) portion of the party was actually able to stay in one of the downstairs wings, giving each of our children their own room and giving us two bathrooms to operate with in that area of the villa. It was like we had our own suite. The rest of our extended family had a similar experience with ample space to spread out, relax, and have privacy away from the other groups if it was desired.

The two kitchen areas in the villa made it easy to prepare meals with plenty of the necessary kitchen items needed to prepare meals for large groups. Sonja and Michael also assisted us with our desire to eat in different areas inside the villa and outside on the grounds, by my count we used a total nine different locations where we dined and enjoyed the Tuscan wines during during our two week stay. Also included were of course the cool TV, bar, and game room areas. Since it didn't rain the whole two weeks and the weather was so great we didn't use these much, but I definitely could see how they would enhance the stay.

The grounds at Villa Scopetello were beautiful and well cared for, despite the fact that there was a drought during our stay, Michael did all he could to make sure we had access to every available item on its working farm. The children loved petting the horses and checking in on the chickens with their little chicks every evening. Sonja gave us free reign to use the garden and take any of the fresh herbs and veggies we wanted to help prep. our evening meals. Walks through the nearby sunflower fields are a must, talk about awesome photo opportunities! In addition to the farm aspect of the villa we also enjoyed the large in-ground pool and the tennis/soccer (football) field. Every afternoon was consumed by long swims in the pool and a round of soccer or tennis with the kids after our day trips.

The location of Villa Scopetello was one of its best features; we found it easy to pick nearby destinations to explore everyday . Wineries, historic Tuscan hill towns, street markets, and fabulous local eateries were mere minutes away by car and if you didn't know where to find them, Michael would help you out.

To say much more about Villa Scopetello would be pure bragging, not because I have a stake in the game, but just because I can say I've had the pleasure of staying there and getting to know the hosts, Sonja and Michael. They truly are a gracious couple and the property is absolutely beautiful. A total must see and do!

- Dan H. (Finger Lakes region, New York)

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The fact that we felt like it was home, not just a hotel.
Liked least: Really, that is impossible to answer.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryStanf...
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Looking for large, well appointed villa in Italy for large group in great location? Look no further!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

We were a group of 20 friends celebrating a 50th birthday. After researching dozens of places, we decided on Scopetello. It was absolutely wonderful for our needs. From the lovely dinners prepared by our hosts to the bedroom and bed configurations, outdoor dining space, views, pool, tennis court, treehouse (we had one child, a 5 yr old) and location very near Pienza, Montcalcino, Siena and many more wonderful day trips. Our hosts also arranged a fun wine tour one day. The sunsets are so lovely, they inspired a marriage proposal! Easily accessed from Rome by short train ride then car rental. Highly recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan B
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience, Amazing People, Amazing Tuscany”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in Villa Scopetello with my large extended family of 15 (11 adults, 4 yourng children) in July 2012. We had the whole Villa, meaning both the upstairs and downstairs. As a town, Sinalunga is fairly centrally located in Tuscany if you wish to travel by autombile to almost anywhere in tuscany. Each morning our group would disperse to smaller groups and make day trips (sometimes overnight) to other towns / cities and typically be home in time for a nice dinner as a family.

Sonja and Michael are extremely gracious hosts. They will plan absolutely anything for you and WILL NOT STEER YOU WRONG. Michael happened to know of a group of German tourists in the area and tried to set up a soccer (football) match between our group and theirs. In the end, the schedules didn't work out, but the point is they are always looking for way to enhance your experience. Michael also gave us a guided tour of the Palio di Siena. If you have the opportunity, do not miss out on that. He is an expert.

The Villa itself is unreal. My family, with a strong love of food, was partial to the two kitchens. We spent a lot of time cooking and enjoying eachothers company over meals. We ate meals in a different part of the property every night. By the pool, under the olive trees, overlooking the sunflower field, etc. The beauty never ends. Don't miss out on the opportunity for Sonja to cook for you. She is an expert around the kitchen. I highly recommend a pizza night in the ancient brick oven as well!

We travelled with 4 children, ages 6 and younger. There is certainly plenty for the kids on the property. For starters, the pool and tennis court are a great way for the kids to unwind after the adults drag them around tuscany exploring cities and wine. Sonja is always willing to bring the kids around to see the chickens (or newborn chickies if your lucky) and horses. Or just talk a walk through the nearby Sunflower field and vineyard. Atheltic travelers can run through the vineyards up to the clocktower as well. I suggest running until you get lost, and then running on, if you are adventurous.

I'm loving writing this review for Sonja and Michael whom we regularly keep in contact with and consider friends. I'm reliving my vacation as I sit here! I'm probably forgetting a bunch of stuff, but please take my word for it, Villa Scopetello is your way to an Amazing Tuscan experience.

Oh yeah....as Michael and Sonja about meeting the old boy's for a wine tour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous setting.
Liked least: There is nothing not to love
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing