We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited in July 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo la Foresteria
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinalunga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Small budget hotel, family run business, amazing family touch, it was beautiful. Stayed overnight on way to Florence from Rome.
It was one of the best breakfast we had on the trip - family kitchen, really personal touch, very nice to have experienced countryside hospitality on the road trip. If u r after a posh five star feel, don't go there...
Would make for a nice weekend getaway during winters especially (our trip was in Italian summer!)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 192 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stopped just for one night on our way from Calabria to Venezia. Arrived almost at midnight. But we were welcomed like at home with honest care. Breakfast exceeded any expectations. Try their local food, produced right in Foresteria! I know where to stop next time.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Arturas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel, as a base to explore some of the Hill Towns and some other attractions, as we drove from northern Italy into Rome. The hotel is very well located, almost at the intersection between the superstrada Siena-Perugia, and the autostrada Milano/Roma. Within an hour drive ratio, you can visit such places as Montepulciano, Pienza, Perugia, Assisi, Siena, Orvieto, San Gimignano, Chianciano Terme, and even Florence.
It is a family run hotel and restaurant. Service was excellent. The first day we arrived around 5 pm, so we decided to do some shopping in the Valdichiana Outlet Village nearby. Since access to the hotel is a bit confusing the first time, they actually guided us to the very parking lot of the Mall.
Having read other reviews from TA, we decided to give the restaurant a try that evening. Tuscan dishes were so great that we knew we were having dinner there again the following day. Giorgia, our waitress, was very kind and helpful explaining the menu, and advising on our order.
Even though it is located near a main road, it is not very noisy, and the rooms have been acoustically isolated. We had a very nice rest.
Breakfast is included, and they serve express coffee, homemade pies, and some examples of the great local produce, such as Prosciutto, Pecorino cheese, or Tuscan Olive Oil.
Rafael, Antonella, Mario, and everybody at La Foresteria, thank you for making us feel at home!
Arrivederci!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the new rooms, and everything seemed brand new and good quality. They were also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valeria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We found this hotel because we needed a break driving back to Rome. What a find! This is a family run hotel, surprisingly modern and well appointed but with the feel of an Italian country home. Quiet, in the country, but near the village of Bettello and the town of Sinalunga. The owners couldn't have been more gracious. As other reviewers have said, it's not so easy to find. So we called the hotel and in a few minutes they were there to guide us. And the restaurant on the premises is a local favorite with good reason! True country Italian cooking in a very nice atmosphere. There should be more small hotels like this one!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BalmyLatitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a good stay and excellent food. Firstly the direction, as the hotel is hard to find. From Sinalunga on the “superstrada” in the direction of Siena, leave the highway on the height of AGIP fuel station. Behind the fuel station on a small hill stands the hotel, a bit lost in the countryside. A car is an absolute must when staying in the hotel.
The rooms are newly renovated, are spacious, simply but comfortably furnished, all are a/c equipped. Wifi connection is free and fast. The bathroom is clean, spacious and furnished with quality toiletries. We could not hear from our room noise from the super highway. The traditional restaurant serves regional food. All freshly prepared, slow cooking, with fresh products from the nearby farms. The quality is excellent. Especially on Sunday lunch time a reservation is required, as the restaurant is popular with the locals. The price level is attractive.
For breakfast homemade bread, croissants and various cakes were on offer. On demand eggs with lard and ham are prepared.
We appreciated the warm welcome by the owner who received us at our arrival with a glass of wine and some fresh fruits from the garden. When in the region, this place will be the place to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Albergo La Foresteria : TOP MARKS

I will list why this hidden gem remains our home on our yearly visits to Tuscany.

* Perfectly situated close to the autostrada/provincial highway for Tuscan and Umbrian excursions. All major attractions are within 30 minutes to 2 hours drive (Montalcino, Montepulciano, Assisi, Sienna, Gubbio, Chianto Road, Todi....on and on). Pump in the GPS or use your map for effortless excursions to the sights of these two regions.

* Clean, comfortable and restful accommodations to recuperate from daily excursions.

* Fuel station adjacent to hotel to keep your car rental ready for trips.

* The most fantastic pizza in Italy cooked lovingly by Raphael (who is from Naples). I personally have seen Raphael pick up ingredients daily, fresh from the market to create his masterpieces that range from 4-8 EURO.....simply incredible pizzas.

* Fine for solo, couple or family travellers....rooms of all types available.

* Complimentary breakfast in the morning with artisan cakes and pastries cooked fresh daily.

* Assistance from Raphael, Mario and Luca with local outlet mall shopping, wineries and tips on bargains locally. For example, Raphael called a local "Cantina" and we purchased the famous "Brunello" wines at wholesale prices.

* Again, returning to the menu. Extensive wine list, including a bargain "rosso" and "blanco" table wine that would shame most wine lists in America. Excellent Tuscan Fare that has affordable dishes with truffles and the famous "Fiorentini" steak.

* It is reassuring to stay in a place away from home where your security and safety is not an issue. This combined with a good sleep and delicious food, make for a stress free home away from home base.

Our family has travelled Italy 22 times in the last 20 years.......Albergo la Foresteria is our Tuscan pick over all others.

Safe Travels
Dale

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here only one night while transitioning from the Riviera to Toscana. We had slight difficulty locating as the GPS didn't have it quite correct. BUT, if you follow the hotel directions and look right behind the gas station on the hill - its just as they directed. Better to do this in daylight, FYI. We loved the hotel. Spotlessly clean, very friendly, three months old. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and help in any way. We were treated like family.
Bathroom was large, well designed and had a fantastic shower. Quiet area, felt really safe and couldn't be a better location for a homebase to explore villages during the day then to return to a great dinner, wonderful wine selections and owners really eager to please. We left knowing we had new friends in the owners and absolutely will stay there again. We have traveled extensively and expect high standards and service. They met our expectations and more.

Room Tip: It's a quiet area on a hill and although you can see the roadway all rooms would be nice. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoinTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinalunga
1.1 mi away
Hotel Forum
Hotel Forum
#2 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Apogeo
Hotel Apogeo
#1 of 1 in Bettolle
155 reviews
3 mi away
Locanda dell'Amorosa
Locanda dell'Amorosa
#2 of 5 in Sinalunga
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santorotto
Hotel Santorotto
#5 of 5 in Sinalunga
63 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa il Poggio
Villa il Poggio
#4 of 5 in Sinalunga
110 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel L'Imperatrice
Hotel L'Imperatrice
#3 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo la Foresteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo la Foresteria

Address: Via Boscolungo ,193 | Loc. Mulinelli, Raccordo Siena-Bettolle, 193, 53048, Sinalunga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sinalunga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinalunga
Price Range: $110 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo la Foresteria 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Foresteria, located in a central position as to the most beautiful art cities of the Tuscany and Umbria, offers a place for a very special holiday. Here it is possibile to relax yourself, in the calm of the surrouding country. The hotel is far only one km from Valdichiana tollgate and is situated in a hillock of Sinalunga town. Until few years ago it was the heart of a big factory, then a recent and accurated restoration transformed it in a welcoming holiday house which is divided in 16 rooms and three suites of very new construction. The restoration of the farmhouse, made under the direction of the architect Mietta, has been made keeping the same structural characteristics and its original charm…..walls made by stones and bricks, rafters, vaults, arches. The single rooms, with French bed, and the double rooms include Tv, heating, air conditioner, telephone, bath and fridge. Together to the services listed above the suites have also a living room, hairdryer and safe-deposit box. The price of the room includes also a really good breakfast with homemade cakes. The family running hotel places an excellent restaurant with typical Tuscan food at their guests’ disposal, a very good pizza house with wood-burning oven, a stock of a large choice of red Tuscan wines, bar, parking and a big garden where it is possible to stay to have dinner during the summer period. Everyone loves to rigenerate the body and the spirit and it is possible to do it in one of many thermal centres which can be reached in a few minutes by car from our hotel; really near there are swimming pools, golf, horse-riding centre, tennis, flying school and for shopping lovers we are far only one km from the new Valdichiana Villane Outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo la Foresteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo La Foresteria Sinalunga, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing