We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scansano
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We spend a pleasant week in one of the apartments in Borgo degli Ulivi.
Nice view, nice staff etc

But..
- the kitchen "area" (if you can call it like that) was really small.
- the bed in the living room incomfortable - my daughter had some problem sleeping on it.
- But the worst thing were the insects.. especially near the pool (I think it was due to the horses..).
- the prices in the restaurants a little too high. Very small portions (during the day in the bar at the swimmingpool) . It's a pity beacause the food is really good

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marghe_Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    261
    61
    18
    13
See reviews for
92
378
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
197 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

This is an excellent place. We had a room with a balcony, looking out over the valley. It was beautiful. The restaurant was excellent as was the service. Were we to be in the area again we would stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We stayed in the apartments beside the hotel. They are lovely, clean, and very suitable for us as we have 3 children under 10. They have 2 pools and also horseriding on site which my daugher did every morning. I will definitely go back there. The village of scansano isnt great.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2008

Just spent 7 nights with two friends and can't say enough about the whole place and the staff. We rode horseback three days, cooked three days and used the spa. Horses were very well cared for and great to ride in the stunning countryside.Our guide, Paulo, is friendly, knowledgeable and fun. The chef Leonardo led us threw 5 kinds of homemade pastas & sauces, 5 soups and 5 desserts. It was a real adventure and then you could relax in the excellent spa. Marta, Antonio and all the rest couldn't do enough to make us happy. Food and wine great. We did not like La Cantina in town, very snooty and food not as good as not so chic La Rufrilla which has two spots and Eugene does interesting local foods. Went to all the local hill towns, a local olive oil factory and met a fellow who took us to watch him prune his trees. Fabulous people and scenery, food, wine and many wonderful memories! Would go back later in the spring for real wildflower sights and in the fall, too hot and dry in summer. Rooms and amenities were also top notch!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank blazer741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
197 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

We spent a night here whilst cycling from East Coast to West Coast, and it was a perfect place to relax and experience some quality food and service. Previous contributors have captured well the ambience of Antico Casale - there are lots of relaxation areas and a range of ways in which to do it, and it is a beautiful area. We were particularly struck by the service we received both on arrival and when eating and drinking - flawless, pleasant and helpful. We strongly recommend the Antico Casale either as a staging post or for several days relaxation. Scansano village/ is fascinating too - we had to drag ourselves away.

  • Liked — The atmosphere of relaxation combined with excellent service.
  • Disliked — No negatives for us.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2007

This is a real gem - my wife and I went for a relaxing week's break as a bit of a treat and were very happy.

It's a fairly small set of traditional-style buildings in beautiful Tuscan hill countryside, with lots of facilities on site (restauraunt, spa, pool, horseriding etc).

If you just want to relax, you've got the choice of a balcony with wonderful views (depending on the type of room), outdoor sofas, lovely deck chair-type things looking out onto the fields, a quiet and comfortable indoor lounge and sun loungers by the pool.

The pool is set away from the main buildings down a path so feels nice and secluded. Then there's the spa with outdoor hot tub, indoor pool and lots of treatments. The restuaurant has excellent local food and staff are very helpful and friendly.

The only minor disappointment was the rooms, which are fairly traditional. The thin walls meant TVs blaring next door kept us awake two nights out of six (and gave me earache in a roundabout way), and the beds and pillows are slightly (but not terribly) uncomfortable.

The hotel has lovely grounds to walk in and is a couple of miles from Scansano, a nice, small-ish hill town. There are some other wonderful hill towns in the surrounding area, which are well off the tourist track but are incredibly historic and picturesque (try Magliano and Montemerano for starters). You do need a car - but the roads are so quiet - amazing!

  • Liked — Relaxing setting
  • Disliked — Pretty basic rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musiciany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

We loved the Antico Casale di Scansano.

This Hotel\Agriturismo is a wonderful example of gracious Italian hospitality, wonderful food, beautiful countryside and unique rooms.

We really enjoyed our stay here and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank karenc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scansano
5.8 mi away
Borgo Magliano Resort
Borgo Magliano Resort
#1 of 1 in Magliano in Toscana
358 reviews
9.6 mi away
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poggio Murella
831 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fattoria Maremmana
Fattoria Maremmana
#1 of 22 in Grosseto
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Saturno Fonte Pura
12.6 mi away
Country Resort Le Due Ruote
7.5 mi away
Quercia Rossa Farmhouse
Quercia Rossa Farmhouse
#7 of 15 in Manciano
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano

Property: Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
Address: Localita Castagneta SNC, 58054, Scansano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Scansano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scansano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embedded in a fascinating countryside and close to the old village of Maremma, you will be guest of the four star Resort Antico Casale di Scansano, which emerged from the restoration of an ancient farm, in Tuscany. In the hotel, the spa is based on the oriental ideal of harmony between body and mind. You can discover the secrets of Maremman cuisine (the resort offers also cookery course), while enjoying an unforgettable horseback riding adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Antico Casale Di Scansano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing