We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best in Maremma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scansano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2006

This summer I with my family spent a just eight-days vacation in this charming resort in the southern-Tuscany countryside. The place was magnificent , in typical country-stile(also rooms are furnished in the Tuscan-pleasant style, but they were very big and comfortable!). The staff very kind and nice. But the "must" of this resort were the enchanting view from our terrace and the good and genuine food. Only two bad things:there were a lot of insects , but it was justified by the location , in countryside and the place was a bit difficult to reach but when you arrive there the views of the surroundings hills. The the location then was perfect to visit the beautifulsmall towns and the famous seaside resorts like Ansedonia , Capalbio and the mount Argentario. But the top of "Antico casale di scansano" were his beauty- farm , the pool and the horse-riding centre, that gave the the resort another reason too spend holydays there.So we have spent in this great resort only a week, but which will be unforgettable !!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank giammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 694 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
15
Reviewed September 24, 2005

Consider a trip to the less visited area of The Maremma in Southern Tuscany. We stayed at a great place called Antico Di Casale Scansano. The hotel is a small "resort" with a nice little spa, pool and equestrian stables on the premises. We found the restaurant (breakfast was included in the rate) pleasant and very good. The staff was great. We got a terriffic rate of $139 (we stayed in mid August 2005) through Expedia (the hotel's quoted price was slightly more). A lovely find in an area that offers wonderful opportunities. The coast is about 30 minutes drive, Saturnia and Pitigliano are within 20 minutes drive and we enjoyed the local town, Scansano, especially La Cantina restaurant, which was excellent (also an Enoteca). Though the rooms were small (typical of Italian standards) each room appeared to have a balcony and view of the countryside that was just lovely.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2005

We only had 2 days to spend in Tuscany and were so fortunate to have discovered this gem! The view from our deluxe balcony room on the top floor was a breathtaking, peaceful 180 degree panorama, with horses and sheep dotting the landscape and the medieval village of Scansano perched on a hill in the distance. If you stay here it is well worth it to pay a bit more for the balcony room. It was spacious, clean and appointed with period charm, but with a modern bath - the perfect combination of old and new. The owners were gracious, warm and friendly and the food in the attached restaurant (with the same spectacular views) was wonderful. The included buffet breakfast was more of a feast than you'll find in the typical Italian bed and breakfast, and service was terrific. I had a chance to ride for a full morning on one one of their fine Maremma horses - lovely ride with enough trotting and cantering to satisfy the experienced rider (English tack). All in all a superb value in Tuscany!

9  Thank standwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rome, Italy
15
Reviewed November 15, 2004

I'm the owner of a Hotel in rome and I have been there last week I have been more than impressed, they are very friendly and helpful the chef prepare all the best tuscanian dishes, and they also have 30 hourses to have a wonderful ride trough the tuscany hills, if you love tuscany is the place to stay. This place is also really near from Saturnia natural spa center, Pitigliano a medieval little town if pass by there you have to eat at "tufo allegro" mayby one of the best restraunt in Italy. I do not suggest Manciano another little town by there is nothing special. At 15 miles you can reach Capalbio really famous town of tuscany (nice food). And if you like fish you can go at Porto Santo Stefano a town with harbour where you can have grat fish.
P.S. do not forget to buy "morellino di scansano" a great wine that is produced there.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2004

My husband and I stayed for five days in July of '04. The scenery was picturesque- just minutes outside of the quaint medieval village of Scansano. We really enjoyed the restaurant. The service was terrific and the food was amazing. I suggest the pear & parmesean salad, the pine nut and gorgonzola pasta, and the lamb. Although I can only speak a very little Italian, everyone made us feel very welcome and language was never a barrier. The rooms were very clean and much larger and more luxurious than we found in other parts of Italy. I highly recommend a stay at Antico Casale di Scansano. We had an amazing and romantic adventure and cannot wait to return!!!

1  Thank SarahElspeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2004

We stayed in the apartment for 6 nights in June 2004 while we biked in the area. We opted for the apartment so that we could go to the markets and cook on occaison. The apartment had maid service once while we were there but fresh towels were available on request. The view from our balcony was beautiful. The hotel has a cooking school and the dinners were excellent and very reasonably priced, which is one reason we didn't cook as often as we had planned. It helps to learn a little Italian before you stay here, but the staff knows enough English to meet your needs if you don't speak Italian. There is a beautiful pool area, as well as a riding school. We loved our stay here and hated to leave.

Thank TAHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2004

Had a 4 night stay there in Jan 04. Very nice place just outside of Scansano, 30 miles from Grossetto. Restored farm house and rooms.
Convenient location for day trips to Rome, Siena, Saturnia spa and Florence. A number of local wineries to tour as well. Friendly helpful staff, good morning breakfast included. Has a stable with horses for riding if that's of interest. Restaurant and cooking classes available, although January is quiet and the restaurant was closed until mid Feb.
Local town of Scansano is small version of the Tuscan "walled" towns you will see throughout Tuscany. The location is rural, so you will see and experience small town Tuscany--but you won't have a lot of "action" either, at least this time of year. All in all, highly recommended if you want to be a little off the beaten track in Tuscany.

3  Thank everest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scansano
5.8 mi away
Borgo Magliano Resort
Borgo Magliano Resort
#1 of 1 in Magliano in Toscana
398 reviews
9.6 mi away
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poggio Murella
885 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fattoria Maremmana
Fattoria Maremmana
#1 of 22 in Grosseto
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Saturno Fonte Pura
12.6 mi away
Country Resort Le Due Ruote
8.6 mi away
Bio Agriturismo Podere Santa Croce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano

Address: Localita Castagneta SNC, 58054, Scansano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Scansano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scansano
Price Range: $66 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embedded in a fascinating countryside and close to the old village of Maremma, you will be guest of the four star Resort Antico Casale di Scansano, which emerged from the restoration of an ancient farm, in Tuscany. In the hotel, the spa is based on the oriental ideal of harmony between body and mind. You can discover the secrets of Maremman cuisine (the resort offers also cookery course), while enjoying an unforgettable horseback riding adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Antico Casale Di Scansano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing