We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best week spent ever”
Review of Fonteverde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fonteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Tuscan hillside,Drive through sunflower fields on your way to this beautiful spa with outstanding food, mineral water spas and pools and wonderful treatments. This is a place I would return to without a second thought.
The buffet they set out in the morning and at lunch time is fabulous.

Room Tip: We went with a small suite. Great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerrieStang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonello D, Direttore generale at Fonteverde, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Jerrystang,

thank you for sharing this review about your recent stay at Fonteverde.
It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay in our Tuscan Spa Resort and that everything went beautifully.

We would be delighted to have you back again. Should you choose Fonteverde again for your next trip to Italy.


Warm regards,

Antonello Del Regno
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Accommodation : perfect , food, ambiance and services : perfect . Staff amazing , Spa services : excellent , overall atmosphere : PERFECT . I have been working in the hospitality industry for some years now ,and i have to say it this is one of the best ( if not THE BEST ) luxury experience i have had to this day .
I recommend it for families with children , young and old couples , weddings, private events , it has something for everyone and for all tastes .

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor. It does not have balcony but the view is better .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebeluku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed here for a short March break. Overall enjoyed the location in beautiful Tuscan hills despite miserable weather typical for this time of the season. Hotel has preserved well the ancient part with beautiful architectural details, interior decorations maintained in the style of the good old days, when Medici used it as their thermal get-away. We thoroughly enjoyed our spa experience, dining was decent, although we would have wanted to see more calorie-conscious offering in the hotel.
Now we had more complaints on minor issues, but in totality they cared for unnecessary aggravation and concern we were experiencing these inconveniences for the level of rates in the hotel. Let me take those nuisance issues apart:
- meeting and greeting. We arrived late a night and check-in was quick and efficient, however we did not make a tour of the facilities since it was late. We were not offered to do it not the. Ext ay, not the day after. Upsetting, since the facilities are vast and good tour wold help us enjoy the most of it. Clear improvement point - it felt a bit odd that only folks arriving during day time get the tour.
- hotel is clearly internationally acclaimed - we encountered people not only from Italy, but also Russia (many Russians) and US. Would it totally ruin economics of the thermal spa to offer 1 newspaper in Russian and, say, financial times. Our company happened to be investment bankers, businesswomen, so it felt odd to find only local newspapers, especially given Fornteverde is part of the global hotel community. Minor, yet an irritant for international people.
- public Internet station. When was this computer acquired? Seems like last century (20, namely), as the speed was poor and one could not print. I am happy to pay for paper, but it was odd to run around trying to check-in for my flight next morning. Could be offered as service - nice gesture and takes away some of the stress of international travel.
- management should occasionally visit and use the spa themselves. If they do they would found out that in the BioAquam spiderwebs are prominently present on the ceiling and once can marvel :-) the view floating on the back. Some partitions might need a treatment against the mold.
- reception. While mostly friendly, lack of efficiency manifested itself in our company having to wait for slowly printing bills AFTER we asked on the way to dinner to print not to waste time after dinner. We clearly were not heard or preferred not to be heard, so waking up early next morning was needed to sort out the bill. I think, if they (reception) would see it from the customer shoes some minor improvement of listening skills would enhance our customer experience. Russian speaking Katia "installed" to cater to the needs of the Russians might not understand the point "cool" is not the same meaning as "friendly"; my girlfriends and I shared the sense of getting a discouraging cold responses with the clear irritation tone of Katia's voice. Dear Katia, if you continue with this attitude, Russians will not necessarily will stop coming here, but they will voice their displeasure with your attitude, tone and unfriendly demeanor until you either get it or the hotel hires more service-oriented person, who will enhance the revenue and not generate such feedback. My party clearly did not enjoy interaction with you!

Notwithstanding my developmental feedback for the hotel, other service functions, namely waiters, room maids and valet were delightful and very service-oriented. Spa personnel was exceptional - well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view when hotel is not busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a very relaxing spa weekend here with excellent service, facilities, food, and treatments. The thermal pools are clean and well-designed, and I can't say enough about how wonderful the view is from the hotel guests' infinity pool, or how relaxed I felt emerging from the thermal waterfall or a massage (ask for Marco)! The only drawbacks were our smallish room, where the housekeeping staff initially forgot to put shampoo, etc. when we arrived, and the steep price!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ViaggiatoreCanadese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This thermal resort goes back to House of Medici: the old building was built by Grand Duke Ferdinando I at the beginning of XVII Century. This old building has been restaured and envelops the reception and a gourmet restaurant at the ground floor, while the upper floors has few suites that overlook at the southern Val D'Orcia hills. New building has been added to increase rooms availability. Hot water springs, known since the Etruscans' time, became renowned during the Middle Age when the borough of San Casciano was founded. Place is in the southern part of the Val 'D'Orcia, Province of Siena, not far away from attractive towns as Orvieto, Pienza, Montepulciano, Citta' della Pieve and more. The surrounding are covered by wonderful forests (beeches, oaks, chestnut trees) with castles sown over the hills. Service is very professionals, rooms are good, baked goods are delicious and made fresh every day for breakfast and for dinner. Restaurant offers a large choices revisited menu of the Tuscany tradition, besides daily chef's proposals. Excellent wines are in the list. Natural waters spring out at about 38 degrees Celsius: it is a great joy to take baths all day around but at sunset is amazing ! Wellness centre offers 10's of treatments by skilled/professional personnel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaetano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you're looking for a good place to relax while visiting Tuscany, this is the place to go.

It was a bit difficult to find this place with the GPS we were using, but the town is so small it's easy to find.

The grounds of the resort are immaculate. When the gate opened from the main road, you could see the century-old main building surrounded by trees and flowers. The staff who welcomed us were warm and friendly, and they spoke English very well. Free parking is available onsite.

We were in the newer building at the end of the hall and had a great view of the Tuscan landscape. The room was a bit small. The bed was a bit hard (but after visiting other Italian hotels, all the beds were just as hard). The room had a safe, TV with channels in different languages, and complimentary bottles of water. We also had a plate of fresh, colorful fruit and a bag of biscotti. The bellboy was also nice enough to get us the appropriate sized house slippers and robes, which can be worn all over the resort, including breakfast.

Breakfast was included, and was served by the bar in a private dining room. It was a good continental breakfast with made to order eggs (you have to ask). Service was great here.

The spa is what makes this place amazing. The facilities are very clean, and there are so many options to choose from. Because we were staying in the hotel, the use of the pools was free, along with a few spa treatments (the sauna, steam room, etc.). There are eight pools, I think, with different temperatures of water, so there is a spot for everyone.

We also took part in the complimentary walking tour at 8:30AM with a guide that took us to the old town and back. It was a nice walk that took about an hour and covered 3 kilometers.

The only complaint I had about this place is that the toiletries in the bathroom were cheap for this type of place. Other than that, I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a wonderful resort and spa near Chiusi, Italy. Very professional staff. Rooms are small but very nice. The spa and water features are great. I highly recommend this place. The lunch is terribly overpriced (35 euros per person), but otherwise this place was a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano dei Bagni
0.6 mi away
Sette Querce
Sette Querce
#2 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
108 reviews
19.2 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
704 reviews
10 mi away
Hotel Terme San Filippo
Hotel Terme San Filippo
#1 of 1 in Bagni di San Filippo
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Palazzo Palesa B&B
Palazzo Palesa B&B
#6 of 7 in San Casciano dei Bagni
58 reviews
23.1 mi away
Terme di Saturnia Spa & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Albergo La Fontanella
Albergo La Fontanella
#4 of 7 in San Casciano dei Bagni
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonteverde

Address: Via Terme 1, 53040, San Casciano dei Bagni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Casciano dei Bagni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Casciano dei Bagni
Price Range: $351 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonteverde 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonteverde is an elegant 5-star resort situated in San Casciano dei Bagni, an ancient village in the Val d’Orcia, which has always been famous for the age-old springs gushing forth thermal waters rich in minerals. The hotel complex is affiliated with "The Leading Small Hotels of the World," a prestigious luxury hotel brand, and alongside it is a fine thermal spa, which boasts the "Leading Spa" brand. The resort comprises 65 rooms, 9 junior suites and 4 suites with terraces over-looking the superb Tuscan countryside. The atmosphere is reminiscent of a Tuscan palace in former times, with quality furnishings and detailed decoration. Enjoy the natural beauty of the surrounding Val d’Orcia park and admire the rolling hills and scenic setting punctuated by olive trees and vineyards. The hotel's spa is a multifunctional complex with the most up-to-date thermal treatments, a holistic centre and beauty centre. Signature treatments include the ancient Mediterranean spa, ayurvedic massage, reflexology and therapeutic Dhara. In addition, there are eight pools, ideal for relaxation after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fonteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonteverde Tuscan Hotel San Casciano Dei Bagni
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort And Spa
Fonteverde Natural Hotel
Hotel Fonteverde Natural
Fonteverde Italy/San Casciano Dei Bagni, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing