We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved everything about Villa Saulina”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Saulina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Saulina
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lastra a Signa
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved everything about Villa Saulina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We loved everything about Villa Saulina. Martina gave us a warm welcome! And advised us during the trip. The location is beautyfull. It is nessesary to go by car or rent a car. Perfect location to visit Florence, Lucca and Siena. The Restaurant has great food and wine with good service Aline is great! They have two identical swimming pools. We had a room in the villa. The room is great, it is not that big but who need a big room with that scenery and beautyfull cities nearby. So if you want to have a great time in Toscany book Villa Saulina!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollandaise85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    111
    50
    22
    13
See reviews for
75
129
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Judging by the reviews here we may have got unlucky but I'm afraid we weren't very impressed.

The drive up to the main reception building (the original villa by the looks of it) was quite impressive but to the best of my knowledge none of the guest rooms are actually in this building.

At reception we were kept waiting for over 20 minutes with barely an acknowledgement while both receptionists sorted out another booking problem. We had been travelling all day and were it not for the fact that my credit card would have been charged, we would have left.

Eventually we were taken to our room in one of the outbuildings where we found we were overlooking the dirty laundry store. We asked for another room but to no avail.

The room itself was very small, too small in fact for two people with luggage, but quite nicely decorated. On the plus side, the room was on the ground floor and had double doors which opened onto a lawn and if we positioned our table and chairs to face away from the laundry store it was actually quite pleasant.

Other travellers have mentioned the poor quality of the breakfast. It wasn't exciting but it was adequate for us.

We did not use the restaurant, our initial greeting and the location of the room made me stubbornly refuse to spend any money in the hotel.

The location is OK but there are no restaurants or bars nearby. Florence and Siena can be easily reached by car.

It our opinion there are better places to stay in Tuscany than this.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Touring_Bikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens,Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Beautifull views all around the villa.Great place to relax and enjoy the Tuscany hills and views .Rooms are decent .We booked 4 superior Doubles which were all located in the main villa .No complains there.18.5 kilometers from Florence which was fine for us as we knew it beforehand and chose the place as the starting place for visiting Florence , Pisa, Lucca and San Girmignano.
Nice looking relaxing twin swimming pools.
What really spoiled our trip were the litle things .Very basic breakfast served by people who wished they were doing something else .No water in the morning for small periods of time which meant we had to wait covered in soap forthe water to come back and getting rinsed.
Doors were not soundprrof which meant you hear everyone coming in or out of their rooms .
Restaurant in the Hotel is operated by a different management and really annoyed us with the slow service .
Overall a hotel located in a great place in the Tuscan hills but we were not sorry to leave it behind.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greek_sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Frome
Level Contributor
118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

The Hotel was never a 4 star - small rooms - poor breakfast - poor facilities apart from 2 swimming pools. The staff were friendly although tended to forget things, ordering taxis that never came, putting on the air con which was switched on from reception. The biggest problem was the restaurant, poor food, poor service, main courses coming before the starters, some main courses arrived after some of our guests had left, took over 3 hours to get one main course. When we complained to the waitress she said the kitchen couldnt cope with large groups, we were 12. When we mentioned it to the hotel they said that the restaurant wasn't part of the hotel, yet it was on our bill and recommended by them. We then sought out the restaurant manager and he said we had eaten within an hour. We were so annoyed that no one was prepared to take any responsibility. Certainloy wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BraddyNrFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

A family of four wanting to stay outside Florence, we booked in advance and paid about £100 per night B&B all in. We were given two adjacent executive rooms on arrival and these rooms would not disappoint anyone. They were next to one of the two pools, had a quiet garden area and suited our needs perfectly. The breakfast was sufficient and we generally took dinner in the hotel which was good. The terrace restaurant was lovely EXCEPT FOR THE ENORMOUS TELEVISION BLARING OUT INANE GAME SHOWS - WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?????? The setting is gorgeous and it is very convenient to get into Florence on the train - the station is only a Km or so down the road.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StubbyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Near Florence. Peaceful place. Good rooms, appreciated the airconditioning. Lovely pool. Friendly and very helpful staff. Stylish place. Basic breakfast, disappointingly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

My friend and I had a great time at VS. The main building, the villa, has a bar room with a cute balcony right off of it. When we arrived, she from Vienna and me from Boston, we sat there and were treated to wine and an appetizer. We then had a superb dinner at their restaurant. On one sunny day, we hung around the pool and they ordered lunch for us, delivered from a local pizzeria. The staff was very helpful. Youssef the receptionist, went with us to a local winery, San Michele a Torri, where we sampled and learned about their wine. On last day they had workers working on a water problem but they turned it on for 15 mins so that I could take a hot shower! Very close to Florence but you need a car as the local train is a few miles away. The only thing that could be improved would be the breakfast which was okay, basic stuff. Great, comfortable and lovely place!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybugbeantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lastra a Signa
13.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
14.6 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
22.6 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
22.6 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Saulina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saulina

Property: Villa Saulina
Address: Via Maremmana 11, 50055, Lastra a Signa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Lastra a Signa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lastra a Signa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Saulina 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Saulina is a noble country house built in the early 19th century located on top of a pleasant sunny hill along the bank of Rimaggio creek few miles from the beginning of Carolingian Maremmana road. The main body of the villa is surrounded by an huge holding with centuries-old olive trees, generous vineyards and ancient woods; five beautiful farm houses and two bright swimming pools. Breathtaking view over the hill crest is captured by medieval villages, bell towers and wine cellars. A breeze of history will let the visitor jump back in the heart of Renaissance. The spirit of Leon Battista Alberti still survives by the lovely Romanic church of San Martino a Gangalandi not too far from us. Guest rooms and flats are designed to reflect the spirit of Tuscany tradition and to meet our guest's needs. We offer traditional accommodation as well modern refurbished room with WiFi, Plasma TV and air-conditioned. Most of them are suited for wheelchair access. Outdoor space with tables and barbecue settings is also available. Flats are perfect for long stay and are equipped with kitchen, sitting-room and one ore more sleeping-room. A comfortable meeting room up to 60/70 persons theatre style, is located in the Villa. The old wine cellar of the Villa has been converted into a romantic restaurant with 60/70 covers. An out-door gazebo is also available for summer dinner or banquets up to 160/170 covers. Our Menu includes dishes from Tuscany tradition as well from Italian and international gastronomy. Our oven is always ready to offer pizza, bread and olive oil bannock. We are located closet o the crossing of Via Maremmana with the country road to Malmantile medieval town and Marliano village. 5 Km form Lastra a Signa Railway station. 6 Km from Signa railway station. 16 Km from Florence airport Amerigo Vespucci 75 Km from Pisa airport Galileo Galilei. By car is easy driving by Highroad Fi.Pi.Li. (Superstrada: Firenze.Pisa.Livorno) just exit in:Lastra a Signa if driving from FlorenceMontelupo if driving from Pisa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Saulina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Saulina Hotel Lastra a Signa
Villa Saulina Lastra a Signa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing