We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place for a great Tuscan vacation”
Review of Casale Il Caggio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casale Il Caggio
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for a great Tuscan vacation”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We (me, my wife and our 2 year old daughter) stayed for 5 nights at Casale Il Caggio after my sister said it was the best place she stayed at in Tuscany.
The place is located in the center of the Tuscan area - a comfortable driving distance from most destinations in the area.
More importantly - the place itself is just magical. It's beautiful and well maintained 500 year old buildings, vast gardens, fantastic food and facilities just make the visit there seem too short.
The hosts are charming and made sure we had everything we needed.

The hostess makes wonderful food (I understand she also teaches Tuscan cooking if you make the arrangement beforehand). Breakfast is great with breads, different kinds of cheese, salami and prosciutto, fresh fruits and vegetables and a wide variety of great homemade cakes and cookies.

Dinners are very good with homemade pasta, excellent meat and lots of side dishes. Food is really great but ration yourself to leave some space for desert (she makes all kinds - every day a little different, and there's also home-made ice creams and the cakes&cookies table stays open).


You need to let the hostess know ahead of time if you plan to have dinner that day (she starts the cooking and preparation several hours before dinner - so there's a minimum notice you need to give her.
The hostess takes care to use only the highest quality of materials in all her cooking and baking and offers very good drinks and wine.

The facilities are well maintained - there's a very large jacuzzi (large enough to swim in) heated to a perfect 35 degrees, beautiful gardens, a big swimming pool, scenic balconies, nice library with good wifi internet connection (reception in the rooms is less reliable) and a playground and game room equipped for kids of different ages. I also saw there was some gym equipment but didn't get the chance to use it.

Rooms are large and beautiful, and the apartment suits also have a large living room and small kitchen with a fridge, dishwasher, micowave oven and dinner table - so you can do some cooking yourself (though I really recommend eating the dinners in the dining room - as I said above.

A fantastic place - we will definitely stay there next time we visit the area. Good for couples, families and friends.

Sorry for not adding more pictures that sow the rest of the place - didn't want to upload pictures with photos of us - but the entire place is just fantastic.

Room Tip: The suits are larger (they have a livingroom with small kitchen).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Gabriella and Paulo are delightful hosts and they provide a wonderful and sincere welcome to their guests. While the rooms are great, with comfy beds (not too hard!) and the bathrooms are clean and well appointed, the main reason for staying here has to be Gabriella's cooking. Much has already been said about this in other reviews but her home cooking is sublime. Moreover, all her ingredients are pretty much from within a few kilometers of the house and they even fed us one of their own home grown lambs. I think the wine came from the vineyard next door too! We had home made pasta, bread, cakes and ice cream every day and Gabriella was up early every morning baking bread. This is a Tuscan gastronomic heaven. Bellissimo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watchman834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Casale Il Caggio is a beautiful house, located in a unique spot in rural Tuscany. Lots of space and tranquility and a fantastic pool and heated spa. Lovely areas to sit in the garden and relax, read or just enjoy the exquisite vistas! Fully equipped. Ideal for a holiday with or without children! Absolutely essential to have a car! Beautiful scenery and lovely day trips all around!
The owners, Paolo and Gabriella are so welcoming and generous and kind! Gabriella's cooking has to be seen to be believed. She will have a selection of at least 8 cakes every day, fresh fruit, homemade breads and jams, great coffee! If you decide to stay in for dinner, you will again have an amazing selection of Tuscan cooking with local chianti and wines! In all our travels through Italy, we are yet to experience anything as lovely as our stay at Il Caggio. Tuscany at it's very best!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

If you want to be treated like family in a gorgeous 15th century farm setting with the most fantastic home cooked meals you will get in Italy, gracious, fun and friendly hosts in a gorgeous and centrally located destination in Tuscany this place is for you. Gabriella and Paolo were charming, helpful and gracious. We highly recommend this for families with children (the pool and spa were a hit) or couples.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaannsigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Every now and then you come across special people on your travels. Gabriella and Paulo are such people and after four wonderful days as part of their extended family, we didn't want to leave. The quality of Gabriella's cooking is extraordinary and the grace with which she and Paulo welcome you into their home is truly breathtaking.
Nothing is too much trouble and you can feel yourself start to relax the minute you arrive. The property is in a beautiful location and the rooms and apartments are extremely comfortable with everything you could wish for. We met a variety of interesting people during our stay and all agreed that this was a special place.
Day trips throughout Tuscany and Umbria are easy from the central position and every night you know that Gabriella's wonderful food is waiting for you. While you can chose the B&B option, you simply must treat yourself to at least a couple of evening meals courtesy of Gabriella - they will remain highlights of your holiday.
We came from a long way away but felt immediately at home and will be back as soon as we possibly can.

Steve & Veronique - Sydney

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierrefonds, Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were 5 young girls in our 60s touring Italy and wanting to feel and taste a bit of Tuscany. We stayed at this B&B farm in May 2012 and fell instantly in love with the place and owners upon arrival.

We had 3 huge apts and 2 rooms all beautifully decorated and clean. The main house is just what you dream of when you think of Tuscany. We enjoyed our afternoon wine on the lawn, after a dip in an oversize salt water enclosed hot tub.

We ate every night Gabriella's fine food after watching her cook and give us tips on Italian cooking. We sampled Paolo's fresh farm products and meats. We enjoyed the family cat and dogs, Bingo the sheep, the canaries, turtles, etc.

As we were close to the main Hway A1, it was an easy drive from the car rental in Arezzo. A GPS is strongly recommended although the directions on their web site is very accurate.

We arrived as guests and left as friends. This is a must stop on your Tuscan journey. The only advice I can offer is to bring extra sized pants to be able to eat Gabriella's 5-6-7 or 8 course meals!

Thanks, Gabriella and Paolo for making our dream come true

Carole and the girls

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpicySunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed with another couple this past summer for five nights and loved every minute. The view from the front lawn is picture postcard perfect, the food wonderful. Wine bottles sit on a table and guests are invited to help themselves. But the best part are the owners - Gabriella and Paolo who make you feel like family. The food - AH! - and the cooking lesson was wonderful.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the front lawn and I'm sure others do as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annkochenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Civitella in Val di Chiana hotels
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo La Loccaia
Agriturismo La Loccaia
#2 of 14 in Civitella in Val di Chiana
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Il Fondaco Del Moro
2.7 mi away
Antico Borgo
Antico Borgo
#2 of 4 in Civitella in Val di Chiana
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Dodo Village
Dodo Village
#12 of 14 in Civitella in Val di Chiana
64 reviews
2.7 mi away
Palazzo Tarlati
Palazzo Tarlati
#1 of 14 in Civitella in Val di Chiana
67 reviews
1.7 mi away
Podere del Griccia
Podere del Griccia
#4 of 14 in Civitella in Val di Chiana
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Il Caggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Il Caggio

Property: Casale Il Caggio
Address: Via del Caggio 15 | Localita' Ciggiano, 52041, Civitella in Val di Chiana, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Civitella in Val di Chiana
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Civitella in Val di Chiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casale Il Caggio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casale Il Caggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casale Il Caggio Civitella In Val Di Chiana, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing