We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding...but be patient..it's worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Papposileno

Papposileno
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Cavriglia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Gastronomia, cultura, storia e tradizioni si fondono in una proposta semplice ed originale. Troverete cibo e vino di qualita. Formaggi a latte crudo, salumi di antica memoria, prodotti degli orti contadini, ricette della tradizione toscana... E il pescato dell'Argentario, che andiamo noi direttamente a prendere. Cucina adatta anche a vegetariani, oltre a possibilita di menu per celiaci ed altri tipi di allergie e intolleranze. L'enoteca vanta una selezione di vini con circa 400 etichette che privilegiano piccole produzioni, oltre a decine di birre artigianali, anche alla spina. Il Papposileno e aperto da martedi a sabato a cena, e domenica a pranzo e a cena. Ampio parcheggio di fronte al locale.
London
Level Contributor
259 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Outstanding...but be patient..it's worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything about this small town restuarant speaks ''large City''. The qulaity of the food, the service, the ambience and the wine list all combine to make this a delightful dining experience. And at a level of finesse and quality you would only expect to find in a high priced city restuarant. Even the bill wasn't a surprise. If I was going to have to paint one drawback on an otherwise outstanding meal it was the wait for service. With only one waiter the evening we visited he was hard pressed to keep a level of service you felt the environment and food deserved. It wouldn't detract me from re-visiting as it was all worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nw05250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    79
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“spectacular wine list, very nice space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

we were a huge group so we tested their kitchen to the limit (entrees took a long time to arrive) but otherwise food was great. Offered a very nice wine selection and amazing house aceto balsamico

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fergoson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“A Tuscan dream and a meal to remember..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

A must-see destination for foodies and families alike.. Run by the charismatic, creative and fun head chef Francesco, Papposileno produces consistently delicious, truly-Italian delights.. From entree to dessert, including the range of coffee from all over the world and home-made sorbetto, this place is a true Tuscan gem..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARDemaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have recently returned to Tuscany to rediscover our origins and we happened to book into Papposileno.
What a fantastic evening. We had an mixed charcuterie to start with . Bursting with flavors from my past. Then I had the spaghetti and Bottarga, a sublimely simple but delicious dish. Then came the fish .. so fresh and flavorsome. Then I had the " grand tour " of Blue cheeses, wow, great .
Finally I forced myself to have a sample of the home made Sorbets... Fantastic .
A Greatly recommended true food experience at a very reasonable price .
Thanks you Papposileno.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank impruneta71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Will definitely go back, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Papposileno was actually our second choice the night we went, our first choice was closed on Wednesdays. We definitely lucked out; the Papposileno was outstanding. The service we received was as good as it gets. The waiter was very friendly, and helped us through the menu; and they do have an English menu. He made the whole night a great experience. The food was excellent as well, with some pleasantly surprising original creations by the chef, who comes out regularly to make sure you are happy with your meal. The restaurant is hard to find, but once you get inside the ambience is amazing; a wonderful combination of old world and modern. We had our teenage son along, and he had a great time, though it would have been a wonderful romantic date for two. Highly recommend; we will go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papposileno also viewed

Cavriglia, Province of Arezzo
Cavriglia, Province of Arezzo
 
Cavriglia, Province of Arezzo
Montevarchi, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Papposileno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing