We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mark Anderson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Poggio di Gaville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at Villa Gaville for five nights in September (2013). I have nothing but praise to offer while making reference to this place. Jamal was by far the most memorable host we had during our 8 week European holiday. Breakfasts and dinner were as good as anything in high quality restaurants, all done by Jamal. Jamal was very helpful in designing a holiday plan for us, highlighting places to vist while we were there. Certainly a visit to Florence is a must but the Chianti trail that was recommended was great. I would certainly recommend that a stay here is done with a car as well as most places are some distance away. I would certainly be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 726 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the villa over the weekend and had a great time. The place is set in a very beautiful location, and very peaceful. The food was amazing, and so was the wine. It is also close to Florence and is good as abse to explore the area. Would love to come again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Villa Gaville really is a nice place from where to start exploring the whole of Tuscany, or just hang around - as you wish. If you want to explore the surroundings, you will need some transport of your own, as public transport is some kilometers away and the villa is rather isolated. Most of what you read in previous articles is correct. The hosts really are nice people, the accomodation is comfortable rather than luxurious, but I would be prepared to sleep in a tent to be able enjoy Jamal's cooking, which is above average.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just spend a week in this beautiful place. A Tuscan villa which felt like a home. By using the items the owner brought home from his journeys for decoration he made it a place that reflects himself and also reflects all kind of cultures. The result is that everybody feels at home. Jamal was very helpful and a great host. Highlight of the day was diner, I never tasted anything better in Italy!
We already now were we are staying next year..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I spent six fabulous days at Villa Poggio in September. It was our first agriturismo experience and we couldn't have been more pleased. Our room was lovely and very spacious. Jamal was an amazing host and extremely helpful, giving us directions advising us where to go . He also arranged for a group of us to go on a vineyard tour wihich was very enjoyable. I would recommend having dinner - we had the four course dinner three nights and we thoroughly enjoyed each one..The setting is beautiful and a 10 /15 mins minutes drive to Figline where we took the train to Florence. It is also very convenient to Siena and San Giminano. Only regret was that we didn't spend more time by the pool but there was just so much to see!

M & P, Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I spent nine nights at this Tuscan villa. If you are looking for the guidebook Tuscan experience, this is not it. What it is, is a unique home from home, almost family-like experience, which happens to be in Tuscany. Jamal, who owns and manages the villa, is a very well travelled man with his own philosophy. The villa's cuisine and decor reflect this.

Jamal cooked a four-course dinner most evenings and we took advantage of this on four occasions. The food wasn't typically Tuscan or Italian, but was blend of Italian and middle eastern flavours. We also took part in a cookery class, where almost all the guests cooked dinner and ate together. This was a highlight of our holiday.

The location is fairly remote, and a car is essential. That said, it is in striking distance of Greve, Florence, Siena et al. Jamal recommended that we visit Florence by train and this turned out to be a great piece of advice.

The more observant will note that I have given an excellent overall rating, but also that no single review heading gets 5 stars. This is because I believe that, overall, it was a splendidly enjoyable experience. Sure, there will be more typical, more expensive agriturismo guesthouses with better rooms etc. But, for the price, this is a unique place to base yourself in order to discover Tuscany and to experience a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: The superior double room "Pesces" has a large terrace and appears to have the best in-room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bargainhuntermunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights at this fantastic villa in the heart of Tuscany. The villa and surrounding hills are truly beautiful. Owner and chef Jamal Amin couldn't be nicer or more helpful. We had two of our dinners prepared by Jamal and they were beyond delicious. The location is easily accessible to Florence, Sienna, and San Giminano, where we spent our days and then looked forward to relaxing back at the villa in the evening. Thank you Jamal for everything!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trudi000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavriglia
1.5 mi away
Hotel del Lago
Hotel del Lago
#1 of 2 in Cavriglia
149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,405 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
581 reviews
18.2 mi away
Agriturismo Podere il Poggiolo
20.9 mi away
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietrafitta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Poggio di Gaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Poggio di Gaville

Address: Localita Castellina 28 | Meleto, 52022, Cavriglia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cavriglia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Cavriglia
Price Range: $136 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Poggio di Gaville is a wonderful 18th century villa set in idyllic surroundings of woods, vineyards and olive groves in the hills of Florence, close to Chianti. The farmhouse was restored to its original splendour in 2004 and is furnished with charming Tuscan style furniture and exotic world pieces from 30 different countries in the world - a reflection of the owner's intercultural spirit. An additional attraction of the Villa are the 10 free-range horses at pasture on the farmland of the property. We can offer you: - a large 170mq swimming-pool and a little lake with 2 herons. - 11 rooms with private bathroom. - courses in Mediterranean and Middle-Eastern cooking. - team building courses - 'learning by cooking'.-horse-riding at the 'Vecchio Texas'. - hot-air ballooning over the hills of Chianti. - shopping at 'The Mall', the biggest Designer Outlet in Italy. The cuisine at Villa Poggio di Gaville offers both traditional Tuscany recipes as well as creative Mediterranean dishes served in a lovely dining-room with large-arched windows overlooking the wonderful grounds of the Villa, all accompanied with an excellent selection wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Poggio di Gaville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Poggio Di Gaville Italy/Cavriglia, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing