We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip To Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Poggio di Gaville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Poggio di Gaville for 4 days when we recently visited Italy. This was our first stop from four destinations. My daughters were very excited that there was a pool and the moment we arrived, they jumped right in. The pool was very clean, our room was lovely, as well as the hospitality we received. Jamal was great, very helpful. Breakfast in the morning was lovely out in the terrace with beautiful views of rolling hills surrounding us. Everyone was so attentive to our needs. They also have wild horses in the barn and this was a real treat for my older daughter who happens to be crazy about horses. Overall our experience staying here was excellent. It felt very warm, personable, just as if we were staying with family. I would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Tuscany!

Syed and Zehra Rizvi

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zehra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 720 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

I visited Poggio di Gaville with my sister for a Tuscan getaway. I could not have been more pleased with my stay. The owner, Jamal, is one of the kindest human beings I have ever met. I truly felt as if I was visiting a close relative and instantly felt comfortable and at home! If you do have the pleasure of staying at this beautiful place, I strongly recommend staying for dinner. The food was delicious and the ambiance is absolutely perfect. I hope I have the pleasure of staying at Poggio di Gavile again very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Seven nights at Villa Poggio di Gaville flew by so fast that I could hardly believe it was time to leave. The owner told me, “I want people to feel like this is their home, not a hotel”. He totally succeeds. Comfortable and relaxing are the watchwords for Jamal’s Tuscan villa. Looking for tourist advice or have special needs? Jamal is always there to give personal assistance.

Nestled in a quiet countryside location between the amazing towns of Florence and Sienna in the Chianti wine-growing region, the villa is decorated with relics lovingly collected from 31 countries. Wild horses live in the adjoining pasture. A giant pristine swimming pool provides respite from hot days. And the four-course dinners are a very special treat thanks to Jamal’s gourmet cooking.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerbNMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We found this Tuscan villa delightful from the surroundings and decor to the staff and service. The owner Jamal made us feel right at home and we enjoyed the dinner he cooked immensely . It is a must as is the cooking classes he hosts. He is only to happy to assist with tourist information and directions. IWe would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Fantastic, relaxing place to stay in a tranquil setting. Extremely welcoming staff. Amazing freshly cooked food and great wine. Would thoroughly recommend, intend of going again

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eparsons04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Poggio di Gaville for 3 nights in early June. We're a young professional couple from the UK having a long weekend in Italy. When we arrived at the villa were greeted warmly and the owners Jamal and Louise spoke perfect English (as well as Italian, French and German as we later gathered!). The villa itself is beautiful and traditionally Tuscan, but the owners have put there own stamp on the place by furnishing it with an exotic range of furniture. The room we stayed in was spacious and had a very clean private bathroom. Sleeping there is easy as all that can be heard at night is the occasional croak of frogs and the dawn chorus. The grounds are extensive and picturesque and are inhabited by at least 5 wild horses that one can watch galloping in the field from the outside patio.

The food is cooked by Jamal, and is authentic Italian cuisine which is absolutely delicious. If you wanted to eat elsewhere, the villa is a short drive to some beautiful neighboring villages and towns and is about a 30 minute drive to central Florence.

We had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend holidaying there.

Room Tip: Each room was named after a 'zodiac' sign, we stayed in 'Scorpio' which was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a family long weekend at the Poggio and couldn't have been better looked after. Jamal cooks with an obvious love of food, and it was fresh and tasty and perfectly judged.
The villa is set in the rolling hills, and you drive up to it just knowing that it will be great. The welcome was warm and the swimming pool a welcome cooling down moment in the heat. The house is full of lovely objects that they have collected in their travels, and it makes it a very warm and family-orientated place. I couldn't recommend it too highly for a quiet country place to visit - but Florence is just a half hour away - so easily reached if you are in need of city bustle. Kerry H

Room Tip: one side of the house looks over the terrace and fields, and the other over the fields. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavriglia
1.5 mi away
Hotel del Lago
Hotel del Lago
#1 of 2 in Cavriglia
146 reviews
18.2 mi away
Agriturismo Podere il Poggiolo
20.6 mi away
Antico Borgo Poggiarello
Antico Borgo Poggiarello
#1 of 27 in Monteriggioni
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Barberino
Villa Barberino
#5 of 10 in Cavriglia
257 reviews
20.9 mi away
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietrafitta
13 mi away
Castello La Leccia
Castello La Leccia
#1 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Poggio di Gaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Poggio di Gaville

Address: Localita Castellina 28 | Meleto, 52022, Cavriglia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cavriglia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Cavriglia
Price Range: $131 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Poggio di Gaville is a wonderful 18th century villa set in idyllic surroundings of woods, vineyards and olive groves in the hills of Florence, close to Chianti. The farmhouse was restored to its original splendour in 2004 and is furnished with charming Tuscan style furniture and exotic world pieces from 30 different countries in the world - a reflection of the owner's intercultural spirit. An additional attraction of the Villa are the 10 free-range horses at pasture on the farmland of the property. We can offer you: - a large 170mq swimming-pool and a little lake with 2 herons. - 11 rooms with private bathroom. - courses in Mediterranean and Middle-Eastern cooking. - team building courses - 'learning by cooking'.-horse-riding at the 'Vecchio Texas'. - hot-air ballooning over the hills of Chianti. - shopping at 'The Mall', the biggest Designer Outlet in Italy. The cuisine at Villa Poggio di Gaville offers both traditional Tuscany recipes as well as creative Mediterranean dishes served in a lovely dining-room with large-arched windows overlooking the wonderful grounds of the Villa, all accompanied with an excellent selection wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Poggio di Gaville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Poggio Di Gaville Italy/Cavriglia, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing