We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection under the Tuscan sun”
Review of B&B Villa Cardeto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Villa Cardeto
Ranked #2 of 12 Anghiari B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2010

A hidden gem in the Anghiari countryside.
We have just returned from two weeks at the beautiful Villa Cardeto where Rolf & Ilona played hosts to our large wedding party.
The villa is a gem set in the countryside within easy reach of the beautiful town of Anghiari and Rolf and Ilona are the perfect hosts. Not only did they help us with the organisation of everything for our wedding, they also sourced local suppliers from Anghiari, including florist, hairdresser etc. nothing was too much trouble, as Ilona constantly said to our requests “no problem”. Catering for our 30+ guests on the evening of the great day, they both worked tirelessly to provide the perfect venue and ambience for all of our many guests who stayed at the villa. The villa functions as what could be described as a boutique B&B establishment offering individual rooms and family apartments. It proved to be an absolutely perfect venue for our large wedding party which booked out the whole villa! With the grounds gated, no one had to worry about the children; they could discover and play to their hearts content in safety.
Villa Cardeto is set in its own beautiful grounds with a magnificent swimming pool overlooking the the valley, filled with sunflowers and with views across to the distant mountains. Guests have the run of the villa including all the amenities including lounges (2), bar, internet access, mountain bikes etc. (except Ilona’s stunning kitchen, a beautiful Italian classic that we all drooled over!) The rooms / apartments are furnished simply but tastefully and most have wonderful views. The charming Tuscan character of the old villa has been retained throughout and the bedrooms with en suite bathrooms provide modern facilities. Ilona’s perfectionism and attention to detail shows in the cleanliness of the rooms and the way in which she presents them – small details like mineral water in the rooms, complimentary toiletries and a small chocolate on the turned down bed! An experienced and expert chef, she provides an exquisite breakfast and will cook evening meals on request at a very reasonable price which includes drinks. To stay at Villa Cardeto and not sample Ilona’s cooking and Rolf’s wines and Grappa would be a sin!
The gardens and the villa are maintained to the highest standard and Rolf and Ilona have totally mastered the art of being attentive to guests but never intrusive. You can always find a quiet, comfortable and shaded spot to relax away from other guests if you want to, but the hosts will respond immediately to your every request.
For Sara and I the hilltop town of Anghiari (with its stunning mediaeval architecture and friendly locals) is a destination in itself, but guests staying here can reach Arezzo, Firenze, Sienna, Assissi, Cortona and Perugia easily together with other tourist destinations such as, San Giminano and Montipulciano possible also.
Nothing is too much trouble for these charming multilingual Swiss hosts; they will do everything and more to make your stay perfect. To sum up our stay, if you want a relaxing holiday in a beautiful ‘non-tourist filled’ part of Tuscany that remains truly Italian, then Villa Cardeto represents excellent value in magnificent surroundings.
We recommend it very reluctantly because it is so special that we would really like to keep it as our very own private secret!!
.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 210 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed at Villa Cardeto for a week with a large group of friends, two of whom got married in Anghiari. Rolf and Ilona of Villa Cardeto hosted the most wonderful reception with amazing food cooked by Ilona, they could not do enough for us. The villa is in the most beautiful spot with surrounding views of the countryside, its spotless inside and out. The swimming pool is big enough if you want to swim as well as just float around, and there's lots of secluded places to sit for a quiet read.
Overall Rolf and Ilona have got the balance right of leaving you to it and being incredibly friendly and helpful. We will definately go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Villa Cardeto for 6 nights. It is set on a hill from where you get a wonderful view over a valley and you can see the surrounding ancient Tuscan towns. It is a short trip away from Anghiari, a marvellous town to visit the market, to indulge the local cuisine. Our hosts were very friendly and gave us great tips to visit beautiful places nearby we would not have found otherwise. They were familiar with the owners of several special and excellent restaurants and Pubs. The breakfast was very nice, consisting of fresh, local foods and special wishes were always considered. On the couple of rainy days we had, we just lounged around the estate and especially in the great chimney-hall by the fireside. All in all, it was a fantastic stay even though the weather around New Year's Eve was really unfriendly.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ruiz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf W, Inhaber at B&B Villa Cardeto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadineender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacardeto, Inhaber at B&B Villa Cardeto, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank beate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacardeto, Inhaber at B&B Villa Cardeto, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: WLAN funktioniert nicht immer vom Zimmer aus. Kein stabiles Netz. Alle Zimmer sind ansprechend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gumpi2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacardeto, Inhaber at B&B Villa Cardeto, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anghiari hotels
6.7 mi away
Locanda del Viandante
Locanda del Viandante
#1 of 12 in Anghiari
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Il Cardo Resort
Il Cardo Resort
#4 of 12 in Anghiari
293 reviews
1.5 mi away
Borgo del Senatore
Borgo del Senatore
#3 of 12 in Anghiari
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Anghiari Hotel
Anghiari Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anghiari
125 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#1 of 2 in Anghiari
88 reviews
2.3 mi away
Affittacamere Casa Sofia
Affittacamere Casa Sofia
#10 of 14 in Anghiari
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Villa Cardeto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Villa Cardeto

Address: Localita Scoiano 103 | 52031 Anghiari, 52031 Anghiari, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Anghiari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Anghiari
Price Range: $108 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Cardeto is a magnificent Tuscan Villa on top of a hill near Anghiari in the Province of Arezzo. The spacious area offers you many different possibilities to retire from the world or to simply enjoy the gorgeous view into the Tiber-valley!The Villa consists of 6 rooms (3 rooms with full-size beds and 3 rooms with two individual beds) and 5 bathrooms (shower/lavatory). The comfortable rooms offer an amazing view into nature. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing