We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten Days of Sheer Pleasure”
Review of Mezzacosta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anghiari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mezzacosta
Ranked #9 of 12 Anghiari B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent 10 days in Tuscany, staying in Mezzacosta's Brigante Suite and turing the region on foot. We have been doing this style of trip for many years now, and though we always have a good experience, this time was surely the best one: Except for the place beautifully situated and conveniently placed near Arezzo, the apartment was very well equipped and maintained, and the hosts were very kind and welcoming, making any effort to make our stay pleasant. If you want a self-catering place, Mezzacosta is the right choice, no doubt of it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yael and Dudu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 38 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent a fantastic time of our holidays at Mezzacosta. We were lucky to stay at a very big but still cosy, full-equipped apartment. At our arrival we were greeted by the Host, who explained 'what is where' and during our stay was really patient to answer all the questions we had. He reccommended us to visit the places that without his hint we would miss, like fabulous near-by bakery. Also thanks to his wife and daughter we acquired a taste for real tuscany. Early in the morning there were waiting for us warm cornetti and in the evening we could taste Franco's pasta!
Almost all the week we spent sightsiing: Firenze, Siena, Arezzo, Anghiari, Monatalcino, Montepulciano and Pienza, these places were just for the asking from Mezzacosta. Thank you again Kasia & Łukasz

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katarzyna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had been in Mezzacosta for 2 weeks in 2012 (the last week of August and first week of September) and we must admit that was the best decision we have ever made. It is incredible place located in Tuscan hills between two cities: Arezzo and Anghiari. The view in front of house and from our room took our breath away – huge area of green hills and olive groves. We could watch and listen every sign of wild nature. We were very surprised when the host, Franco, showed us our apartment. It is all designed in Tuscan style. His wife takes care of every detail what gave us unique, charming atmosphere of this place. We could feel like we live with Italians in real for a while. What is more, every day we were coming back from a long trip we were happy because we knew that we could take rest in lovely place. The second thing is that the apartment is fully equipped, in the kitchen you will find pots, dishes, tools, coffee, tea, olive oil, spices, drinks, so do some groceries shopping and you can prepare a meal. Hosts were very warm, open-hearted and caring. The first day in the morning they gave us croissants and fresh fruits for the breakfast. Franco tried to spend some time with us everyday giving practice advices about our stay, telling many stories about Tuscany and all Italy (He speaks English fluently). He even prepared for us real Italian supper (pasta) – it was delicious!!! His wife took care about the apartment everyday. Unfortunately, we saw only for a while their daughter, with whom we first made reservation via Internet. They have also very funny home pets, two cats and dog, which accompanied us from time to time during our rest. When we packed to go home, they gave us little gifts to Poland, like pasta, tomato sauce, flowers. We were very touched.
We would like to thank you a lot once again for everything. We have never met before such a care and hospitality. You can be sure that we will talk about you all friends who also would like to live in a real Tuscany, Italy for a while.
We recommend this charming place everyone who is going to Tuscany.
We wish you good luck and see you next time.

Alex & Tom, Poland

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had a wonderful and relaxing holiday. Being greeted by lavendar and pine scented air was a delight. The area is beautiful and our hosts were very attentive without being instrusive. You definitely need a car to make the most of the location. We would highly recommend Mezzacosta and hope to return there one day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The room has a nice view and a private jacuzzi. Breakfast is really superb.
It's a very quiet place and they do everything to help you. (Influence of sud-Tirol...)
The room is very clean, as is the rest of the house.
There is a minibar in the room and the drinks are even for free.
So: very low price for very high quality, not so common in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gentenaars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Great location for us - between Arezzo (15 mins) and Anghiari (20 mins). We stayed in one of two self-catering apartments and the owners couldn't have been more helpful. Marianne's directions were perfect - no trouble finding the apartment - and she and her mother met us and showed us around the well appointed apartment. Franco (Marianne's father) was also very helpful, leaving us with fresh garden produce to make a meal and letting us know the best places to eat out. It's a quiet spot without feeling isolated - couple of restaurants within 5 mins drive. Car essential but lots of places within easy driving distance for day trips and Anghiari is a beautiful little town to spend time in. All in all a very reasonably priced and well equipt apartment - we will return!!

Room Tip: Brigante Suite has a bedroom on ground floor, with ceiling fan, bathroom on mezzanine floor and kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DickandPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We spent a week here.
On the plus side:
- excellent quiet, secluded location with views over a pine-clad valley and olive grove;
- farm house recently converted to a high standard;
- lovely garden + wooded paths to explore;
- very friendly family;
- very clean;
- well equipped kitchen;
- very comfy firm bed;
- quiet location, double glazing and window shutters - excellent for peaceful sleep.

On the negative side:
- the smaller of the two appartments is cramped: might be a bit claustrophobic if weather required you to stay indoors; but in sunny weather, you can live and eat in the garden;
- several km of twisting hill roads before you can access the main road network;
- proximity of other appartment in same building means you have to hope the other guests are not too noisy or boisterous.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoppyEu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anghiari hotels
5.4 mi away
Il Cardo Resort
Il Cardo Resort
#5 of 12 in Anghiari
291 reviews
4.1 mi away
Locanda del Viandante
Locanda del Viandante
#1 of 12 in Anghiari
228 reviews
5.6 mi away
Anghiari Hotel
Anghiari Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anghiari
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Borgo del Senatore
Borgo del Senatore
#3 of 12 in Anghiari
120 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#1 of 2 in Anghiari
88 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ca Del Bocca
Ca Del Bocca
#10 of 12 in Anghiari
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezzacosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzacosta

Address: Localita la Scheggia 52/52031, 52031 Anghiari, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Anghiari
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Anghiari
Price Range: $71 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mezzacosta is located just a few minutes from the center of Arezzo in a sunny area, absolutely quiet, with a beautiful view of the surrounding hills. The place where you can stay is surrounded by 13 hectares of rich vegetation with pine forest, olive groves and very old trees. The residence is exposed to the south, with independent entrance and direct access to the garden that is exclusively for our guests. Parking area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing