We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mezzacosta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anghiari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mezzacosta
Ranked #8 of 13 Anghiari B&B and Inns
Genting Highlands, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

The room has a nice view and a private jacuzzi. Breakfast is really superb.
It's a very quiet place and they do everything to help you. (Influence of sud-Tirol...)
The room is very clean, as is the rest of the house.
There is a minibar in the room and the drinks are even for free.
So: very low price for very high quality, not so common in Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gentenaars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Great location for us - between Arezzo (15 mins) and Anghiari (20 mins). We stayed in one of two self-catering apartments and the owners couldn't have been more helpful. Marianne's directions were perfect - no trouble finding the apartment - and she and her mother met us and showed us around the well appointed apartment. Franco (Marianne's father) was also very helpful, leaving us with fresh garden produce to make a meal and letting us know the best places to eat out. It's a quiet spot without feeling isolated - couple of restaurants within 5 mins drive. Car essential but lots of places within easy driving distance for day trips and Anghiari is a beautiful little town to spend time in. All in all a very reasonably priced and well equipt apartment - we will return!!

Room Tip: Brigante Suite has a bedroom on ground floor, with ceiling fan, bathroom on mezzanine floor and kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickandPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
142 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We spent a week here.
On the plus side:
- excellent quiet, secluded location with views over a pine-clad valley and olive grove;
- farm house recently converted to a high standard;
- lovely garden + wooded paths to explore;
- very friendly family;
- very clean;
- well equipped kitchen;
- very comfy firm bed;
- quiet location, double glazing and window shutters - excellent for peaceful sleep.

On the negative side:
- the smaller of the two appartments is cramped: might be a bit claustrophobic if weather required you to stay indoors; but in sunny weather, you can live and eat in the garden;
- several km of twisting hill roads before you can access the main road network;
- proximity of other appartment in same building means you have to hope the other guests are not too noisy or boisterous.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoppyEu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

We enjoyed a stay in the Brigante Suite for 5 nights and were very happy with it.
The people of Mezzacosta are very friendly, so this family-run place (with amazing dog!) is the perfect choice to relax in a quiet atmosphere whilst being close to many interesting towns and cities in this part of Tuscany (especially in the vicinity of most of Piero della Francesca's frescoes and paintings).
A car is recommended. Best to go in spring or late summer, to be able to enjoy the garden and barbecue.

Very nearby is a super bakery (also a take-away pizzeria in the evening) and a small restaurant (Osteria Nonna Lola) worth to check out (we had stew of boar, very pure, and the specialty of the house: pasta with truffe!).

Just really nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ythd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

It gives us great pleasure to share impressions about our unforgettable seven days trip in Tuscany, with our base at Mezzacosta. We found there the ingredients of what we consider a wonderful holiday: the cosy Brigante apartment with its nicely equiped kitchen, the intimate garden were we spent peaceful mornings and beautiful evenings glazing at the stars among pine trees with strong scent, the warmth and hospitality of our hosts, so caring and eager to satisfy any need we had, the rewarding beauty of the surroundings, the proximity of Anghiari - an enchanting medieval small town which must be visited by foot, street by street, the closeness to Monterchi with its extraordinary Madonna del Parto by Pierro della Francesca, the convenience it provides in reaching several must-see destinations such as Arezzo, Assisi, Perugia, Firenze, Cortona, and the splendid Casentino valley. We did not have enough time to enjoy all of these and we eagerly look forward to returning soon to Mezzacosta. A note about Da Alighiero restaurant in Anghiari: they have very good pastas, we recommend the green ones, we found it to be excellent. The old Osteria La Pergola was also a nice option in the evenings when we returned from the wonderful one-day trips described above.
The car is mandatory. Excellent quality/price balance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GinaBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We had a superb 6 night holiday in the Brigant apartment. It is in a beautiful, quiet setting and the apartment was ideal for us. The facilities were modern and the building has been very tastefully renovated. Very clean rooms and the shower was very good. The owners are great - very friendly and helpful. There are so many great places to visit in the area and although the property is in the countryside it was easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

A beautiful old "casa colonica" fully restored and very comfortable. The owners are absolutely charming, extremely helpful and attentive. We stayed in the smaller of the two apartments and had the most relaxing holiday ever. A car is a necessity.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodmillgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anghiari hotels
5.4 mi away
Il Cardo Resort
Il Cardo Resort
#5 of 13 in Anghiari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
4.1 mi away
Locanda del Viandante
Locanda del Viandante
#1 of 13 in Anghiari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.6 mi away
Anghiari Hotel
Anghiari Hotel
#1 of 2 in Anghiari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Borgo del Senatore
Borgo del Senatore
#4 of 13 in Anghiari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#2 of 2 in Anghiari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Affittacamere Casa Sofia
Affittacamere Casa Sofia
#11 of 15 in Anghiari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezzacosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzacosta

Property: Mezzacosta
Address: Localita Scheggia, 52, 52031 Anghiari, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Anghiari
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Anghiari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mezzacosta is located just a few minutes from the center of Arezzo in a sunny area, absolutely quiet, with a beautiful view of the surrounding hills. The place where you can stay is surrounded by 13 hectares of rich vegetation with pine forest, olive groves and very old trees. The residence is exposed to the south, with independent entrance and direct access to the garden that is exclusively for our guests. Parking area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing