We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sicilia on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
D'Orange D'Alcantara
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
94 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Sicilia on a budget”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

While looking for a great place to stay in Sicilia Italy we found the Hotel D’Orange D’Alcantara. We stayed for 4 nights and the room for the three of us was only $58.00 a night. Giuseppe and the staff were very friendly and did their best to help with any questions we had. The breakfast was included in the room cost and was delicious even though ham and cheese everyday was a bit much. There are tours and many options but with our little one only being, three they were a bit limited. We did spend some time in the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    204
    57
    32
    10
See reviews for
80
222
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Nothing negative to say about our one week stay on half board. The double room was a decent size and the balcony improved it a lot. Everything worked ok in the bathroom. Evening meals were the highlight with the first 2 courses of 4 being particularly enjoyable. Beer and wine reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inchcape44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

A very nice place to stay. We were here for a week on half board and found the room comfortable, but not luxurious with a balcony facing east, which meant it was not too hot later in the day. The food was very varied and good and for Brits a great cup of tea, which is hard to find in Sicily.

Room Tip: As long as you don't mind a bit of noise from the road ask for a room at the front, as nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makepeace74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Ramblers walking holiday so a large group stayed for a week. Francavilla is a little away from the usual tourist sites, but possible to get to Taormina and Siracusa for the day. A very good location for walking though, with lots of hills, good views and a trip up Etna. The hotel is lovely, plenty of space and most rooms seem to have a balcony. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was good. Food was lovely (too much of it!) Best of all were Giusseppe and the family, so helpful and pleasant, made us really welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the central part of Francavilla. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Rooms were clean, quite small and unfortunately the pillows were not up to my standards and the shower was quite small. The breakfast was so so, nothing too special, but it done the job. The pool on level 4 was great, it was very peaceful up there and a great place to relax and get a tan, you also have the surrounding view of the mountains. Staff are willing to accommodate for anything that you require eg. airport transfers etc. which was helpful. Overall this place is good because it is central to Francavilla and also close to the Gole Alcantara gorge, which is about a 5 - 10 minute bus ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here for 12 nights recently. At first we were disappointed because we thought the hotel would be out of the town and away from roads (Francavilla itself is a little run down). The pool on the roof is small but they have laid the area out well with the space available. The view of the mountains at the top is tainted by the scruffy buildings around. We didn't use the pool while we were there.
The deluxe room was good apart from the handheld shower which always seemed to change temperature while in use and the view from the balcony. The rest was fine - good, large bed, plenty of space and good air-con.
The staff were very helpful and kind in every way, willing to answer any questions for us about trips we were interested in. This included the restaurant too. The food was generally good, breakfast ok but coffee from machine not great.
There is a lovely river - Alcantara - which has waterfalls. The water is freezing and the current strong so be warned and take care if you go. A lovely relaxing area though.
We travelled to Siracuse, Aeolian islands (Paranea, Stromboli), Taormina and Etna so it's a good location for visiting the top spots on the east side of the island. A car rental is essential really as buses are infrequent (although dirt cheap)
Overall, good value for money considering how expensive Sicily can be. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoalarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, null, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed for a week at this lovely hotel. Wish to thank all the Savoca family (especially Giuseppe) as he was always very helpful in giving us information when asked. Food / Rooms and service were excellent. Guys at restaurant were also fantastic. Location of hotel is not far from Giardini Naxos and Taormina, however we recommend to either hire a car or go by own car as it would be much easier to travel around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francavilla di Sicilia
1.8 mi away
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
#3 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
9.0 mi away
La Terra dei Sogni
La Terra dei Sogni
#1 of 2 in Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
4.0 mi away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Federico II
Hotel Federico II
#2 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
73.9 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 38 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.9 mi away
Casale Romano
Casale Romano
#1 of 2 in Motta Camastra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Orange D'Alcantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Orange D'Alcantara

Property: D'Orange D'Alcantara
Address: Via Dei Mulini 12, 98034 Francavilla di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Francavilla di Sicilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Francavilla di Sicilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Orange D'Alcantara 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your D'Orange D'Alcantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d`Orange d`Alcantara Hotel Francavilla Di Sicilia
D'Orange D'Alcantara Francavilla Di Sicilia, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing