We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magaggiari Hotel Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cinisi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have not long come back from a weeks stay at this hotel, I would say the poor reviews are so unfair, like most people on here I booked this holiday through Groupon at a very cheap rate.
The hotel is lovely spotlessly clean and beds were comfortable. The food overall was good and as for the complaints about the drinks, for the price you are paying its a very good deal. I would also like to add that the drinks you had to pay for were not over priced by any means, and as for only being able to get an American coffee that's simply not true they gave me any kind of coffee I asked for at no extra charge. Where do these people usually holiday so many petty complaints. At the end of the day they booked a cheap getway and got a good deal for there money.

Samantha Andrew

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    153
    68
    53
    12
See reviews for
73
147
10
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 day family holiday booked through holidaysbooked.com at this resort and have had a great time. Due to the previous reviews that we read before our trip we went with very low expectations but were pleasantly surprised to find a hotel with really does deserve it's four star rating. The pool area was lovely and the rooms spacious and very clean and with fully functioning air conditioning. Those people who complained about the lack of drawer space and hangers in previous reviews clearly have nothing better to do than moan!

All of the staff were SO helpful and friendly, particularly the waiting staff who fully accommodated my daughters need for gluten free food. They were very happy to adapt the holidays booked menu to suit both vegetarians and coeliacs at no extra cost. On Thursday evening we had a BBQ around the pool which was a lovely setting, allowing guests to eat or chat together if they wished.

The list of drinks included in the deal and the times which these were available were made clear to us on our travel documents and by the receptionist on arrival. There was a limited drink selection however when you are paying so little for such a great hotel what do you expect!

In our opinion the hotel is a bit isolated, but if what you are going for is a relaxed, quiet holiday by the pool it is perfect. However if you did want to explore further we recommend hiring a car directly from the hotel as it was only 50 euros per day which included all the insurance you could possibly have. We did only have a little car for four people but was perfect for city driving when a bump or scratch could occur, however with the full insurance this was no concern of ours at all.

On arrival there was a wedding around the pool, however this did not go on too late into the night so was not a problem for us at all. The nearby airport was only busy on a couple of days and even then was not an issue for us at all.

We can't thank the staff enough for being so helpful and friendly and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went for 7 nights and weren't disappointed. The hotel has a great pool and a great setting. The rooms are also good and our room was quiet despite looking out onto the restaurant and bar.

The food was fine. Breakfasts were great. Ok lunch and evening meals were could have been more varied but it was pretty representative of Local Sicilian food. Although the ham salad as a vegetarian option made me laugh, but then vegetarianism is a bit of an alien concept in Italy in general.

During our stay there was also a 'gala dinner' which was fantastic, with loads of great food outside by the pool. The hotel is within walking distance of both Cinisi and Terrasini and there are good restaurants here too.

The previous complaints about the bar seem harsh. I was provided with all the information about the free bar beforehand so wasn't surprised about the rules. And if you get to know the staff a bit they will bend the rules if the boss isn't around!

The proximity of the airport isn't a problem either. There are a few planes taking off and landing through the day but they are far enough away to not bother you.

My one slight niggle is that the hotel doesn't provide much information about its free shuttles, or activities that you can do when you are there. So ask them when you arrive and they will tell you about it otherwise you might find out about some things just before you leave, like we did!

I think many of the problems people have had are actually with Holidaysbooked.com who organised the holiday and the terms of the holiday in the first place. Take it up with them as I think a lot of the previous reviews have been very harsh on a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have just returned from a 7 day family holiday booked through Holidaysbooked.com. The night before setting out, I read the negative reviews below and my heart sank. We went with very low expectations. We arrived around midnight and the rules regarding the all-inclusive were very clearly explained to us.

Breakfast is a treat - lots of the guests agreed it was the best scrambled eggs ever! And there is plenty else on offer. Two days into our stay, the hotel introduced a salad bar at lunch and dinner to accompany the set menu - this made a big difference. I found the food to be fine and none of us ever went hungry - if anything we over-ate! Like other reviewers below, I bought water with each meal - the bottles are 2.50 euros each. You can also get a good bottle of wine for 15 euros and the staff will keep it in the fridge for you if you don't finish it. The staff were exceptionally friendly and I found meal-times to be a joy. This is not the same kind of "all inclusive" that you get in the Caribbean. As I have travelled quite a lot in Italy before, I wasn't disappointed. Italy is usually very expensive, rustic and simple, and that's what I love about it. If you want a change, there is a fantastic pizza restaurant just around the corner as you walk into Cinisi which is very reasonably priced - just make sure you book a table as it gets very busy. Further along the road is an exceptional wine shop where the owner is very friendly and speaks good English - they also sell the cheapest water so you can stock up in your room.

We found out that this is the nicest hotel in the area. It is obvious that the owners are doing the all-inclusive for the first time and they are learning. It is very unusual that they are catering for both ends of the spectrum - the daily rate for a room is extremely expensive. I didn't have any complaints whilst I was there and I found the staff very accommodating whenever I needed information or help. The rooms are cleaned every day and you are given clean towels.

Fantastic swimming pool and they provide you with towels there too!

Overall it is an ideal setting for a relaxing holiday and I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We returned yesterday from a 7 night stay at this resort, and we have had a great time. My partner and I really needed this holiday - our first in over 3 years - and we weren't disappointed. However, and this is a very big BUT, the negative reviews on here nearly made us not go. It really isn't fair to misrepresent this hotel in the way some of the reviews here do.
Based on other reviews here we feared this would be an isolated resort, set down some sort of track not far from a busy airport, used mainly as a conference centre and with paper thin walls. It isn't.
The hotel is about 100m from the town of Cinisi - a 5 minute walk. Our room was great. The grounds are lovely and well cared for. The pool and amenities around it are everything you would hope for for a relaxing holiday. Yes there is an airport nearby and the Groupon offer flew us to another one an hours drive away. But the transfer was seamless and the nearby airport genuinely didn't affect the quality of our stay in any way. Maybe 10 times a day we heard a flight leave or arrive but hardly noticed it.
We needed peace, relaxation and privacy. We got all 3.
It is true that the food offer could be improved, and the rules around taking drinks in to dinner are as other reviewers have stated. But what do you expect from such a good deal when the rack rate for our room was €324 a night and we didn't pay much more than that per person for a full week, So the food and drink issues here are around a hotel that is operating a bargain deal. There is also an A La Carte menu to choose from and a good wine list, neither of which are overly expensive and actually the food comes with a 20% discount if you are on the deal we were.
Yes the owners sit and eat a meal together everyday but this is their home, they are on site all the time - what do you think they should do, hide away? We found them friendly enough but discreet, they kept their distance and didn't impose themselves. However, when we told them what a lovely time we were having they were thrilled and even gave us small gifts when we left.
These comment threads are rightly in place for us as travellers to help each other understand what we are heading for. It is right they offer freedom of speech. So this is mine - go with an open mind and don't expect the world for a knock down price on a genuinely lovely resort. That way you'll likely have a good time. We would consider a second visit to Magiggiari, and that is written from two well seasoned travellers the world over who don't like to settle for second best.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor near the reception. This gave us a very private balcony and a very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertPacitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

What a shame.... this is another story like the meany others below. booked through Holtelsbooked.com.

First of all the hotel was well presented with nice gardens, tennis court and beautiful pool area.
The room we were put in first did not have wifi so we asked to move, they offered us to move to the next door room and i said it would not make any difference, so they moved us the a room almost opposite reception which was lovely much nicer room than the first one we were in and also had good wifi access.

my main disappointments with this hotel are:
Not being able to take drinks from the "open bar" to the table to have with your food, this is i guess to try and make you buy drinks. so you not only miss out on the "open bar" times as they are on at the same times as you are eating but you also end up with a big bill as the drinks are not cheep, we did not buy any drinks we had drinks before we sat down and after( this is the best option)

the "open Bar" as they call it is also a shambles!! the drinks are tea and coffee but your are only allowed a USA coffee not cappuccino or latte, then there is local wine which is very poor quality, limoncello that has a very acquired taste, fruit cocktail alcoholic and non-alcoholic which consists of carton juice and cheep vodka if you have the alcoholic option, vodka, soft drinks are pretty non existent the only non-alcoholic thing is carton juice, water is not included neither are any caned drinks.

The food was ok, very similar food each day, good selection of food for breakfast buffet but lunch and dinner were very limited chose, mostly made up of left overs from the previous days!
the most annoying part of the food is the owner sat with his family with a large selection of food served to his table, and waiters were attending to the owner before paying customers. also on BBQ night there was a selection of leftovers on a buffet table for starter and then there was 3 plates of meat for main, which was nowhere near enough for all the guests (i would have suggested that the asked people to chose something they wanted to eat and served it rather than a buffet) although having said that i think they were to busy keeping the party booking happy rather than hotel guests.

Most of our complaints are the same as reviewers below.

The location is not ideal if you want to explore there i not much to do, however, we took a bus trip to Palermo on the Thursday which was nice and only cost around 6 euros return.

Room Tip: try to get a room in the block nearest reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks supposedly all inclusive holiday booked through Hotelsbooked.com. We experienced similar problems to the recent reviewers. So, on arrival at 10pm there were no refreshments available. We were told the bar had just closed and that we would have to purchase food and drinks (18 euros for toasties and a couple of drinks). Not a great start! The additional costs continued throughout the holiday - the all inclusive deal at the bar included extremely poor quality wine, vodka and juices and had limited opening times. At our first lunch we took through our unfinished glasses of wine and were informed that it was not allowed and we would have to purchase any drinks at the table. So, over the week, we ran up quite a bill on sparkling water and a few glasses of wine. Even a bottle of Nastro was 4 euros! Now to the food - breakfast was fine and a reasonable selection - lunch and dinner however were poor with a very limited choice and such a pity as there are so many great ingredients readily available. We voted with our feet, as did others and went out for a few meals. This obviously ramped up the cost of the holiday. The general feeling was that the holidaysbooked.com guests were singled out for a more second rate treatment. The owner did not help by having his family meals in the same restaurant with extremely superior meals!! His customer service skills were non-existent.
On the plus side, our room was cleaned to a good standard and we had a great view towards the sea from a spacious balcony. The housekeeping staff were friendly and even did some ironing when we couldn't find an iron! The pool was excellent and very clean.
We hired a car for some of the week - good if you want more than relaxing by the pool. Well worth a visit - Segesta, Erice and Castellamare harbour. If you can stand the long drive, Etna is amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Z39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cinisi
0.6 mi away
Florio Park Hotel
Florio Park Hotel
#1 of 4 in Terrasini
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cinisi
269 reviews
42.5 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
#3 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
120.2 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
831 reviews
121.8 mi away
Hotel Olimpo
Hotel Olimpo
#1 of 11 in Letojanni
800 reviews
4.8 mi away
Citta del Mare Hotel Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magaggiari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magaggiari Hotel Resort

Property: Magaggiari Hotel Resort
Address: via Peppino Impastato, 90045 Cinisi, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cinisi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cinisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magaggiari Hotel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magaggiari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magaggiari Hotel Cinisi
Magaggiari Hotel Resort Cinisi, Sicily - Province Of Palermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing