We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for price, scenic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sant'elene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sant'elene
Ranked #13 of 36 Dorgali B&B and Inns
Washington, DC USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good value for price, scenic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hotel Sant’elene is a reasonable place as a base to explore the east central part of Sardinia. It appears to be a family run enterprise, and everyone is very friendly, although English is in short supply (but with a dictionary and ample gestures everything that really needs to gets done). The bedroom and bathroom are plain, but reasonably sized and very clean. There are great views of the surrounding countryside. Breakfasts are simple but adequate. The choice of restaurants in Dorgali is limited, and the town closes down COMPLETELY every day from 12:00 to 16:00 – and on Sundays as well. The restaurant at Sant’elene is OK, but when we were there was taken over for a special event, so one night we had to eat dinner in the breakfast room, but that was not a major problem, once we figured out it was possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here one night and wish we had stayed for more. Wonderful small hotel with great views and more. We were two couples and our friends had stayed before. From the moment we arrived we were treated by Leeno with wonderful friendship akin to our being a member of the family. The rooms were spacious and the evening meal went from strength to strength - truly scrumptious. Many many courses but we never felt too full for more. Leeno and Salvatore are the business partners and they had recently been on Italian state TV on the No.1 station where over many weeks they made it to the semi finals of a competition with their cooking expertise. Many photos and DVDs to show for it. Sadly we were the only people staying there so they need more business. We found it excellent value too and WILL return.

Room Tip: Very few rooms so any are acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimPamRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

we have stayed at this small hotel twice now during our visits to Sardinia and it is a very pleasant friendly hotel that makes you fell very relaxed after a day at the nearby beaches. Nice sounds of cow bells in the hills and of sheep being herded during the evening in the slopes around the hotel. Very rural but excellent service and food from the restaurant.

We will be back next time we visit Sardinia again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Run by a great family. Rooms are clean. Great views from the deck. It is a little out of town so it is very quiet. We ate there all nights as we did not have a car. Pasta & Pizza were excellent along with the rest of the menu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a wonderful place if you are looking for comfortable facilities, excellent food, great natural landscapes and easy access to the paradise beaches around Cala Gonone. I should say that staff was very friendly and helpful as well, we always received a great service over our stay. With no hesitation this Hotel is strongly recommended!!

Héctor
UK

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hector_Madrid_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Located just out of Dorgali, we arrived at Sant'Elene after a long days drive through the (great) Sardinian country side. We were warmly welcomed by the owner, who is very knowledgeable about the area and the history of Sardegna in general. The rooms are nice, big, clean and well kept. To top it off we enjoyed our dinner on the outside terrace overlooking the hillside town of Dorgali. The owner cooks with great love and attention and specializes in traditional Sardinian food. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fg2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a dream hotel set in the hills a little way out of Dorgali. The chef patron is charming and his passion for Sardianian language and culture makes him an absolute font of knowledge on the area although it helps if you can speak Italian (or French). The rooms are great, clean and comfortable and with your own loggia for star watching. There is a beautiful terrace overlooking the karst mountains for pre-dinner drinks and dinner at sunset. What really sets this hotel apart though is the food which is to die for : the best home made pasta and roast suckling pig so unctious and rich it has spoilt me for all other pork. We were on a walking holiday and despite trekking uphill in 40 degree heat for 6+ hours a day bathed in sweat, sheer gluttony ensured that we left Dorgali heavier than we arrived. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, if you are in the area you must stay here, if you are elsewhere in Sardinia detour to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyH186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorgali hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Conchiglia
Hotel La Conchiglia
#18 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Icore
B&B Icore
#1 of 36 in Dorgali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Rifugio Gorroppu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ecoparco Neule'
Ecoparco Neule'
#3 of 33 in Dorgali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#1 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bue Marino Hotel
Bue Marino Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant'elene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'elene

Property: Hotel Sant'elene
Address: Localita Sant Elene SNC, 08022, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Dorgali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'elene 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sant'elene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sant'Elene Dorgali, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing