We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Canales
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

stayed 3 nights. perfect for what we were looking for. setting is beyond 5 star and the rooms are simple, but comfortable and nice. Food was great, always looked forward to dinner. Staff was fantastic, spoke no english, but with enough hand motions, everything worked.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    35
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
68
146
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ragusa, Italy
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I was in Canales last September with a friend for 2 nights. We had a room with view to the lake. We ate the 2 nights (previously booked) and the food was delicious! The first dinner we had a mix of "antipasti" with the the typical bread "carasau", than "ravioli" (pasta home made filled with cheese) with tomato sauce and finally the typical pork meat called "porcettu", everything was amazing! We couldn't taste the desert because we were already full... The second dinner was a vegetarian one (really appreciable according to the fact that usually in the island cook only meat...), what a good surprise! The wine was excellent and dessert too (served with liquors like the sweetie "mirto").
Breakfast was good, with milk and coffee, sardinian cookies, bread, delicious home-made figs jam, cheese and fruit, enough to start a good-day-trekking !
Nanni and Lina, the owners, were very nice with us and helpful for any of ours needs.
Definitively recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Just returned from a fantastic holiday to Sardinia, which was breathtakingly beautiful. We went for our honeymoon and stayed in b and b's and hotels and agriturismo's.

This is a very difficult review to write, because this agriturismo had the most stunning setting of anywhere we went.

You are in the mountains, about five minutes down a rough gravel track, and the owners dont speak English. But this wasn't a problem.

The room had no tv, but it had air conditioning and was so beautiful, really sweet. We had one of the rooms that did not have a terrace, others did and their view was stunning, over looking the lake.

But the big BUT is the food.

The atmosphere was incredible, they were fully booked and we all sat on the terrace on a balmy candle lit evening. But the food was a let down.

The starter of anti pasta was fantastic.

The next course was pasta with tomoto sauce, the pasta was not cooked it was not fresh, and the sauce was bland and there wasnt much of it.

Then we had what I can only call a stew of chewy fatty mutton with potatoes and lots of bits of bones.

I ate it because I was starving but the meat was so terrible, it was like dog bones, and lots of bit of bones had fallen off into the stew.

The final course was beautiful sweets and hand made deserts.

Breakfast again, was very poor. Coffee, fig tart, slices of bread, butter that smelt like cheese. Yoghurt, peaches and juice. It was very very basic.

So in summary, it was a fantastic place to stay, first and last course great on the meal. Middle two courses really bad.

But we had wine and lemoncello and cafe included all for 100 euro half board for two of us. So an average score seems a bit mean.

Only the food let them down.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Canales is in a beautiful location in the mountains.

They have large, air-conditioned rooms that are comfortable. In the evening, they make a good dinner of local specialities (be prepared to eat a lot!).

All in all, it's a very relaxing place to be and feels authentic rather than touristy. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

The agritourismo is down a gravel track a short distance from the main road over looking lake Cedrino. This is good base for exploring the area around Dorgali,close to Cala Gonone for the beeches& boat tours but also great for touring the rugged Barbagia region. Close to the Sa Curtigia de Tiscali & Gola su Gorropu.
The rooms are semi detatched and dotted across the hillside ,clean and tidy with all you need.
The hosts only speak italian but we coped very well.
Breakfast was served in the main building and included homemade cake or pasteries &sheep cheese but the evening meal was the highlight of the trip.
It started with cold meats then pasta ,the main was suckling pig followed by a plate of 3 sweets all homemade and washed down with red wine.
This all came at the cost of 28 euros pppn for B&B WITH THE DINNER AT ONLY 17 euros

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorgali
2.6 mi away
Su Gologone
Su Gologone
#1 of 2 in Oliena
882 reviews
9.9 mi away
Albergo Diffuso Mannois
16.5 mi away
Club Hotel Torre Moresca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ecoparco Neule'
Ecoparco Neule'
#3 of 34 in Dorgali
351 reviews
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Rifugio Gorroppu
4.7 mi away
Agriturismo S'Ozzastru
Agriturismo S'Ozzastru
#4 of 34 in Dorgali
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Canales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Canales

Property: Agriturismo Canales
Address: Localita Canales SNC, 08022, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Dorgali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Canales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Canales Dorgali, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing