We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always!!”
Review of Hotel Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vittoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Is our second visit to this charming hotel. Our main purpose was to visit Padre Pio's Shrine and see his relics and the Vittoria is the best option in view of its location only 5 minute walk to Santa Maria de la Grazie and 8 minutes to Chiesa Inferiori. Hotel staff always pending to please their guests. Rooms small but well appointed , very clean and comfortable. Bathroom adequate with all necessary amenities. Breakfast simple but adequate , typical continental breakfast with excellent coffee ( I loved their Cappuccino ). We had dinner twice and received an excellent service and delicious food. We came from Rome in train and took the SITA bus across Foggia Train Station to San Giovanni Rotondo. The bus tickets " biglietti" are sold in the train station. The bus let us almost in the back side of the hotel.
Service is excellent and its location makes this hotel the best in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chispi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 313 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

once close to the Sanctuary we looked for the nicest hotel and fell on Vittoria. We were amazed by the price and the quality of the service. Dinner was excellent and breakfast very generous. The couple who owns the hotel are amazing hosts and made us feel at home. Not to forget that it is a 5 minute walk to Padre Pio's tomb and the Sanctuary. unlike other hotels in Italy, WiFi and parking were for free. It is definitely an address to keep and recommend. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: chose a double bed, you may find single beds too narrow for one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pascale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My sister and I have just returned from our stay at the Hotel Vittoria in San Giovanni Rotondo.
Initially we where due to stay for two nights, but rang the hotel prior to our stay to see if they could accommodate us for an extra night. This hotel is managed by a very friendly husband and wife team who go out of their way to make sure that your stay is an enjoyable experience. The staff are courteous and attend to your every need. The food is superb and the location is perfect.
We were very sad to leave this lovely hotel and cannot wait to return. If you are looking for a hotel that provides wifi, good food, clean rooms, and a friendly environment within an excellent location then look no further Hotel Vittoria provides it all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julianne592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Axcellent hotel!
The owners do their utmost to please their customers! Very neat rooms, airconditioning, a very good restaurant! Restaurant is not what you expect from a normal hotel-restaurant. The food is well chosen and the quality is very high! Gastronomic!

I will certainly come back here!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is exellent and managed by friendly and competent people. The rooms are very comfortable, the food is excellent and it is very close to Father Pio Sanctuary. Only 3 minutes walk!
The hotel has one of the best cappuccino in Italy! The hotel's staff are very nice and the rooms are clean. Angela, the manager is very sweet and did everything she could to make our stay 100%.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lulukabrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Vittoria, San Giovanni, Rotondo for two nights at the end of April. We travelled to Foggia from Rome by fast Train which took about three hours. San Giovanni is about 45 km from the Foggia Railway station. We were told that there was a bus service from Foggia to father Pio’s shrine in Rotondo. Since we were far too tired and had our luggage with us we took a taxi from the Station to the Hotel. The trip took a little over 45 minutes at a negotiated price of 60 Euros. That must be the going rate as it was the same rate when the hotel booked us a taxi for the return trip.
The location was perfect as our purpose was to visit father Pio’s shrine and the Church. It is only a five minute walk to the places of worship.
The room was not too big but clean with a nice bathroom.
The breakfast (which was included in the room rate) was a typical Continental breakfast with pastries, Ham, Cheese etc.
We had dinner at the Hotel Restaurant (although there are other eating places not too far away) on both days.
We thought the food was excellent, with the restaurant staff going out of their way to make us happy.
The Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and we certainly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kingsleyhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked one double room at the Vittoria Hotel in via Santa Vittoria on the corner of via Carlo Campanini a short uphill walk to the old church and shrine of Our Lady of Grace friary where St. Pio of Pietrelcina lived, close to the Upper and lower Church where the relics of the Saint are kept, the Hospital “Casa Sollevio della Sofferenza, the Way of the Cross and opposite Mary Pyle’s House.

We arrived in S.Severo by train 30 kilometres from San Giovanni Rotondo. If you are not driving you have to take a bus or taxi. We opted for a taxi as the wait for the bus was over 2 hours. A bus fare is about 7 Euros per person while the taxi charged 40 Euros. Taking a taxi is worth it if there are two or more people travelling together since you get drop off to the Hotel you are staying at while the bus which takes longer will drop you off certain bus stops in town and then you have to find your way to the Hotel.

We were well received and immediately checked in.The staff was courteous and very helpful. The room and bathroom were clean and well done. The Hotel has 30 air conditioned simple rooms correctly furnished with a safe, phone,TV, mini bar and hair dryer. Wi-Fi is free and you have the possibility to access the internet through a fixed station near the reception.

Unfortunately the shower cubicle is very small and if you are a big person you could face some difficulty taking a shower. The pillows were hard and may not be comfortable if not used to sleeping on them.

The Hotel has a dining room bar and parking facilities.

Breakfast was excellent. We also had dinner a little expensive but worth it. One could book half board and if the Hotel happens to have a group of pilgrims you will be able to order from the menu available to them.

Persons who have difficulty in walking or cannot walk uphill will have to call a taxi for 8 – 10 Euros. The other Hotels are in a similar position since the places to visit are all perched on a hill. Some Hotels may have a shuttle bus to take you up to the entrance of the shrine.

There is nothing worth visiting downtown San Giovanni but you might as well take a bus from opposite the shrine of Our Lady of Grace or from the closest bus stop to your hotel for 3 Euros to Piazza Padre Pio the main square and walk around the small narrow streets and alleys. You could have an ice cream coffee or lunch and visit the Wax Museum of Padre Pio.

The main bus terminal is opposite the Hospital and you can go to visit Monte San Angelo and other villages close by or to S.Severo or Foggia to take a train. Make sure you have the bus timetable.

We returned via Foggia 45 minutes drive 40 kilometres away and paid the taxi 50 Euros.

I would definitely stay at Vittoria Hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fuad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Giovanni Rotondo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fini
Hotel Fini
#1 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
1,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Paradiso
Hotel Gran Paradiso
#3 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
1,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centro di Spiritualita Padre Pio
Centro di Spiritualita Padre Pio
#2 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonne
Hotel Colonne
#8 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ariae Hotel
Ariae Hotel
#5 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel degli Angeli
Grand Hotel degli Angeli
#10 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vittoria

Address: Via Santa Vittoria Martire 4 | Corner Via Carlo Campanini, 71013 San Giovanni Rotondo, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > San Giovanni Rotondo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in San Giovanni Rotondo
Price Range: $75 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vittoria 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing