We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant...Great Service...Great Food!”
Review of Hotel Colonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My experience at this hotel's restaurant was great! Great food and service. The waiters must be commended...commensurate professionals! I did not stay at this property but if I ever go back I will choose this hotel because of my great experience at their restaurant and its close proximity to the church/shrine. The front desk clerk/manager spoke great english and was very pleasant. I definitely felt that they wanted our business. Trust me, you will appreciate that kind of service because the people who work in the area are generally nice but they can be a bit more customer service oriented especially when tourism is San Giovanni Rotondo's biggest industry.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 515 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. It was easy to find because it was just a few steps away from the train station and a short walk to the shrine.The Day concierge was a bit too serious and I didn't find him approachable, however the night duty concierge was nice and friendly. I asked for a double/queen sized bed in my booking however they gave us 2 single beds placed together. We didn't fuss anymore about it because we only had 1 night to stay. They had free wifi which was strong in our room. We had a balcony facing a courtyard with another hotel infront and it was a disadvantage for us because there were people who were very noisy and noise couldn't be blocked by the sliding door and shutter.The shower area was so tiny! We're asians and naturally built small and had a difficult time taking a shower. My elbows and knees kept knocking on the enclosure. you wouldn't be able to stoop down if you need to shave your legs. We were not able to avail of the free breakfast because of an early train ride. I requested for a take out breakfast but they could not provide it instead they just offered us coffee and tea with some biscuits before we left. Overall it was a nice enough stay because our purpose of visit was to see Padre Pio. I would recommend this hotel because of its proximity to the bus station and the shrine.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docmargaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We didn't expect much because this was another pilgrimage-type of stay, however we were pleasantly surprised that the rooms were nice and the bathroom was a respectable size. Breakfast was also good. Location is strategic as the Padre Pio church and shrine are a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: The hotel has 2 wings and we stayed in the wing outside of the main reception area. These rooms look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms_RTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here last week for two nights and we were slow to leave as our room was the most comfortable we have been in for a considerable peiod of time. It was new,modern,bright and spotlessly clean. We have been going to San Giovanni for a good few years but this hotel room was the best ever. The section of the hotel we were in was just opened last May and boy have they done a good job......SUPERB.
Location excellent,just up the road a bit to the sactuary.
Breakfast was also good.
Stayed here in 09 i think and it has improved 100% since.
Staff very nice and friendly.
Ricardo thanks for all the help.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billme10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If I will have a chance to go back to the St. Padre Pio shrine, I will not think twice to book at this hotel. It's location is excellent - a few metres' away from the shrine and the bus stop is almost next door (to Foggia, Napoli, Sant' Angelo, etc.) The room we had was very clean and had a terrace where you can look out to the patio. The 16 euro lunch or dinner they offer is very good. Compared to similar offers for lunch or dinner, this one had wine and limoncello! The room rate is very reasonable. To top this, they have excellent staff - Maria Angela, Giovanni, Luca - who are all very helpful and pleasant - and yes, they speak English. The wait staff at the restaurant are also very pleasant and efficient. My sister and I had a very satisfactory stay at this hotel and we will not hesitate to recommend this to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the street V. Cappuccini
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmystique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariangela m, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colonne, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear travelmystique from New York,

we are very happy with your reviews
and remember with pleasure your sympathy and your discretion.

the recognition of our efforts and our commitment on the part of clients such as
you, used to travel to all over the world, is very important.

we hope you get back soon as our guests and friends.

Mariangela, Giovanni e Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is just a few meters away from the sanctuary. Our room was very clean. The staff especially, Giovanni, were accommodating and friendly. We had to leave early the following day and they arranged for our breakfast to be ready before we left. Their breakfast buffet was also good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Location:
A common reason for visiting San Giovanni Rotondo is to visit the sanctuary of St. Father Pio. This hotel is very close to the sanctuary - around 200 metres, so location is perfect.
The hotel is a bit off the main street which makes it quiet (not that San Giovanni Rotondo in February is noisy, anyway).

Check-in.
Check-in was friendly and despite a small mixup with keys, efficient. The reception staff spoke good English (except for the gentleman on a late night shift) and did their best to be helpful when we asked for directions.

Rooms.
We had two double rooms, one of these was a bit larger. Rooms were equipped with bathrooms (one with shower, other with bathtub). Complimentary toiletries were provided. The rooms and bathrooms were a bit small but clean. Beds were comfortable and we had a good sleep.

Parking.
The hotel has a small underground parking which is closed for the night. In a more busy period it may be a good idea to book a place there in advance as it seems that max 6-7 cars can fit in there. The entry is narrow and steep and it was a bit of a challenge to fit our rental Peugeot 508 in there.

Food.
We dined at the hotel as we arrived late and did not feel like looking for a place to eat. The menu was basic but the food was OK.
Breakfast was of the continental type (coffee, croissants, etc.) but fresh and plentiful.

Overall it was a good place for a one night stay - which was our case.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank miraclees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Giovanni Rotondo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fini
Hotel Fini
#1 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
1,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Paradiso
Hotel Gran Paradiso
#3 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
1,538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#4 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Centro di Spiritualita Padre Pio
Centro di Spiritualita Padre Pio
#2 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Valle Rossa
Hotel Valle Rossa
#8 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ariae Hotel
Ariae Hotel
#5 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonne

Address: Viale Cappuccini 135, 71013 San Giovanni Rotondo, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > San Giovanni Rotondo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in San Giovanni Rotondo
Price Range: $54 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonne 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Colonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing