We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gran Paradiso
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have been notified by trip advisor this morning to write a review on our stay in Hotel Gran Paradiso, It has been a few years since we were in San Giovanni for a family wedding and I have not forgotten the wonderful time we had in this Hotel. We found the staff very accommodating and the Hotel was very clean and breakfast very good.Outside the front door there was a more than life size statue of St Padre Pio as this is the village he lived out his life in. We were within walking distance of the Padre Pio Shrine and at that particular time the body of St Padre Pio had been exhumed and was on show in a glass casket. It was a wonderful time to be there. Rooms were very nice and comfortable and there was absolutely no noise in this area.If ever we are back in San Giovanni we will most certainly stay here again. It was maybe 2008 or 2009 we stayed and I have to show this on the drop down which only goes back to 2012?????

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank patriciamariaduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for wonderful review on behalf of all the staff at the Gran Paradiso.
Cleanliness, availability, good food and excellent service are the ingredients of a recipe that every day we choose to make you spend the best possible stay here in San Giovanni Rotondo.

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    405
    165
    56
    49
See reviews for
519
422
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed there for 6 consecutive years and we have found that the service has maintained its standards and the overall stay was above satisfactory. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The food was excellent. Location is prime for anyone visiting the Shrine of Saint Pio.
We will continue to stay here anytime in the future.

-Couple from Ireland

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling Girl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Read your review to us is joy in confirmation of that every day cleaning and Availability put in here to make you spend Pietralcina the best stay possible.
I thank you on behalf of all the staff at the Gran Paradiso and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was nice and up to date. Fairly clean lobby was large and comfortable. Staff on the other hand was rude. The women at the front desk was rude. She was more interested in talking on her cell phone then helping the customers. We asked her in Italian if she could call a restaurant to make reservations and she pretended like she couldn't understand us and told us the Internet password instead. Wouldn't pick this place if you ever need to ask for help or directions somewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachbabe557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
we really apologize for the inconvenience. With the hope to see again soon as we send a best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Okay hotel, Internet access was nice, not the greatest bed or pillows. Overall it was average. Okay hotel, Internet access was nice, not the greatest bed or pillows. Overall it was average. Okay hotel, Internet access was nice, not the greatest bed or pillows. Overall it was average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hello m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your words, we will be happy to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My two night stay had me dealing with things you normally take for granted in any hotel. The most important was climate control, but I'll get to that detail in a bit.
The rooms were OK and clean, and had a nice touch with foaming soap dispensers making it easy to wash your hands, instead of prying a small sliver of soap stuck to the lavatory. The shower was tiny and many of our group had complaints, but it was fine for me (and I'm 6'1"). There was the bidet (which as an American, I ignored), but the toilet paper dispenser instead of a normal roll was something I'd never seen before. It was filled with sheets, and dispensed two sheets per pull. If this trend catches on, I'll be adding "roll of toilet paper" to my luggage checklist! My wife complained about the bathroom lighting and did her hair and makeup in the other room. The windows opened, if desired, and an external shutter that could be lifted or lowered by a pull cord inside the room. I had to "set up" the flat screen TV with a scan for channels because it initially only had static. Turns out it received about 100 channels, but not one in English (hotels usually carry BBC).
Now for the story on the climate control, which may be of great help to those that choose to stay in this hotel. Like most modern European hotels that use key cards, they only issue one card per room (a real pain in you want to split up and go different directions). The card has a smart chip, so you put it in the slot just inside the door to make lights and power work (again, a real pain if you want to leave while you're charging camera batteries). But evidently in the face of rising heating costs (not to mention Italian law specifies when a hotel can turn on A/C), this hotel goes a step further. The room, which had an outside wall and a view, was very cold. I could not get the thermostat to operate the heater at all. I went down to the desk (where I found the little bit of Italian I knew very helpful because that staff didn't know any English), and they were able to fix it by going to their computer and mousing to the climate controls and enabling my thermostat. A great triumph for technology to control costs and enable compliance............EXCEPT.......the same thing happened the next night. Came in after a day of touring....room was freezing cold.....had to go down to the desk and get the heat turned on.......AGAIN!
Other problems with the hotel is the elevators are located in a traffic area where crowds of people using the stairs are squeezing by those waiting for the super-slow elevators with their luggage. The desk staff is too small, and really got backed up. The restaurant is large, but only had mediocre food on a fixed menu, changed daily (our dessert was a bowl of fruit, which is a cop-out in a country that can produce fantastic deserts).
The hotel has a shuttle that goes to/from town hourly. Hotel is conveniently located across the street from Padre Pio's churches and museum (although it is a 700 meter walk up a very steep incline, so if you use a cane or you're not up to the climb you may want to spring for a short 5 to 7 Euro cab ride to avoid the uphill trek).
In conclusion, I would not stay again, but it was the best location near our tour destination and allowed flexibility and independence in visiting those churches and shrines. I can only hope a better hotel will be built in the lot next door for future travelers.

Room Tip: There's not any great views. Get an interior room to avoid the hot or cold rooms having exterior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeachSeekerNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma city
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel provided our group of 40 excellent service for a one night stay. Rooms were clean and large. The breakfast was very good. The bar is relatively small but accomodating. Check-in staff were fine. Excellent location to the nearby religious sites.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank servok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We took an Italian tour and one of our stops for two nights was this hotel in San Giovanni Rotondo from July 25 through July 27, 2010. It was the worst and I would not even consider staying there again. When we entered our room there was a strong chlorine smell that permeated throughout the room along with a strong urine smell. Our friends who had the room next door had the chlorine smell as well as feces smell. We attempted to inquire at the front desk about the smells, but were just blown off by the clerk. Our tour guide inquired in Italian and was told there were "purifying the water." The water smell was so horrible that none of us on the tour could shower or brush our teeth. In the United States it would have been a HASMAT situation. My lungs felt like they had the fumes from the chlorine in them for days after we left. We had to buy bottled water to brush our teeth with. I would not recommend this hotel ever and will never stay there again. The room itself was dirty with hair on the floor (and the hair did not belong to us). It doesn't bother me if rooms are small but a traveler should at least be able to have a clean room and be able to shower. In addition, the staff was rude and the food was not good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni Rotondo
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fini
Hotel Fini
#2 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
22.7 mi away
Park Hotel Valle Clavia
Park Hotel Valle Clavia
#4 of 23 in Peschici
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centro di Spiritualita Padre Pio
Centro di Spiritualita Padre Pio
#1 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#3 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonne
Hotel Colonne
#7 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariae Hotel
Ariae Hotel
#5 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Paradiso

Property: Hotel Gran Paradiso
Address: Viale Aldo Moro, 125, San Giovanni Rotondo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > San Giovanni Rotondo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in San Giovanni Rotondo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran paradiso hotel is ideal both for those who want to visit the sanctuary of Padre Pio given its proximity , and also for those who wants to spend a relaxing holiday. the structure s equipped with an outdoor swimming pool and inside there is a cozy restaurant for those who want to eat something more tasty. this hotel is highly recommended for families with children. Lastly, pets are allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing