We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveler rating
349
112
44
26
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
349
112
44
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel old town michelin star restaurant ancient walls prosciutto shuttle service olive groves hot water historical center cakes local area suite cielo puglia summit minimalist jacuzzi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 547 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night as a couple as part of a tour of Puglia.

Positives - lovely quiet cave like room, well lit, nice bathroom, lovely good quality shampoo products etc, fluffy good quality slippers and robe, good massage in the spa, picked us up at train station (for a fee), good location

Negatives - no pool, not as much to see in Ostuni as we expected, breakfast good, but not outstanding

Would stay again at this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jenfez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016

This was our favorite hotel for the week in Puglia. The rooms and views were breathtaking. The cream theme for decor was pristine, modern and calming.

The only thing that I would skip is dinner at El Cielo if you do not care for the gastronomy approach to cooking.

Charming town, charming hotel!

Room tip: ask for the room with the amazing lofted bed and bath
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StuckOnTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016

We arrived at La Sommita last week for the final part of our holiday in Puglia. We had spent £245 per night to stay in a suite (for 4 nights). On arrival we were given the 'Il colle suite' which was very plain in decor and did not have other facilities that the other suites clearly boasted (luxurious bathroom, view (of any kind), etc). The window was covered by bars so we couldn't even see out beyond that and the room itself was very dark. The bathroom was small. In short, this was a very basic room.

The website clearly indicates a number of suites with luxurious facilities. Our suite was 37m2 whereas all the others range from 49 - 70. We were particularly disheartened since we were charged the same price as for the other suites. We pre-paid so perhaps this contributed to our getting the smallest. However, we booked over 4 months ago.

We voiced our disappointment to the reception desk on the day of arrival. We were told that nothing could be done until the manager was back (in two days time). We were also told to write an email to the manager- an email to which we never received a response....

On our third day we were moved to 'Il Cattedrale' suite. Although not the best of all of the suites, this was a significant improvement on our original room. The suite has a beautiful bathroom.

The manager never once asked us if we were happy with the change but offered us a complimentary free drink - which we were then charged for at the end of the stay.

The customer service was VERY poor during our stay and the rooms are nothing short of misrepresented. It is not fair to make customers pay the same rate for a room that is vastly different in the standard of accommodation than others.

Room tip: Request a room with the view (as it is beautiful) and review the website for the biggest suites by square metre.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfrancehayhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016

If the best is your bent than this amazing enclave in Italy is located overlooking the sea. Below our room up high, the sea of olive trees some dating back a 1000 years make me hunger for the nouvelle cuisine Pugliese-style. When seated in the sumptuous alfresco garden setting, the simple elegance is what even my armoured- soul softens for. Near us jet-lag effected sensibilities were offended by the service which had a languid pace. Breathe the oxygen, i suggested to a Cincinnati matron and watch the calming olive trees. She was bent on bacon which would have been happily furnished had she had the politeness to ask for it, rather then expecting it to materialise automatically. Ugly travellers necessitated our transfer to a quieter location. Be that as it may, this is an amazing experience

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneSommi, Front Office at La Sommita Relais, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2016

Dear Shasha b,

thanks for your visit, for your review and for your help.

Hope to welcome you again at Relais La Sommità.


Regards

Moreno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016

Don't be fooled by the Bulgari soap and the "stylish" furniture, this hotel is not 5 stars. And not worth the rate. The customer service is completely and utterly appalling.

We booked this hotel as our final night stay in Puglia after 12 days, saving this "gem" for last, and in the end it ruined our entire experience of Ostuni, and Puglia.

1. Getting There:
Reaching the hotel is a little trick the like to play on you. Surprise!
Of course it is impossible to reach it by car, your own intuition, or google maps, but it is a little detail they leave out from your booking, and the website.
Really appreciated the hour inconvenience trying to find the place. Bravo.

2. The Room:
No matter what room you think you have booked, don't worry, they will switch it as you arrive.
We booked a Deluxe room with a king bed, and surprise ! Upon checking-in, we were Fake "upgraded" to Junior Suite dungeon room that was 3/4 in the dark because it had a mezzanine, with two beds, stairs, and a sofa bed.
I am an architect, and don't you dare tell me that this leftover space was an 'upgrade'.

It was clearly the room (with no view) the parents stick their kids in after they themselves pay double for a room with a view.

Startled! and Shocked! Why two beds would be inconvenient for a couple, it took four hours to wait until the manager arrived, for all the staff to collectively come up with the ingenious solution of ...
Pushing the two beds together?
Or to use the sofa bed.
Because after paying 300 euro a night, a sofa bed is the same as the kind bed we booked in our actual room type, right?!

After saying it wasn't good enough because the two small mattresses would form an uncomfortable crack in the centre of the bed - there was no more discussion....
Then It become our problem, somehow?!?!!
They couldn't even push the beds together and use new sheets to 'fake' it was a king bed. Just the two beds, made up separately, highlighting the crack in the middle they claimed would not be a problem.

I also have had knee surgery and excuse me for not wanting to constantly go up and down from our junior beds throughout the night to the bathroom constantly.
Were there stairs in the pictures in the description of our booking or in the photos? No.. because we got a room we didn't book.
They just listened and shrugged their shoulders. Sorry?

Poor excuse for a five star hotel. And even worse, what prompted me to share this review was that the customer service was terrible.
Everything was our issue, and not theirs.
At least an apology or some type of sympathy, compensation, or acceptance of guilt could have saved them.
Never recommending this poorly refurbishment to anyone.

Room tip: It doesn't matter what you THINK you book - because they will switch as you check in!
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank sjb_traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneSommi, Front Office at La Sommita Relais, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2016

Dear sjb_traveller2014,


first of all we would like to apologize, we are very sorry that Relais La Sommità has failed to meet your expectations. We would like just to clarify some points:

1. Getting There:
Reaching the hotel is a little trick the like to play on you. Surprise!
Of course it is impossible to reach it by car, your own intuition, or google maps, but it is a little detail they leave out from your booking, and the website.
Really appreciated the hour inconvenience trying to find the place. We are located in the historical centre in a pedestrian area and we offer to our Guests a free shuttle from park to the hotel and viceversa. In the confirmation email there is all explained.

2. The Room:
No matter what room you think you have booked, don't worry, they will switch it as you arrive.
We booked a Deluxe room with a king bed, and surprise ! Upon checking-in, we were Fake "upgraded" to Junior Suite dungeon room that was 3/4 in the dark because it had a mezzanine, with two beds, stairs, and a sofa bed. The room that we we have assigned you is a Suite Il Cielo, you can check on our website and, like the Deluxe room has no view. Yes it is true with 2 queen bed, we try to solved the problem but probably you have not appreciated.

We are sorry also for this.


Regards

Moreno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews