We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool discreet sophistication in this Citadel on top of the World”
Review of La Sommita Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Sommita Relais
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ostuni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great hotel with 15 rooms and Suites perched on the Top of Ostunis Fortified Citadel.

Loved the Room with a balcony and uninterrupted view of the sea just 8kms away. Thee rooms are all finished in a cream and Wood which is understated and delightful to be in. Plenty of places to find a place and view and enjoy a glass of wine on the various ramparts and terraces. This is a 1 century Palace that has been wonderfully restored.

Food is Superb and is a Michelin Star restaurant. Ate a seafood tasting menu by the Chef Sebastian which really was exceptional

Room Tip: Ensure you get a view and splurge a little and go for the Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertsonTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneSommi, Responsabile reception at La Sommita Relais, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Just thank you.
Your enjoyed is our pleasure.
We hope to welcome you again at Relais La Sommità.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 477 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel really is something special. As soon as we were picked up from the parking space in tie and taken to the hotel in a little 3 wheel tuktuk we felt very VIP! The hotel itself is stunning with beautiful views over olive groves to the sea. We stayed in Il Mare for 3 nights and the room was just luxurious in a very relaxed, understated and cool kind of way. We loved Ostuni which is simply breathtaking and staying at la sommita was an added bonus being at the top of the town we had excellent views of the old town and sea.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTravelmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneSommi, Responsabile reception at La Sommita Relais, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Just thank you.
Your enjoyed is our pleasure.
We hope to welcome you again at Relais La Sommità.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A full week in Ostuni in the best hotel in the area. The staff were all excellent rooms are spotless and kept clean everyday. A friendly and warm atmosphere is felt throughout all areas and the privacy is next to none.we ate in the restaurant on three occasions once for lunch and twice in the evening the chef deserves all the praise given and the staff certainly knew their wines and food and even as a vegetarian I was made special dishes.
We would return and certainly recommend friends to this hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1945alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneSommi, Responsabile reception at La Sommita Relais, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Just thank you.
Your enjoyed is our pleasure.
We hope to welcome you again at Relais La Sommità.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in La Sommita while visiting the amazing Puglia region. Ostuni is one of the most charming villages and la Sommita achieves to capture its charm trough the delicacy of the place with wonderful views.
We had a grotto room (in a cave), very charming but a bit dark.
Food is really good, dinner at the Cielo restaurant (one michelin star) is a must.
Overall it was a wonderful stay. However the service could be improved: we had to wait half an hour at check in to get our room (surprising when you arrive at 6pm) and attention and reactivity of staff are slow and a bit below the standard of the hotel.

Room Tip: not a grotto as they are quite dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACandEdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneSommi, Responsabile reception at La Sommita Relais, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your stay at Relais La Sommità.

The satisfaction of our Guest is our daily priority.

Your impressions and your suggestions are for us the incentive to try to improve day by day.

We hope to welcome you again at Relais La Sommità.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

La Sommita was a great hotel to end our trip round Puglia, notwithstanding we stayed at other very good hotels. It has a superb position at the summit of the old town, the service is top class, the food great (especially the breakfasts), the rooms very spacious and comfortable (tho no bath but good showers) and very pleasant places to sit outsie as well

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneSommi, Responsabile reception at La Sommita Relais, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Just thank you.
Your enjoyed is our pleasure.
We hope to welcome you again at Relais La Sommità.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

At the heart of the walled White City, right behind the Cathedral, La Sommita is an old building of character and charm beautifully renovated with spacious rooms all with their own personality, sitting rooms and (excellent and refined) restaurants located in astounding vaulted rooms and panoramic terraces overlooking the olive trees covered plain leading to the adriatic sea, a few kilometers away. Moreover if you visit the Valle d'Itria in low (but as good in Apulia as high season in most other places) season, spring or september, it remains very affordable with regard to the quality of the hotel. You will not want to leave!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paristrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneSommi, Responsabile reception at La Sommita Relais, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Just thank you.
Your enjoyed is our pleasure.
We hope to welcome you again at Relais La Sommità.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

La Sommita is located in the remote city of Ostuni. You can not drive directly to the hotel. You are picked up in a converted golf cart, an experience in itself. Our 11 year old was grinning from ear to ear because you have to go through cobblestoned, narrow streets with everyone staring at the mode of transportation. The converted monastery has 14 rooms and owned by the luxury italian brand CULTI. The experience is totally luxe and eating dinner under the orange trees with the best wine/food is amazing. The staff is equally accommodating and very easy going. The top Terrace with best view in Ostuni is not to be missed. To have a signature drink mixed for you with the music and conversation wafting up to the terrace is well.....unforgettable. The food, wine, staff, the entire place itself was a fascinating experience. Beware the bells from the church nearby, will wake you up early. The SPA was okay i thought. Other than that, we will return.

Room Tip: If going in the summer, get a room that doesn't face the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Endymion323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneSommi, Responsabile reception at La Sommita Relais, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Just thank you.
Your enjoyed is our pleasure.
We hope to welcome you again at Relais La Sommità.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostuni
0.4 mi away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
0.2 mi away
Relais Sant'Eligio
Relais Sant'Eligio
#5 of 20 in Ostuni
303 reviews
4.3 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 20 in Ostuni
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Sarago
Hotel Monte Sarago
#2 of 20 in Ostuni
668 reviews
13.2 mi away
Masseria Torre Maizza
Masseria Torre Maizza
#1 of 6 in Savelletri
587 reviews
13.7 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sommita Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sommita Relais

Address: Via Scipione Petrarolo 7, 72017, Ostuni, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Ostuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ostuni
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ostuni
Price Range: $155 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sommita Relais 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais La Sommita' is a mansion of 16th century and represents the diamond at the top of the historical centre of Ostuni, with 15 elegant rooms divided in Deluxe, Deluxe View, Suite and one Master Suite.This is a retreat, a shelter, a moment of quiet in an over stimulated life, an environment that meant to envelop rather than impress.The interiors walk the line between an ascetic minimalism and a stylish luxury, in a palette of creams and off-whites, with the sort of quiet and solid furnishings that are the signifiers of high-end modern interior design. Stone walls, natural textile, wood are the materials that characterize the interiors of Relais La Sommita. The bathrooms are always characterized by the same minimalist style of wood, marble, stone, archway and Culti brands products and Bulgari for the Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Sommita Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sommita Relais And Spa
La Sommita Relais & Spa Hotel Ostuni
La Sommita Relais Culti Ostuni
La Sommita Relais Ostuni, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing