We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupendo!!”
Review of Osteria Monacelle

Osteria Monacelle
Ranked #35 of 265 Restaurants in Ostuni
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Osteria Monacelle: a place that is home to the art of cooking Our Osteria is in the heart of Ostuni, close to the pre-classical civilization museum. Tradition, culture and passion for good food are mixed into our original dishes, rich of antique flavors, memories and history. We only cook local food, using original ingredients from the Apulian agriculture and cuisine, because we strongly believe in the quality and in the authenticity of our beautiful region.
Reviewed March 18, 2019 via mobile

Such a superb Osteria. Robert and I travelled daily through Apulia countryside to eat here, sample the unique delicious local cuisine, be greeted by Melina the chef and discuss the food in the universal language of gastronomical gestures and be waited on by Fathel. Fathel’s enthusiasm and optimism warmed us as much as the food and gave us a sense that all is right with the world and humanity and care is the winner. Bravo Osteria Monacelle.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

We ate a very good antipasto and the lamb was delicios!The service was very good.Recomand this place ❤️

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank LuvariaCluj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario D, Direttore at Osteria Monacelle, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Dear LuvariaCluj
we are happy to read that you enjoyed our dishes.
We hope you will come back soon.
regards
La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

Small restaurant hidden behind the cathedral. We had lunch and arrived early so before a full room of locals. Our dishes were mainly based on varied fresh vegetables - a fennel, radish and onion salad; fava purée with cooked endive, beetroot crisps; outstanding grainy brown bread; marinated sliced aubergine, cheeses, artichoke, dried peppers; and to finish a chilled soft cannolo with ricotta, chocolate pieces and a hint of cinnamon.
Friendly team of waiters and a smiling chef behind a glass window.
Very enjoyable experience, fresh local ingredients cooked with care.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank peterpesto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario D, Direttore at Osteria Monacelle, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2018

Dear peterpesto1
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our food, and that you enjoyed our service.
We thank you for the nice review.
We hope you come back again and visit us, we will make you taste other delicious dishes.

cordiality
the direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

We arrived at lunchtime to a very full restaurant, the server said we could wait 15mins or go next door. We went next door to a cold Empty room....it soon filled up. I only ordered baked pork shank with a few veg and potatoes.....not only was it beautifully cooked and tasted delicious, but I didn’t need to eat for the rest of the day. I asked for a glass of wine, and was just about to explain what I wanted and the waiter said’ we make wine....leave it with me’ it was one of the nicest wines I’ve tasted. All round a very good choice of restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Judyd16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario D, Direttore at Osteria Monacelle, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2018

Dear Judyd16
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our food, and that you enjoyed our service.

We hope you come back again and visit us, we will make you taste other delicious dishes.

cordiality
the direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2018

Arrived to a very full restaurant so was prepared for a wait
Ordered burrata and capocollo to share for a starter
Could not believe how long it took but put it down to a busy restaurant
All of a sudden our 2 main courses arrived “ but we have not received our starter” I said so our mains were returned to the kitchen- bad mistake,!
When our mains arrived my meal of veal and potatoes was stone cold so I sent it back- my husband started his
It arrived again- meat spoilt and potato stone cold so I returned it again
When it arrived 15 minutes after my husbands meal they had recooked it - very nice but that time I had lost my appetite
Sad,y when the bill arrived nothing had been taken off for the fact that the evening was spoilt
I said( probably not in great Italian,!) that I was not willing to,pay the total amount
I then waited 10 minutes for the owner to tell me rudely no to pay anything
I made it clear I wanted to pay something but sadly felt they should have reduced the bill due to all the mistakes
I left 40 euros but she walked off
Very sad- I was not at fault; my evening was ruined
They should have accepted responsibility

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario D, Direttore at Osteria Monacelle, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018
Google Translation

Gentile Sig,ra Catherine H,
la ringraziamo per aver scelto il nostro ristorante, siamo felici di leggere che abbia definito ottimo il nostro cibo.
Ci spiace leggere che la sua serata sia stata rovinata..., teniamo a precisare quanto segue:
-Il vitello che le è stato servito prima dell'antipasto, è stato cestinato e rifatto.
-Il secondo vitello che le è stato servito, era a suo dire poco cotto, è tornato in cucina, ove è stata completata la cottura come da lei richiesto.
-Ancora una volta non andava bene, (non serviamo patate fritte, ma al forno) il piatto è stato ritirato e cucinato nuovamente, per questo motivo ha dovuto attendere, mentre suo marito continuava a gustare la cena.
-Per fortuna la terza volta che le è stato servito il vitello, è stato di suo gradimento, ha finito tutto il piatto.
Visto l'accaduto, abbiamo accettato le nostre responsabilità, ed abbiamo pensato di non farvi pagare l'intera cena, se questo l'ha in qualche modo offesa o irritata, ce ne scusiamo, avevamo ogni buona intenzione.
Suo marito ha insistito per pagare il conto relativo solo alla parte di cena da lui consumata, e non c'è stato modo di impedirlo.
Ci auguriamo di avervi nuovamente come nostri ospiti.
Cordialità
La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Monacelle also viewed

Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to Osteria Monacelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing