We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cervarolo - probably one of the safest bets you'll find in Puglia!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masseria Cervarolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Masseria Cervarolo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ostuni
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cervarolo - probably one of the safest bets you'll find in Puglia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent 7 nights (2 families: 4 adults 4 children ages 9,10,14,16) at Masseria Cervarolo in July 2012. The place has everything you could wish for: Lovely, beautifully restored rooms (we had two Juior Suites - great!), an always attentive staff who manages to be relaxed and effective at the same time, and a truly wonderful, huge pool, which by far is the largest we have seen in Italy, France and Spain on our summer holidays (as this place only has 19 rooms, the pool area or the pool itself never felt crowded.)
The Cervarolo has a small pool bar which serves a limited variety of freshly squeezed drinks, ice cream and snacks, there's a small table tennis room, there's a sweet dog named Leo - and there's even a marvellously restored chapel at the Masseria dating from 1798.
The Cervarolo serves basic Puglian food (light meals for lunch at 15 Euros and hearty 4-5 coursed meals for dinner at 30 Euros/20Euros for children). This isn't precisely Michelin-starred food, but nonetheless basic, no-nonsense food cooked with a nice and unprententious feeling with 100% use of local harvest and ingredients.
When we stayed at Cervarolo there were a few events going on: live music with a band that played Puglian traditional music, a session where you could learn to make soap from olive oil and also a cooking lesson (our 10 year-old daughter made this film about the cooking lesson http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6-IykKRruus&feature=g-all-u ) .
One little thing that might turn some people off is the chill out music which accompanies the Cervarolo's guest's visits to the pool. The playlists are actually quite laid back and gentle- but after 7 days we could predict the next tune in line - or perhaps use just a little bit of silence.
This doesn't alter the fact that the owner Teo and his lovely family are the most warm and welcoming hosts.
The real secret behind this beautiful place is perhaps the overall exquisite sense of detail virtually everywhere at the estate. This and the laidback atmosphere at Cervarolo makes our stay here one of our best holiday stays ever.
This place isn't exactly cheap, but it isn't really expensive either - and in terms of value for money, the Masseria Cervarolo might be one of the safest bets you'll find in Puglia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kroyerkoppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    52
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
112
284
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Cosy ideally located hotel with intimate rooms and excellent genuine puglian food. The family run establishment took great care with my wife and young daughter. They made sure we were at ease especially since my wife is also pregnant. Would recommend this place as a get-away luxurious break for a young family wanting an authentic italian country holiday far away from the city life! Not good for the mass tourists but for those who want quality.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puckswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We spent two nights of our honeymoon here, and it was absolutely gorgeous, like staying in a private country house. The masseria has been sympathetically and stylishly restored, the grounds are beautifully tended and set off the incredible pool to perfection. The staff were friendly, efficient and informal, and we ate some amazing food - no menu's, just a range of local dishes which we enjoyed enormously - as they say, compliments to the chef!

On our second night we were treated to a performance by a local Taranto band, which was loads of fun - we hope very much to return to Cervarolo, especially as I have now learned how to pronounce it!

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite in two of the trullis which are amazing, but some of the other Roos have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jncrwfrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at Masseria Cervarolo for 6 nights over Easter. Teo, his family and team make wonderful welcoming hosts. We were so comfortable, it was hard to leave each day to go touring. And be assured, there is plenty to see and do from here. We did come back every night for Quirino's delicious dinners and Iole's entertaining table service. Grazie!
The buildings and outdoor areas are just beautiful and serene - true to the photos on the website. Our spotless, spacious and very well appointed room with thick stone walls and large terrace was brimming with character and soothing to the senses, as was the communal living area or The Hall.
Another plus is the fact that the property operates with minimal impact on the environment, including the use of photo-voltaic cells to supply power.
We were quite sad to leave and really hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nadia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We had a fabulous experience at this small boutique family run hotel. The room, the atmosphere , food, the owners who took care of us as if we are members of their family, is more than we expected. This is a place you must visit for the genuine and unique Puglia experience!

Room Tip: Ask Teo for help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I had a fantastic Xmas holiday with my family at the end of 2011. The owner, Mr.Avellino, is a perfect "friend". The food is very special. The table of the breakfast is a show with homemade cakes and fruit jam. The Hall with an old fireplace has a unique atmosphere. There is not a room equal to the other. Masseria Cervarolo is the right place to stay with yourself and the pleasure of a wild nature. The history and the tradition of Contrada Cervarolo and his people are magic.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkMcCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

If you are looking for serene get away in a unique setting close to lots of Puglia's treasures (Lecce, Ostuni, beaches etc), look no further.

We took a chance on this newly renovated property as there weren't many reviews, and the website is a bit difficult to navigate (slow to load, and bit too artsy in the presentation; would like more photos and easier to navigate information regarding price, location,etc). In the end, we couldn't have been more pleased.

Beautifully restored rooms that honor the stone and natural materials originally used in the 17th/18th century. But all modern amenities discretely provided, including oversized bath towels (which can be challenging to find in Italy). Bathrooms are also stocked with Malin+Goetz products in environmentally conscious sizes (not individual). I had never heard of them have sought them out on my return to the states.

Gorgeous property and gardens. Photos of the spectacular pool do not do it justice. This is an oasis for just 17 lucky couples/guests.

Combine this with kind hosts Teo and Patrizia (and brother Roberto), and great food from the fabulous chef Querini, we hated to leave!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CiaoMarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostuni
11.9 mi away
Masseria Torre Maizza
Masseria Torre Maizza
#1 of 6 in Savelletri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Monte Sarago
Hotel Monte Sarago
#2 of 21 in Ostuni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
12.8 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#3 of 6 in Savelletri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
4.3 mi away
La Sommita Relais
La Sommita Relais
#6 of 21 in Ostuni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
12.0 mi away
Masseria Torre Coccaro
Masseria Torre Coccaro
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria Cervarolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Cervarolo

Property: Masseria Cervarolo
Address: SP 14 Contrada Cervarolo, 72017, Ostuni, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Ostuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ostuni
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ostuni
#3 Green Hotel in Ostuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Masseria Cervarolo 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Masseria Cervarolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria Cervarolo Ostuni, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing