We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful steaks in superb ambience”
Review of Caffe' Cavour

Caffe' Cavour
Ranked #12 of 216 Restaurants in Ostuni
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Un posto intimo, ricercato, ma non impegnativo, nella sala superiore si può degustare un ottimo aperitivo, o il classico thè, per dopo scendere nella sala frantoio del 900/1000, e degustare i piatti che vengono preparati con cura da Fabrizio che usando i migliori prodotti locali, sicuramente riuscirà a soddisfare le vostre richieste.Antipasti, pasta, Pesce fresco non di allevamento, e carni pregiate, verdure locali.I vini sono solo della regione Puglia.Siamo aperti dalle 11,00 am., alle 11,30 pm, la cucina apre anche in orari particolari previa prenotazione, per i classici snack sempre aperta.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful steaks in superb ambience”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Caffe Cavour is one of the best restaurants in Ostuni. It is also situated in one of the best settings a lovely rocky cavern just off Via Cavour one of the main streets leading off the central piazza. I go there for steaks. Fabrizio the owner, who is also the chef, worked in London, and his steaks are so juicy - they are to die for. He also does lovely pasta and wonderful fish. The prices are moderate. To end the meal he brings out a home made limoncello. There is a wonderful atmosphere in the restaurant which is very popular. In the summer the waiters bring the food outside to a large square just off the piazza and the setting is heavenly. His lovely wife looks after the restaurant while he is busy in the kitchen and his young family and relations are often there so there is a warm Italian family atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tavani_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    114
    32
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly, great food, reasonable prices, lovely setting”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Fresh fish, lovely fresh mushrooms, great tasting food, great service, the chef came to recommend dishes and explain the menu before we ordered. Lovely setting in an old oil mill underground! Would go again and would recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaitriKaruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was all good.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Unlike a couple of reviewers from a few days ago, we had no problem with the service and every dish was well prepared. There is an upstairs (street level) dining section with several tables, which had a number of lively young children dining at them, so we were very pleased to be escorted downstairs into the quieter, 900-year-old former olive mill.

Several items on the menu were unavailable, but the suggested alternatives proved very satisfying. The gnocchi with clams was particularly wonderful, but nothing was less than delicious. The waitstaff was very helpful and friendly; they seemed to really be invested in our having a good dining experience. And we did. I would certainly recommend this restaurant to other travelers in Ostuni.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vince_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Attractive place spoilt by dreadful service”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The upper (cafe) part looks lovely and draws you in, and you are then directed to the lower restaurant area which is interesting, but perhaps not as classy. Nonetheless, we were pleased with our choice and full of expectation, but what followed was a catalogue of mishaps - nothing which could be termed a disaster but, collectively, added up to a very disappointing experience.

We weren't in a hurry, and we know that good food cooked freshly takes time, but when your vegetables arrive 10 minutes before your main course (already cold on cold plates), soggy "oven-roasted potatoes" 10 minutes after, and a not bad salad somewhere in between, you know they're under pressure and struggling to cope. The lowest ebb was when the waiter 'filleted' the fish (in inverted commas as it was more like scooping out bits of fish and bone with a spoon) on a side table, decided to take the plate with the remnants to the kitchen first then got distracted by the boss who was clearly flustered about something, leaving our fish unserved. We eventually got up and served ourselves. According to a couple in our party, the steaks were very good, though.

For the money, it was very poor value. Maybe we just caught them on a bad night.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Glebetrotter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sounds and looks great BUT”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Sorry to have to disagree with prior reviews. We were enticed in to this very good sounding and looking restaurant by the attractive interior with neat and tidy white tablecloths and enthusiastic waiter. The cave like lower level rapidly filled with equally content tourists. The menu while not the cheapest in Ostuni looked good for a special dinner to suite most tastes. The pasta and salad were great and steak when it finally came ok. The problem really here was appauling service, dishes served in a random order and other guests who after waiting an hour decided to bail out. A second couple left soon after and having arrived before ourselves and others who had been served we realised why. Unfortunately the service seemed to decline fast as the staff became flustered and the waiter then macerated one of our party's fish ( not the sea bass it claimed to be) so that it was pretty much indelible. After a prior evening in a fantastic and very cheap little restaurant wi the best pizza in town this was our biggest dissappoimtment in a fantastic trip to Ostuni. Stick to my dear mother in laws rule, in Italy the cheaper it looks the better it often is! If the usual staff and chef were on holiday or if sick then perhaps we were just unlucky but we won't be returning to this establishment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DocAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe' Cavour also viewed

Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to Caffe' Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing