We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service as bad as Ryanair!!”
Review of La Reggia

La Reggia
Ranked #170 of 217 Restaurants in Ostuni
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Service as bad as Ryanair!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Food was poor, service was horrific. They couldnt smile, messed up our order and tried to overcharge us. It was the last restaurant we went to on our holiday and was such a let down, particularly because Ostuni was so lovely. We chose this place because wehad small children with us and the menu offered varience. If you go with adults only head up further towards the cathedral for a good trattoria.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vgs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    48
    52
    56
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Welcome shade on a hot day”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I recommend this if you are looking for somewhere cool to eat on a hot day. The restaurant is in a cellar. We had a light lunch of anti-pasti, and it was very good. The waiter decided not to understand my order for tap water and brought mineral water instead. Apart from this little hiccup it was a pleasant visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krooble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very poor attitude!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went there for lunch today - first mistake was trying to go for lunch on a Monday when everything in Ostuni is closed except La Reggia. We were seated downstairs and commented on how nice the atmosphere was. All was going ok food was pretty good for antipasti not the best but ok for the price. Sadly I ordered the mussel pasta and when it came out a majority of the mussels were closed. Being a foodie and knowing that it is not wise to mess with closed shellfish we queried the freshness of the seafood with what I can only assume was the manager on duty. Instead of apologizing instead he got quite heated marched into the kitchen and presented me with a plate of raw mussels so that I could test the freshness. He then proceeded to insult our party to the other Italian diners that were in the restaurant and even accused my father if being drunk for not being happy to open the mussels with a knife. Sadly this completed ruined what otherwise would have been an acceptable meal - average but ruined by an appalling attitude by the staff. I would never go back especially as the owner came out to speak to him on the situation. Very poorly handled and the food really wasn't all that. Would recommend you avoid this place and go to caffe Cavour instead! Much better food, service and atmosphere for the same money!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelXtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Prices and service were nice here. We ate downstairs in the restaurant. There is also terasse outside, but it was way too hot to eat there during day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jari_vey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

La Reggia has outdoor seating as well as indoor. They have an extensive menu, with many options available.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Reggia also viewed

Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to La Reggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing