We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellisimo”
Review of Hotel Monte Sarago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monte Sarago
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ostuni
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 29, 2013

An excellent very modern hotel in a great location just a ten minute stroll from the historic town of Ostuni. Breakfast superb, room superb, staff superb. Anyone visiting this end of Italy be sure to visit Martina Franca, Lecce, Gallipoli, Alberobello, as well as of course Ostuni, best nearest beach Costa Merlata, great hotel & a great addition to beautiful Puglia.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darioBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 667 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay in this hotel and can find nothing to criticise. The location is good as it is just 5 minutes walk from the old town where there are lots of cafés and restaurants. There are very good views of the town from the terrace and pool. It is on quite a busy road but there is free parking just round the corner. Our room was spacious and comfortable, indeed the whole hotel is very modern and spacious having opened only three years ago. Everything was spotless and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The train station a 5 minute drive away (or there is a local bus) which makes visiting Lecce very simple.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwfr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Monte Sarago on July 20, 2013 and departed three days later. During this period, my wife and I were looked after in a very pleasant and professional manner by every member of staff. The room was spotless. Built against the Sarago mountain, it’s pool is at a higher elevation, about 150 steps higher. These may be tackled in person, or the shuttle can take one up and down afterwards. Meals are served at the open-air terrace. I regret not having had dinner there due to the short time available and other engagements. The breakfast was ample, nourishing and the ‘caffè’ excellent. Both terrace and pool have unparalleled views of La Città Bianca. Apart from the traffic noise, completely eliminated behind double glazing, this is probably the finest hotel – we saw another top-notch hotel at Ostuni – in the city area. And it is a mere 7 Kilometres from a few smaller beaches that provide privacy. The parking garage – in the basement – is a tight squeeze on entering but is soon mastered. The hotel is highly recommended and we will be back whenever we visit Ostuni. The top suite - at very competitive rates - has a private patio with the same extensive views of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This purpose built hotel is almost impossible to find by car, with a practically invisible entrance even after getting directions a mere 50m away from it! But once found, all was to our taste. We were put in a very quiet spacious modern room in the annex and slept well. For me, the smell of disinfectant in the room was overpowering, but my husband didn't notice it. I got used to it after 48 hours. Needless to add, the room was very clean! The location is excellent both for walking into town--a few minutes with a slight uphill incline--and parking--there is ample free outside parking across the street, once you are told how to find the entrance! Staff were friendly, and breakfast staff made sure we got the full range despite a bus party beating us to the buffet. I don't know if it was the bus party being there 4 days out of our 5 that meant the melon slices at breakfast disappeared and a fresh fruit salad was offered instead. But that was a minor disappointment given the overall experience. We liked Ostuni and we liked this hotel; we'll return if we ever return to Puglia.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisure-traveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A pleasant enough place, but not anything to bring joy. For that - as we learned too late - better to go to the excellent Masserias in the area.

The room was spacious and nicely enough decorated, though a bit spartan. Bathroom was equally sizable and fully equipped (but only with a small shower and no bath). The hotel exhibits the growing indicator of contempt for the guest in that they wrap the mattress and, in the case of this hotel even the pillows, in rubber impermeable bags. Perhaps the hotel management assume that their visitors are likely to suffer from incontinence. In any event, it makes for a sweaty and uncomfortable night unless this is detected and the offending item temporarily removed. The housekeeping is peculiarly mean - for example, bathroom tissues are replaced when exhausted not by the box, but by the odd three or four fresh disposable tissues! Toilet roll is replaced only when the last few sheets remain - no spare is provided. Wow. Puglian economy, I suppose.

The breakfast is minimalist. Cold scraps of scrambled eggs, empty basket where the boiled eggs were supposed to be, half a glass of orange juice remaining were the usual experiences. To be fair, the staff did refresh these items when specifically asked to do so. Adequate would be the generous description.

In sum, stay elsewhere if you don't need to be within walking distance of the touristy (and tourist-priced) town. Search for 'B&B' and find places that really care for your business and offer better at a lower or equivalent price. Rated 'poor' for that reason - though a case could be made for 'average' if the relative cost is ignored.

Room Tip: 212 has a view of the town, but conversely is adjacent to the noisy, busy adjoining road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkMarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Monte Sarago. Firstly, on arrival at the station, we jumped on the city bus for all of 1 Euro and showed the bus driver the name of the hotel. He stopped right outside it for us even though there was no bus stop here. A great start to our trip. Reception staff were friendly and walked us to our room. They took time to explain all of the facilities. We discovered that our room did not have a view as promised in our booking. We mentioned this to the reception staff and showed them a picture of the 'view' that we should have had as advertised on Booking.com. They explained that 'view' could mean just having a window but they understood our concern and realised that their marketing was not accurate, i.e. it should not be showing a wonderful view of Ostuni if all you got was a view of balconies. However, what impressed us was that they realised their error and immediately upgraded us to a room with a wonderful view of the gorgeous white town of Ostuni.

This hotel is in a great location and it only takes 10-15 minutes to walk in to town. On one of the days, we opted to take the hotel bus to the beach but the only draw back of this was that we were stuck at this location from 9-4 due to the timetable of the bus and siesta hours etc. They need to have a greater degree of flexibility here as a few hours on a beach would be enough.

The pool, although small, is in a perfect setting. I soon got over the fact that you have to wear a swimming cap! Just get on with it and enjoy the pool for what it is. The pool boy was friendly and helpful although the hotel needs to stock him up with wine glasses and wine bottles. We did not appreciate having to walk all the way down stairs to buy wine to bring up to the veranda ourselves.

The walk to the pool up the ancient pilgrim steps is absolutely fine despite the moans that the hotel gets. However, to give them credit, they have supplied a courtesy bus ride to the top for anyone who needs it. If you are mobile, just walk it. it is NOT a problem. It is a problem, though, if you need to go back down and buy wine!

Wifi is fine within the hotel but it does not function if you are in one of the apartments at the top.

The breakfast room is huge and lacks a little intimacy in the morning! Breakfast selection is fine if you turn up at 7.30-8.00 but after 10am the staff do not seem to replenish any of the food. The scrambled egg arrived at 7.30 and it looked tiny in its container so was used up very quickly. Service here needs sharpening up and needs to be swifter, i.e. when the bread and meat trays are taken away to be filled they need to be returned much quicker.

Despite the niggles, the staff were great and made our stay enjoyable. However, some minor tweaks would make this excellent and I get the impression that the staff listen to comments and act upon them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GB_UK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel was nice, new, and within 10 minutes walk to the old town. We enjoyed the small swimmingpool, had to do some climbing to end up there though. Nice terrass, but unfortunately without service. Each time we wanted to order something to drink or eat, we had to go down to the reception and ask them to send up someone. We didnt like the breakfast, we missed the bread just toast or stonehard precooked buns. We parked in their garage, really hard to get in, we almost got stuck.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostuni hotels
0.8 mi away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
3.8 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 20 in Ostuni
608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relais Sant'Eligio
Relais Sant'Eligio
#5 of 20 in Ostuni
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ostuni Rosa Marina Resort
0.5 mi away
La Sommita Relais
La Sommita Relais
#7 of 20 in Ostuni
476 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Masseria Tutosa
Hotel Masseria Tutosa
#13 of 20 in Ostuni
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Sarago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Sarago

Address: Corso Giuseppe Mazzini 233, 72017, Ostuni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Ostuni
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ostuni
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ostuni
#3 Family Hotel in Ostuni
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ostuni
Price Range: $122 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Sarago 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel monte sarago,a new four star hotel opened in june 2010 rise in the commercial heart of ostuni,just few minutes from the famous old town best known as th "white city".Its peculiar location makes the hotel ideal for both the businessman to spend a holiday and relax. The hotel has 40 rooms including standard,superior,junior suites, suite spa all furnished with refined materials where the modern technology is mwell mixed with the warmth of the typically mediterranean style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Monte Sarago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Sarago Ostuni, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing